Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 15:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
pEqualizer - graphical EQ
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
hughtmccullough

Joined: 26 Jan 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 18:25    Post_subject:  

This is a really useful feature. However, I don't want to use it all the time. I have a high quality USB DAC that I use for audio and when I have good quality recordings I want to be able to send the music file directly to the USB audio without going through the equalizer or any mixers etc. Is it possible to switch the equalizer off and on so that I can either use it or completely bypass it (and any other devices that could modify the audio signal or resample it)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7831
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2013, 05:45    Post_subject:  

When pequalizer is not running the equalizer backend is switched off. However, since it is integrated with Pmusic, when Pmusic is running so too is the equalizer backend.

The reason for this is that when alsaequal is running it conflicts with arecord and some alsa functions. I do realise that any software equalizer can only degrade signal.

HTH

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 538

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 03:16    Post_subject: Balance slider  

Request: I would like to have a balance slider in the pEqualizer. Weird but it is not in Alsa Mixer or Retrovol. And not on my external speaker set either.

or,even better, is it possible to split the equalizer in two, one equalizer for each speaker?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5753
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 05:09    Post_subject:  

pMusic has builtin balance slider (But not in the default frontend). I plan to include volume/balance with the in the external equalizer window.

BUT, if Mick finds it more suitable to include it into pEqualizer, I will of course skip it.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
hughtmccullough

Joined: 26 Jan 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 17:45    Post_subject:  

Mick

Thanks for the reply to my earlier post about turning pequalizer on and off. I have been playing around with things since and may have come up with a solution. If I select my sound card in Pmusic: Preferences > Playback instead of the default "auto" setting, it says that this disables the equalizer. Therefore, my reasoning is that I should be able to use this setting to bypass the equalizer and, hopefully, any other processes that would modify the sound. Then if I want to use pequalizer, I can set it back to auto. Am I right or have I got this all wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Hogweed

Joined: 12 Feb 2011
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 18:10    Post_subject: Re: Balance slider  

Dromeno wrote:
Request: I would like to have a balance slider in the pEqualizer. Weird but it is not in Alsa Mixer or Retrovol. And not on my external speaker set either.


Click the speaker icon in the tray then press the control or shift key as you adjust the volume. CTRL is right channel. SHIFT is left. Took me ages to find that first time. Works in retrovol full window as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5753
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 04:02    Post_subject:  

hughtmccullough wrote:
Mick

Thanks for the reply to my earlier post about turning pequalizer on and off. I have been playing around with things since and may have come up with a solution. If I select my sound card in Pmusic: Preferences > Playback instead of the default "auto" setting, it says that this disables the equalizer. Therefore, my reasoning is that I should be able to use this setting to bypass the equalizer and, hopefully, any other processes that would modify the sound. Then if I want to use pequalizer, I can set it back to auto. Am I right or have I got this all wrong?
The sound card setting in pMusic will override global alsa settings. That means, pEqualizer won't work in pMusic, while it should work for other apps using the default alsa setting. The main purpose by selecting sound card in pMusic is to allow multiple targets: Play with pMusic on your headphones while the local radio plays in the livingroom using another app...


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0918s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0381s) ][ GZIP on ]