Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 21:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.5 Release Candidate
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 08:38    Post subject:  Precise Puppy 5.5 Release Candidate
Subject description: Actually, version 5.4.95, RC for upcoming 5.5
 

Precise Puppy 5.4.95 (5.5RC), March 6, 2013

Blog announcement and download:
http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00163

Feedback starts on page 18:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=689883#689883

Precise Puppy 5.4.92 (5.5beta)

Blog announcement and download links:
http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00138

Forum feedback starts on page 10 of this thread:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=686382#686382

Precise 5.4.90 (5.5alpha1)

Announcement on my blog:
http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00113

Testers welcome!

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/

Last edited by BarryK on Wed 06 Mar 2013, 01:36; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1273
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 09:50    Post subject: Frisbee  

Hi BK & rerwin

Pristine frugal install of Precise 5.4.90 - added frisbee-1.0-20130207.pet and network_tray-2.6-20130203.pet - successfully established wifi connection which was persistent through a reboot using the Broadcom wl driver.

Thanks
peebee
capture20381.png
 Description   
 Filesize   79.92 KB
 Viewed   3709 Time(s)

capture20381.png


_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE

Last edited by peebee on Sun 10 Feb 2013, 09:57; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1273
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 09:53    Post subject: Rox incorrect error message  

Hi BK

Rox in Precise 5.4.90 is giving the same erroneous error messages as Slacko 5.4.0.2 when moving or copying files on an ntfs formatted disk - see screenie...and
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84157&start=72
and
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84157&start=82

The move or copy actually succeeds although I understand that permissions may have changed.

As an experiment, I edited the init file in the initrd.gz as suggested by sfr for Slacko 5.4.0.2 which got rid of the error and did not seem to change behaviour in any other way - my test was to install the development sfs's and to compile the broadcom wl driver - all went as expected.

Is there anything else I should test?

Cheers
peebee
capture22773.png
 Description   
 Filesize   22.06 KB
 Viewed   3686 Time(s)

capture22773.png


_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE

Last edited by peebee on Sun 10 Feb 2013, 13:39; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4752
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 10:43    Post subject: brcmsmac  

Wireless driver brcmsmac can't connect (device BCM 4313 rev 1).

sns wireless log spits "user.err kernel" and "user.debug kernel" errors.

EDIT: pemasu's PM about my wireless connection problem:
Quote:
About your wireless problem. Rerwin`s logistic offers wl driver for your 14e4:4727 broadcom chip. brcmsmac supports it better, I think. Just blacklist wl, create savefile and try again. Now brcmsmac should be loaded. The needed firmware should be there for it.

Or...you can test it in console:
modprobe -r wl
modprobe brcmsmac

and test your wireless. If it is not found or working, post the pdiag after that manual wl removal and brcmsmac loading.

I believe that Rerwin`s logic would have loaded brcmsmac after savefile creation and rebooting anyway, but there can be bug.




and Seamonkey would not display the forum when accessed from the splash page - it was displayed when I opened another tab.

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).

Last edited by raffy on Sun 10 Feb 2013, 20:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1468
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 11:17    Post subject: bootsysinit.log "slamr" message fix  

Barry, in his blog wrote:
...but rerwin can probably advise how to quieten that "slamr" message.
I added "2>/dev/null" to the modinfo commands in the initialization scripts and updated the 20121004 firmware package. Because the package exceeds the 256K upload limit, I attach a tarball of only the /lib directory portion of the package, which now should be named
firmware_linux_module_slmodem-20130210.pet
Richard
firmware_linux_module_slmodem-20130210-lib.tar.gz
Description  slmodem firmware package "/lib" directory,
with 2>/dev/null added to modinfo commands in 2 init-scripts
gz

 Download 
Filename  firmware_linux_module_slmodem-20130210-lib.tar.gz 
Filesize  2.38 KB 
Downloaded  240 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 1925
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 13:05    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.5alpha1  

I did a manual frugal install to the hard drive of an Acer laptop pc.
video-info-glx 1.5.1 Sun 10 Feb 2013 on Precise Puppy 5.4.90 Linux 3.2.29 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Manhattan
[Mobility Radeon HD 5400 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: PARK 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: fglrx
X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1600x900 pixels (423x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5400 Series
OpenGL version string: 4.2.12002 Compatibility Profile Context 9.012
# glxgears
24160 frames in 5.0 seconds = 4831.952 FPS
18570 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3713.973 FPS
16363 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3272.529 FPS

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 430 @ 2.27GHz
Core 0: @1199 1: @1199 2: @1199 3: @1199 MHz

Network controller Atheros Communications Inc. AR928X Wireless Network Adapter
(PCI-Express) (rev 01)

I installed firefox-18.0.2 from ppm,a couple of pets,and
a googleearth.sfs
Also installed amd-driver-installer-catalyst-13.1-linux-x86.x86_64.run
No problems so far, will test more later.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   57.56 KB
 Viewed   3575 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1034
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 13:27    Post subject: 5.4.90  

Hi BarryK,

I upgraded direct from my 5.4 PAE Multi-session-live-CD to
5.4.90 and performed two hours of tests without any hitch.

My regards and thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 16:35    Post subject: Re: Rox incorrect error message  

peebee wrote:
Hi BK

Rox in Precise 5.4.90 is giving the same erroneous error messages as Slacko 5.4.0.2 when moving or copying files on an ntfs formatted disk - see screenie...and
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84157&start=72
and
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84157&start=82

The move or copy actually succeeds although I understand that permissions may have changed.

As an experiment, I edited the init file in the initrd.gz as suggested by sfr for Slacko 5.4.0.2 which got rid of the error and did not seem to change behaviour in any other way - my test was to install the development sfs's and to compile the broadcom wl driver - all went as expected.

Is there anything else I should test?

Cheers
peebee


I have had discussions with npierce about this and we are in agreement that it is a bug in the OLD static ntfs-3g binary and rox. I intend to inform Thomas Leonard about this issue to see if rox can be fixed.

My solution would be to remove the "no_def_opts" arg in the init script to ntfs-3g BUT this may affect the detection of an error ridden or hibernated ntfs partition so could be dangerous.

EDIT: posted to rox mailing list

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Sun 10 Feb 2013, 17:03; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
majorfoo

Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 445
Location: Wish I knew

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 16:54    Post subject:  

Full install to ext4 partition.

Upgraded seamonkey to 2.16 beta 4

Added several pets from my save partition.

Everything works - no problems to report at this time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2200
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 17:09    Post subject: version with zdrv.sfs  

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=682818#682818
ASRI éducation wrote:
@ Barry

It is not my habit, I do not ask others to do the job for me, but since I can not do it alone (and I'm not the only one) ...

I think I begin to be familiar with Puppy, but I'm not good with Woof.
I tried several times to create an iso file (Precise base), but I still get the same result: the boot liveCD gives me error messages.
I tried to get a Woof iso really light (at the main sfs). For this, I wanted to create a zdrv.sfs

My request for the next version of Puppy Precise, would it be possible to offer users/contributors a version with a file zdrv.sfs ? So that we can test its operation.

Sincerely,

Cordialement,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 1925
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 17:31    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.5alpha1  

I did a manual frugal install to an 8gb SDHC card formatted ext4.

video-info-glx 1.5.1 Sun 10 Feb 2013 on Precise Puppy 5.4.90 Linux 3.2.29 i686
2.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31 Express Integrated
Graphics Controller (rev 02)
oem: Intel(r)Q33/Q35/G33 Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(r)Q33/Q35/G33 Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0

X Server: Xorg Driver: intel
X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Tungsten Graphics, Inc
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) G33 x86/MMX/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 1.4 Mesa 8.0.4
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
306 frames in 5.0 seconds = 61.160 FPS
304 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.731 FPS
304 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.730 FPS

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E4500 @ 2.20GHz
Core 0: @1200 1: @1200 MHz

I installed Firefox-18.0.2,Kdegames,and Vlc-2.0.5 in ppm.
I installed PupSnap,and Video Info Glx from pets.
I compiled fox-1.6.47.tar.gz and xfe-1.34.tar.gz from source code and
made pets of them.

This alpha is working very well so far Smile
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   74.65 KB
 Viewed   3434 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 20:08    Post subject: Re: Rox incorrect error message  

peebee wrote:
Hi BK

Rox in Precise 5.4.90 is giving the same erroneous error messages as Slacko 5.4.0.2 when moving or copying files on an ntfs formatted disk - see screenie...and
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84157&start=72
and
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84157&start=82

The move or copy actually succeeds although I understand that permissions may have changed.

As an experiment, I edited the init file in the initrd.gz as suggested by sfr for Slacko 5.4.0.2 which got rid of the error and did not seem to change behaviour in any other way - my test was to install the development sfs's and to compile the broadcom wl driver - all went as expected.

Is there anything else I should test?

Cheers
peebee


Yes, if you look at /bin/mount script, you will see this code:

Code:
 ntfs-3g $CMDPRMS -o umask=0,no_def_opts,silent 2>/tmp/ntfsmnterr${MYPID}.txt #120103 shinobar: need silent
 RETVAL=$?
 #v2.16 ntfs-3g v1.417, part. scheduled for check, failed with value 10...
 #v4.00 ntfs-3g v1.2412 does not have 4,10, has 15 for dirty f.s., 14 hiberneted...
 if [ $RETVAL -eq 4 -o $RETVAL -eq 10 -o $RETVAL -eq 15 -o $RETVAL -eq 14 ];then  #try to force it...
  if [ $RETVAL -eq 14 ];then
   #ntfs-3g $CMDPRMS -o umask=0,no_def_opts,remove_hiberfile 2>/tmp/ntfsmnterr${MYPID}.txt
   #RETVAL=$?
   echo > /dev/null
  else
   ntfs-3g $CMDPRMS -o force,umask=0,no_def_opts,silent 2>/tmp/ntfsmnterr${MYPID}.txt #120103 shinobar: need silent.
   RETVAL=$?


Notice the "silent" option. See ntfs-3g manual:
http://www.tuxera.com/community/ntfs-3g-manual/

In the 'init' script in the initrd, ntfs is mounted without "silent", so I have modified it:

Code:
   ntfs-3g $MNT_DEV $MNT_DIR -o umask=0,no_def_opts,noatime,rw,silent 2>/dev/null #default is rw. 130211 add silent.
   ntfsRETVAL=$?
   [ $ntfsRETVAL -eq 0 ] && return 0
   if [ $ntfsRETVAL -eq 14 ];then
    #ntfs-3g $MNTPRMS -o umask=0,no_def_opts,noatime,rw,remove_hiberfile 2>/dev/null
    echo -e "\\033[1;31m" >/dev/console #31=red
    echo -n "ERROR: Windows NTFS hibernated partition, cannot mount" > /dev/console
    echo -e "\\033[0;39m" >/dev/console
    return 14
   else
    ntfs-3g $MNT_DEV $MNT_DIR -o umask=0,no_def_opts,noatime,rw,force,silent 2>/dev/null #130211 add silent.
   fi


Thanks, this fix will be in the next release.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 20:30    Post subject: Re: bootsysinit.log "slamr" message fix  

rerwin wrote:
Barry, in his blog wrote:
...but rerwin can probably advise how to quieten that "slamr" message.
I added "2>/dev/null" to the modinfo commands in the initialization scripts and updated the 20121004 firmware package. Because the package exceeds the 256K upload limit, I attach a tarball of only the /lib directory portion of the package, which now should be named
firmware_linux_module_slmodem-20130210.pet
Richard


Thanks, PET updated.

I will upload the PET and latest Woof very soon.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 20:35    Post subject: Re: Precise Puppy 5.5alpha1  

Billtoo wrote:
This alpha is working very well so far Smile


Yes, it's pretty good for an "alpha" Very Happy

I'm using Precise as my everyday pup, very happy with it.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Hogweed

Joined: 12 Feb 2011
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 20:40    Post subject:  

I originally wrote:
Quote:

I'm assuming this requires PAE? Currently running RetroPrecise 5.4.3 on a 1.4Ghz Intel Celeron Mobile processor - 2005 laptop. Still perfectly usable for day to day use with non PAE kernels (been using Lupu for last two years) so hoping for a Retro build of 5.5. No problem if I have to wait for a final release.

Thanks for all your amazing work Smile


Answering my own question I see the non PAE build is now there. Thanks.

Last edited by Hogweed on Mon 11 Feb 2013, 18:56; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1023s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0112s) ][ GZIP on ]