Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Dec 2014, 01:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
ArchPup 13.2.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 8 [112 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
dennis-slacko531


Joined: 18 Jan 2012
Posts: 103
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 09:49    Post subject: you guys shouldn't worry  

Archpup is a hobby that users love. It's my featured Linux...

www.LNUX.com Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 09:58    Post subject:  

There are 10K downloads, and maybe 100 users or something like that. and it is all great, if there are two users again
it's very good. This cannot be put to the same league with linux projects that actually spend a lot of money on marketing,
beside it's not even added to distrowatch.

stifiling, I added you to archpup-repository members, did you manage to follow my confusing instructions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2169
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 11:48    Post subject:  

Hi Sigmarl

I did try now this new release (minimal version of course). It has a great presentation, gratulation!

As I process very often land maps, the room in high direction of screen is always too short, even in full screen Mad ... And the bar at the bottom is really very big. I suppose it would be easy to turn it back at the left side as it were initially in the first ArchPup?

(I am sorry, but it is so that new high resolution screen are a lot more wide than high. In text documents, it is no problem as we can scroll. But in pictural applications the scrolling hability is rarely available, more rarely in both visualisation and printing! You sacrify a lot of the more important screen direction as a lot of transfers of picture has to be made by screen print shots Idea !)

My next problem as "save file non user", more "save file refuser" is the extremly slow exit from system:

step 1 hit right mouse key
step 2 move cursor to the 'exit' selector
step 3 hit left mouse key on it, new window appears
step 4 move cursor to the 'reboot' selector
step 5 hit left mouse key on it, new window appears for save file
step 6 move cursor to the 'quit' selector
step 7 hit left mouse key on it

5 five steps to much Wink

instead CTRL+ALT+DEL and immediate rebooting as usual Embarassed (don't react actually, probably filtered Rolling Eyes !)

An other question:

Is it possible to connect pacman to use those packages:

https://parabolagnulinux.org/packages/?q=icecat Question

kind regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 12:31    Post subject:  

Hi oui,
long time no see Very Happy.
For icecat you can download it from here https://parabolagnulinux.org/packages/libre/i686/icecat/
and then install it with pacman -U.

I moved panel to the bottom, was bored with it on the left, and needed some changes, but it is easy to move it back.
This might be useful http://code.google.com/p/tint2/wiki/Configure
You would need to change these two lines:
panel_position = top left
panel_orientation=vertical

And to call logout screen, there is shortcut keys combination win+x, Wink that makes it faster.
If you want to make a remaster, but with disabled savefile dialog on reboot, open /etc/rc.conf and set needed variable to "no", you will see which one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 2169
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 14:23    Post subject:  

Hi Sigmarl

Thank you very much, I will just try all that Laughing !

Last question: would ArchPup / pacman accept the Parabola depository? What would be to adapt?

Good evening!

Bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2481
Location: near here

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2013, 17:28    Post subject:  

The way I see it is Archpup is a great base, which could have the tradition 'puppy experience' added on top. But I get the impression simargl isn't so interested in that, more the ability to frugally install.

The 'puppy experience' is really just a few apps and tools that do away with the need for a full blown desktop environment.

One of the problems is very nice 'community editions' come out but then half of the nice features are left out in next release. We can see this from Puppy 4 to Puppy Lucid 5.2x to Puppy Slacko 5.3+.

I see one possible solution being collecting all those features up and making them more configurable - to make something like a Puppy Linux Desktop Environment. This could then be tacked on to whatever Puppy versions come from Barry etc. It would be possible to even tack it on to standard Arch . . .

Cool

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Arefacti

Joined: 10 Oct 2012
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 03:22    Post subject:  

Hello, particularly a small problem, but I must not be alone in having an AMD processor.
That the management of energy.
So I understood the need to load the microcode and powernow-K7 in / etc / rc.conf.

the
Code:
lsmod
tell me that powernow-K7 is loaded right

But then, I must establish a management policy for energy, and I did it in / etc / conf.d / cpupower :

Code:
# Valid governors:
# Ondemand, performance, powersave,
# conservative, userspace
governor = "conservative"
# Valid suffixes: Hz, kHz (default), MHz, GHz, THz
min_freq = "530MHz"
max_freq = "1.99GHz"
# Use freq to set up the exact cpu frequency using it with userspace governor
# freq =


but this does not work, I have to go into console and type :

Code:
sh-c "echo conservative> / sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor" So I said I'll make a executable:sh-c "echo conservative> / sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor"


so perhaps I must made an executable and launched by ~ /. start ?

but I don't know how I 'll do that !

Could you help me?

cordially
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 03:52    Post subject:  

Perhaps you could try to add that directly to /root/.start without making executable first. Simply add:
Code:
echo conservative> /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor

after volumeicon & and it should work.

Last edited by simargl on Thu 14 Feb 2013, 06:34; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Arefacti

Joined: 10 Oct 2012
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 06:20    Post subject:  

Hello,
thanks for your answer.

There was some little difference on your line code and what I must type in console, so I corrected.
I'm not saying this to be incorrect with you, but to prevent another person who will perhaps said : "the code is not good."
I really appreciate your help !

So, unfortunately, even after my little corrections, it does not work.
the frequency-info command always returns a high frequency processor and the fan turns like crazy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 06:31    Post subject:  

Quote:
[root@archpup ~]# cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
performance
[root@archpup ~]# echo conservative > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
[root@archpup ~]# cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
conservative

To tell you the truth I've never used this before Rolling Eyes, if something more is needed I hope someone will come with more useful information
Edit: changed / sys to /sys in post above, guess that must have been problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 07:17    Post subject:  

sim,

wanted to ask...have you ever tried running the system completely as a user? the user arch or any other created user?

i messed around with it slightly and from that quick, few minutes test...it appeared to be working just fine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Arefacti

Joined: 10 Oct 2012
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 07:26    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
Quote:
[root@archpup ~]# cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
performance
[root@archpup ~]# echo conservative > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
[root@archpup ~]# cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
conservative

To tell you the truth I've never used this before Rolling Eyes, if something more is needed I hope someone will come with more useful information
Edit: changed / sys to /sys in post above, guess that must have been problem


don't work..
(Edit : don't understand your edit" it doesn't matter..)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 07:40    Post subject:  

Running as regular user always works good, if you open terminal and type: su arch
you can start any application as that user. But logging in as user arch never worked, xorg crashes with some
missing libraries error, and I really don't know why this happens

I added some packages to repository, built from AUR but with some edits to make them even more lightweight:
uget-gtk2 (disabled gstreamer dependency)
gnome-mplayer-gtk2 (disabled gnome-power-manager)

Also I tried to compile virtualbox, but unfortunately that didn't work, -ldevmapper complained
about missing udev 183, this one is to old (175)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 08:37    Post subject:  

@oui,
For using Parabola linux repo - first add this to /etc/pacman.conf
Code:
[libre]
Server = http://repo.parabolagnulinux.org/libre/os/$arch/

and then install icecat Cool
Code:
pacman -S icecat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9376
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 09:43    Post subject:  

Printing in Archpup

I spent a day working on this and eventually got printing to work with one particular model. But there were so many hurdles.

1. CUPS is very specific about its environment. If the CUPS package was compiled in real Arch, then it wants to run in real Arch. Archpup is not real Arch.

2. Printers need driver packages. In Puppy there are lots of drivers ready-made as PETs. But in Archpup, you have to go to the repo. This introduces more compatibility problems with Archpup. And the Arch repo only appears to support a few vendors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 8 [112 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0958s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0085s) ][ GZIP on ]