Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 17:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
ArchPup 13.2.1
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [48 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
Arefacti

Joined: 10 Oct 2012
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2013, 09:52    Post subject: systemd  

thanks for your answer.
I try to obtain acpi but with a AMD processor (so, must be powernow-k8 or powernow-k7), and unfortunately all the wiki talk about systemctl to make this work.
Because certainly systemd and systemd-sysvcompat are both installed by default on installation media newer than 2012-10-13. (it is NOT a bad review for your work : it's just to explain it Wink ).
So...I try to find !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slenkar

Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2013, 10:39    Post subject:  

the download doesnt seem to be there
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1897

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2013, 14:40    Post subject:  

Noticed that the 16MB libxatracker is in the base.
If I understand correctly this is used exclusively for X acceleration in VMware.
Is it really needed?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Arefacti

Joined: 10 Oct 2012
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2013, 15:05    Post subject:  

yes ! I do it ! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1897

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2013, 16:32    Post subject:  

Arefacti wrote:
yes ! I do it ! Very Happy

You do what? Run VMware on Archpup (needed) or run Archpup on VMware (not-needed)?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rameshiyer

Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 232
Location: Calicut, Kerala, India

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2013, 00:29    Post subject: Archpup
Subject description: ISO link for download
 

I checked sourceforge and found only md5 file and some SFS only. Where is new ISO file for 13.2.1. Please provide link
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2013, 07:06    Post subject:  

Finally, new version with fixes for locale-gen script is now available for download
http://sourceforge.net/projects/archpup/files/13.2.1/archpup_13.2.1-20130211.iso
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2013, 07:13    Post subject:  

Only one file left for upload and it is archpup_13.2.1_minimal-20130211.iso. Edit: It's done!
Those are the stable versions for next couple of months.
Please report any problems you encounter using this new release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
lemmy999

Joined: 12 Jan 2008
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2013, 13:41    Post subject:  

Loving the latest ArchPup. I'm using it on a EEEPC 1000HG netbook. Main issue for me is a keyboard layout issue. Not too sure how I can change what I have to what I need (GB keyboard layout) Pwireless appears to work ( detects my network but I can't connect because of the aforementioned keyboard issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2013, 13:47    Post subject:  

Hi lemmy999,
I remember someone reported keyboard problems with netbook if numlock is set to ON.
You could try to fix it, by removing this line from /root/.start: numlockx on &
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
lemmy999

Joined: 12 Jan 2008
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2013, 15:57    Post subject:  

@simargl

Thanks for the hint. I changed my keyboard layout in /root/.start to "gb" and all is well. Wireless is working well. Now to tweak to my taste Very Happy

Edit- cancel that! Suddenly the keyboard has reverted to its previous state ie typing "p" produces a "-" Crying or Very sad I have removed the entry for numlockx on & but that doesn't seem to help.

Last edited by lemmy999 on Tue 12 Feb 2013, 16:05; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1897

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2013, 16:00    Post subject:  

13.2.1 looks pretty solid. It is now time to start polishing to make it shine from the first glance Smile

As you said it needs a settings center, something for time, timezone, keyboard, language, screen resolution (one that works) etc. (quicksetup does some of this and could do more)
It also needs an installer and I assume the puppy one should be OK with small modifications.
In general whatever you have in "Help" would be nice to have a UI for. No one reads instructions Razz
You can look for what is out there to fulfill that need or start coding in gtkdialog Smile

It also most certainly needs filemnt with all these SFSs flying around (did you ever tried it? filament needs pupmessaging too).
BTW the latest pet2arch is v0.3 and not v0.2 included in 13.2

It would be also nice if you patch dhcpc and have Frisbee going (though for me Pwireless is fine)

Then it needs some minor changes, like in the openboc rc.xml so apps will not default to open in full screen, and the usbsave to default to "save" instead to "quit", and other little things that I forget right now.

There! You have something to do till 13.2.2 in a couple of months time Very Happy

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2013, 17:57    Post subject:  

Starting applications like evince and web browsers in full screen is intentional, I prefer it that way
so edited rc.xml with those rules. To tell you the truth I didn't test filemnt script nor pet2arch Embarassed, will do
it later when time allows.

And who knows will I ever write that settings center, it certainly will not be in gtkdialog because I never actually tried it,
maybe in yad but I lack motivation for a start Rolling Eyes. And having too many dialogs makes everything looks ugly

What I would really like to do is to setup mirror for ArchPup, where we could upload our packages.
Like virtual box modules, nvidia drivers, maybe some packages built from AUR
Will check if it's possible to use google code as pacman's mirror
mavrothal wrote:
In general whatever you have in "Help" would be nice to have a UI for. No one reads instructions Razz

I know that people don't like to read, that's why it is all very short.

Edit: Google code does not allow making folders in download area, so that option is out
http://code.google.com/p/archpup-repository/downloads/list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 556

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2013, 20:50    Post subject: JWM & Rox  

simargl et mavrothal,

have you, guys ever considered building Archpup based on JWM and Rox?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 01:29    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
I know that people don't like to read, that's why it is all very short.


It's more to it than that sim....

ppl don't like to read...'specifically'...the instructions.

I'm thinking it's a domino effect from using Windows. you know how Windows 'Help' feature......never helped. you just wasted your time reading it, after 5 clicks of "Didn't Help? Try something different." you just go ahead and google for the answer. and after going through this song and dance maybe 2 more times in the future....you never, ever, click help again...

The teaching of the system is going to be the hard part. because the instructions....is the last thing people would read.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [48 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0825s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0107s) ][ GZIP on ]