Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 06:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Frisbee Network Manager - Beta 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 12 of 28 [406 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 26, 27, 28 Next
Author Message
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1851
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 10:25    Post subject:  

Hello rerwin,
Now, xerrs.log is clean! Very Happy
The added "gettexted" items seems working too. Nevertheless, one is still missing (Please see attached picture).

About Network-tray improvements: Although they are much better in my opinion, I am not convinced by these xpm new icons... However, may I suggest rounded network pictures are to big?
... But it is a detail: the more important is Frisbee to work fine now and this is so. Wink

Cordialement.
105011_630x431_easyshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   30.63 KB
 Viewed   662 Time(s)

105011_630x431_easyshot.png


Last edited by Argolance on Wed 13 Feb 2013, 11:11; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2644
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 10:43    Post subject:  

At this rate, Frisbee will soon become indispensable Puppy!

@ Argolance
A few mods for langue FR : cf. your screenshot.
=> Outilsl WPA_Supplicant
=> Détermniner le délai d'interruption

@ Rerwin
I believe it is possible to determine the size of the buttons (it will be more attractive if they are all the same size).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1851
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 11:00    Post subject:  

Hello,
ASRI wrote:
@ Argolance
A few mods for langue FR : cf. your screenshot.
=> Outilsl WPA_Supplicant
=> Détermniner le délai d'interruption
J'ai mis à jour le fichier po rapidement juste pour test et remarqué ces erreurs en me disant que, dès que la "gettextisation" sera achevée (ça ne saurait tarder!), comme convenu, nous allons ensemble peaufiner cette traduction et y apporter certaines corrections/modifications. Outre les fautes de frappe (et autres!), il me semble avoir vu, pour certaines phrases, sur le Frisbee de la Puplette de Petihar, des tournures plus convaincantes/précises que celles que j'ai trouvées...

@rerwin
Should the 2 first buttons of the frame "Other actions" not rather be "gtk-preferences icons"?

Cordialement.

Last edited by Argolance on Wed 13 Feb 2013, 11:08; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2644
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 11:06    Post subject:  

Argolance wrote:
Hello,
ASRI wrote:
@ Argolance
A few mods for langue FR : cf. your screenshot.
=> Outilsl WPA_Supplicant
=> Détermniner le délai d'interruption
J'ai mis à jour le fichier po rapidement juste pour test et remarqué ces erreurs en me disant que, dès que la "gettextisation" sera achevée (ça ne saurait tarder!), comme convenu, nous allons ensemble peaufiner cette traduction et y apporter certaines corrections/modifications. Outre les fautes de frappe (et autres!), il me semble avoir vu, pour certaines phrases, sur le Frisbee de la Puplette de Petihar, des tournures plus convaincantes/précises que celles que j'ai trouvées...

Cordialement.

Ok, tu me contacteras quand tu auras besoin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1894

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 12:37    Post subject:  

peebee wrote:

I think that is because the output from ifconfig or iwconfig (I forget which) is formated differently on Archpup and ipinfo can't parse it correctly.


Right.
All it needs actually is change
Code:
var02=`ifconfig`

to
Code:
var02=`ifconfig | tr '<' '(' | tr '>' ')'`

in ipinfo.
Thx

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1550
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 22:25    Post subject:  

Argolance wrote:
Nevertheless, one is still missing
Thanks for reporting that. It is now fixed in version 20120213 back on page 11.

mavrothal & peebee, I think the ipinfo problem is caused by the output of ifconfig and the other assignments not being specified as strings, so they could be parsed as commands. The "<" and ">" characters are probably being treated as redirection. Seems like a security and integrity hazard, to me. I think all of those "var..." assignments should be double-quoted.

As for the icon size, we can change the "circle" icons, but maybe not in time for the beta. I will experiment a little, but am open to other ideas for the xml 24x24 type.

ASRI éducation, re "I believe it is possible to determine the size of the buttons (it will be more attractive if they are all the same size)." I tried that initially but found that they seemed to merge into a block, making it more difficult to find the one you need. The different-sized buttons make it easier to spot a uniquely sized button, instead of having to look for the "middle" button in a block of them.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1894

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 00:45    Post subject:  

rerwin wrote:
mavrothal & peebee, I think the ipinfo problem is caused by the output of ifconfig and the other assignments not being specified as strings, so they could be parsed as commands. The "<" and ">" characters are probably being treated as redirection. Seems like a security and integrity hazard, to me. I think all of those "var..." assignments should be double-quoted.


You are correct. The "<" and ">" characters are actually messing up gtkdialog formatting.
Unfortunately is not very simple (for me) to double quote a variable that is the concatenation of other variables which are the output of the shell commands (var12 for example)
Till someone comes up with this solution the patch below works fine for this porpuse
Code:
--- a/usr/sbin/ipinfo   2012-03-23 14:55:52.000000000 +0200
+++ b/usr/sbin/ipinfo   2013-02-14 06:28:53.000000000 +0200
@@ -23,7 +23,7 @@
    var0="$(gettext 'External IP:') ""$var0"
    # tab 1 - interfaces
    var01=`echo $(gettext 'Hostname:') "$HOSTNAME"`
-   var02=`ifconfig`
+   var02=`ifconfig | tr '>' ')' | tr '<' '(' `
    # tab 3 - routing
    var03="`route -n | sed -e 's%Kernel IP routing table%%'`"
    # tab 2
@@ -42,7 +42,7 @@
       var11=`iwlist rate 2>&1 | grep Current`
       # concatenate wireless data for display
       var12="$var06""$nl""$var07""$nl""$var08""$nl""$var09""$nl""$var10""$nl""$var11""$nl"
-      var12=`echo "$var12" | sed '/^$/d' `
+      var12=`echo "$var12" | tr '>' ')' | tr '<' '(' |sed '/^$/d' `
    else
       var12="<b>$(gettext 'No wireless extensions detected.')</b>"
    fi

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1851
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 06:49    Post subject:  

Hello,
In a previous post, I asked you if it would be possible to give the preference to a wireless network when several available?
Quote:
The preference seems like something I can try to add to frisbee.
As simple user, I really think it is important: every time I start my laptop (this may happen several times a day, because of tests I am doing with!) Frisbee automatically connect to an available public network. The tray icon let me think all is ok but while running "Seamonkey", for example, I am immediately redirected to an inscription web page to create an account to use this public network (... and some Windoze user at home to promptly say "aahhh, LINUX is crappy"!)! Then I close Seamonkey, run Frisbee to get a connection to my private network, and so on... Shocked
Frisbee is a little bit more convenient for setting/configuring a wireless network than the Dougal's GUI, but this one has not this inconvenience...

Cordialement.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1550
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 11:51    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
The "<" and ">" characters are actually messing up gtkdialog formatting.
Unfortunately is not very simple (for me) to double quote a variable that is the concatenation of other variables which are the output of the shell commands (var12 for example)
I see what you mean. I tried quoting all of the "`...`" instances, which did not harm anything; but it did not solve the problem. Gtkdialog simply will not accept < and > in label text strings. Maybe there is -- or should be -- a way to override that intolerance. But I do not know what it is. I tried several levels of escapes (\), which did not fix it, either.

The idea of using externally generated text in a label seems dangerous, to me. Substituting for those characters does work around that problem.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1550
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 20:28    Post subject: Integrated set of network tray icons added  

Argolance wrote:
I really think it is important: every time I start my laptop (this may happen several times a day, because of tests I am doing with!) Frisbee automatically connect to an available public network. The tray icon let me think all is ok but while running "Seamonkey", for example, I am immediately redirected to an inscription web page to create an account to use this public network (... and some Windoze user at home to promptly say "aahhh, LINUX is crappy"!)! Then I close Seamonkey, run Frisbee to get a connection to my private network, and so on... Shocked
Frisbee is a little bit more convenient for setting/configuring a wireless network than the Dougal's GUI, but this one has not this inconvenience...
You have convinced me that implementing that is important. That will be my next frisbee task to research and solve.

Back to the icon debate: I used my new-found "expertise" in making .xpm icons to adapt the current puppy network_tray icons to create the extended set for the dialup and wireless connections. I posted the updated network_tray package on page 11. I am open to improvements to make for those icons, but want to keep the "puppy look" of them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 04:56    Post subject:  

Richard

This works...
Code:
  echo '<vbox><text><label>"'we will try \<\> this and see'"</label></text></vbox>'|gtkdialog -s


HTH

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1894

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 06:59    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Richard

This works...
Code:
  echo '<vbox><text><label>"'we will try \<\> this and see'"</label></text></vbox>'|gtkdialog -s


HTH

But you still need to manipulate the ifconfig etc, output to escape ">" and "<", no?
Is there any gtkdialog string formatting to pass spacial characters in a string as text without individual character escaping/formatting etc?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 07:46    Post subject:  

mavrothal

You mean like this?

Code:
#!/bin/sh

export XX="<this statement>
something else
<some more stuff>"

export gui='<vbox>
  <text><input>echo "$XX"</input></text>
</vbox>'
gtkdialog -p gui

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1894

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 08:24    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
mavrothal

You mean like this?

like that is fine but ipinfo is a bit more complex and does not work ie

Code:
var12="$var06""$nl""$var07""$nl""$var08""$nl""$var09""$nl""$var10""$nl""$var11""$nl"
var12=`echo "$var12" | sed '/^$/d' `
[........]
<vbox>
               <text use-markup=\"true\" wrap=\"false\">
                  <label>\"<tt><b>${nl}$(gettext 'Wireless configuration:')${nl}</b>${nl}${var12}</tt>\"</label>
               </text>
</vbox>

so a < or > in var[06-11] is giving the problem.
So `echo "$var12" ' and variants of it will not do it.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 08:53    Post subject:  

May as well rewrite the whole thing using <input> tag, I'm pretty sure it supports mark up. I'm sure one of my proggy's use it with mark up.

At the time vovchik wrote the script I think the <input> tag for <text> widget was either non-existent or broken.

Should just echo the lot to a temp file and cat the file I suppose.

EDIT: maybe getting a bit off topic. I wonder if vovchik made a thread about ipinfo ? Maybe..

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 28 [406 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 26, 27, 28 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1164s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0131s) ][ GZIP on ]