Is there anyway to shortcut to a shell command?

Booting, installing, newbie
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
flamesage
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat 02 Jul 2005, 00:39

Is there anyway to shortcut to a shell command?

#1 Post by flamesage »

Example:
/root/byond/bin/dreamseeker

Could I create a file, and say, place it on my desktop, and whenever I click that file it opens up the console and starts up the example above.

User avatar
dvw86
Posts: 636
Joined: Thu 05 May 2005, 00:55
Location: Washington State

#2 Post by dvw86 »

Just navigate to your desired file in a Rox window. Grab the file and drop it on your desktop. That will create a link to the original file. When you click on the desktop link it will be just like clicking on the original script.

User avatar
Ian
Official Dog Handler
Posts: 1234
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 12:00
Location: Queensland

#3 Post by Ian »

If the executable file is dreamseeker and clicking on it starts it all you need to do is drag it onto the desktop and right click on it and drop an icon in to it.

If on the other hand the executable can only be started from the commandline you will need to use a text editor like Beaver and after clicking 'New' click in the new window and enter these lines:

#! /bin/sh

cd /root/byond/bin
./dreamseeker

then save it as /root/my-applications/dreamseeker
Make it executable by typing in rxvt

chmod a+x /root/my-applications/dreamseeker

Then drag that file to the desktop and drop an icon into it.

If you have trouble following these instructions or it does not work, post here again with any error messages that you receive.

User avatar
flamesage
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat 02 Jul 2005, 00:39

#4 Post by flamesage »

Now whenever I click dreamseeker it opens it up in leafpad.
(the shortcut to the shell command)

User avatar
Ian
Official Dog Handler
Posts: 1234
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 12:00
Location: Queensland

#5 Post by Ian »

Did you try dragging the originable executable to the desktop.

User avatar
flamesage
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat 02 Jul 2005, 00:39

#6 Post by flamesage »

Yep, It still opens as a text file.

User avatar
Ian
Official Dog Handler
Posts: 1234
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 12:00
Location: Queensland

#7 Post by Ian »

Does this program work when you click on the executable /root/byond/bin/dreamseeker.

flamesage guest

#8 Post by flamesage guest »

no, but i just read that other post, and that worked.

Now I have another question...
When you go to byond.com
and select JOIN on a game, it opens up asking whta kind of file ya want it to open as...
How would I tell it to open DreamSeeker through the console?

User avatar
flamesage
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat 02 Jul 2005, 00:39

#9 Post by flamesage »

(with the connect.dms that it's trying to open)

Post Reply