Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 08:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
minicom -- gtktrem
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
jim nagel

Joined: 06 Dec 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 14:20    Post_subject:  minicom -- gtktrem
Sub_title: just built another pc with precise for router work
 

both of these programs are not there - whats up ? updated puppy package several times and they are gone. gotta have them or at least one of them .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3908
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 15:07    Post_subject:  

Whether Slacko, Precise or Lucid- Minicom's there! Your other, gtktrem- a typo?
minicom.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   8.25 KB
 Viewed   254 Time(s)

minicom.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jim nagel

Joined: 06 Dec 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 15:35    Post_subject: cant find either one through puppy though
Sub_title: but thanks
 

i think there was a secondary point and a question in my post. WHERE HAVE THEY GONE AND WHY ? and yes i was clever enough to have downloaded a tarball already. am trying to convince my boss that linux is worthwhile enough to use for router maintenance. little things like this do not help in the least. as for the typo comment. your kidding right ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3908
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 15:37    Post_subject:  

Pardon me Jim- I didn't realize. Must'a been a wrong number.. Term, not trem!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jim nagel

Joined: 06 Dec 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 15:50    Post_subject: so you have no answer then ?  

they have both vanished from the puppy package manager. at least for now. wonder whats up. one of the biggest reasons i rarely go to forums - always a smart as geekoid coming out of the shadows needing to flex his what ever
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3908
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 15:54    Post_subject:  

If you say so Jim.. Hey, and for what it's worth, I'd boot live and replace my petget directory- they're both there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1696
Location: wales

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 17:31    Post_subject:  

both are in the precise PPM for me..... after you updated , did you restart the PPM?
_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jim nagel

Joined: 06 Dec 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 04 Mar 2013, 13:28    Post_subject: same old thing
Sub_title: no minicom
 

just moved on to different linux distros - did all you said and ran into the same thing on almost every one - a bit different each time - but always wound up with the red box saying it wasnt found. mysteriously one machine worked and found everything i needed but the next 4-5 times it did the same thing. simply not interested in it anymore. not into geek squad mysteries at all
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jim nagel

Joined: 06 Dec 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 01:13    Post_subject: closer to understanding the issue
Sub_title: seems to be hardware related
 

tried 4 more identical machines - same issue - would find a few things in PPM but others simply would not. updating the repos seemed to go fine. files were there. software was listed in the files. PPM simply was not reading the updated files somehow . checked all permissions and all that stuff. no worky. these were all k8t neo motherboards. tried it on 2 ~3-4 year old centrino laptops and worked like a charm. now that i have seen this i wont pursue it any more. will just avoid even trying those pc's.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0518s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]