Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 04:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Skype 4.2 - NOW DEAD - KILLED BY MS
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 4 [51 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jan 2013, 09:25    Post subject:  Skype 4.2 - NOW DEAD - KILLED BY MS  

THIS VERSION NO LONGER WORKS - MS HAVE CHANGED SKYPE AND KILLED ALL VERSIONS OTHER THAN 4.3

Download Skype 4.2.0.11 sfs from:

md5: df526530876319abd0b7deecfc4ff2e9 skype-4.2.0.11.sfs

Also needs (unless you are running a build like PhatSlacko where the QT libs are built-in) (courtesy of Pemasu):

1dd3f328cfc7bf6e5031f14af068c991 qt-4.8.2-stripped.sfs

Menu item under Internet

Tested to start successfully on Slacko 5.5, Precise 5.6.1, upup-Precise 3.8.3 and upup-Raring 3.8.7

Repackaging of:
http://repository.slacky.eu/slackware-14.0/network/skype/4.2.0.11/
capture16609.png
 Description   
 Filesize   22.44 KB
 Viewed   16018 Time(s)

capture16609.png


_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE

Last edited by peebee on Mon 04 Aug 2014, 02:10; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 00:32    Post subject:  

Working here peebee in slacko-5.4. Smile

Slacko users are better off to get the native slacko QT libraries though from PPM. I'm not sure about 5.3x though, still probably better of with slacko versions.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1894

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 02:16    Post subject:  

In my precise 5.4.3 it needed the original Ubuntu 12.04 Qt libs.
It showed an "incompatible lib version" with pemasu's Qt sfs.
Works fine Very Happy

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 07:44    Post subject:  

Hi Mick and Mavrothal

Many thanks for your interest and advice.

Mick - I suggested the pemasu sfs for the reason that it was an sfs and seemed to satisfy all the dependencies. I have to admit I'm not a PPM user - I prefer to download directly and to keep my pets and sfs's stored locally for future reuse. I did go into the PPM and was unable to find the QT libs....

Have you provided an equivalent QT sfs for Slacko? I couldn't find one by surfing the repositories directly.....

Mavrothal - I've retested on a pristine frugal install of Precise 5.4.3 and I don't see the problem you are reporting. As both Precise and Upup-Precise share the same base I wouldn't have expected there to be problems?

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 924
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 17:44    Post subject: Skype for lxpup  

I have lxpup 13.01. This is a new pup for me that I want to try out. I am used to using puppy 5.2.8.

Where can I download Skype? Do I just install it like a normal pet or do I have to do something else?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 17:52    Post subject: Re: Skype for lxpup  

rmcellig wrote:
I have lxpup 13.01. This is a new pup for me that I want to try out. I am used to using puppy 5.2.8.

Where can I download Skype? Do I just install it like a normal pet or do I have to do something else?


The download link is in the top post - however it is an sfs not a pet - you can load sfs's by clicking on them or you can use the sfs-load-on-the-fly in the setup menu. The sfs needs to be stored either in the root directory of the disk or in the same directory that your frugal install is in. sfs do not work too well with live cds....

It is quite easy to convert an sfs to a pet if that is better for your installation.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 924
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 18:24    Post subject:  

Thanks! I will try the sfs file and see how it goes. How do you convert an sfs file to a pet file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4129
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 18:28    Post subject:  

Why, with sfs2pet!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 924
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 18:34    Post subject:  

Cool! Thanks Semme!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gilloraymondo

Joined: 03 Dec 2011
Posts: 257

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 09:21    Post subject:  

Hi,

On precise NOP :
I cannot say it doesn't work , but I cannot say it works !!!!

It's possible to create a skype account, but it's impossible to connect with a messenger, hotmail or outlook account (right window side) !!!! And it's exactly what I need because MSN will be completly removed by microsoft soon. All MSN users are ask to migrate to skype....

So, I don't know how to do the transfer from MNS to skype....

Any idea ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 14:12    Post subject:  

gilloraymondo wrote:
... it's impossible to connect with a messenger, hotmail or outlook account (right window side) !!!!

Hi

What kind of errors are you getting?

I'm afraid I don't have any of those MS accounts to test.....maybe somebody else does and can advise?

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gilloraymondo

Joined: 03 Dec 2011
Posts: 257

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 10:45    Post subject:  

Hi,

On the right side of the skype window there is (in french for me) : connect with microsoft account, a messenger, hotmail or outlook.com account.

I clic on "compte microsoft" and I have a message (in french) "Internet is sometimes very slow. Please, verify your Interne conexion works corectly. Please, try again".

But, if I try again, it does the same thing.

Of course, my internet conexion work quite well (firefox working on the "google page"

On linux mint, as well as on windows, I installed skype 4.1 . When I clic on "compte microsoft", immediatly, I have the usual MSN window to write my login and my password....

Anybody knows what I should do ?

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
futwerk

Joined: 07 May 2011
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 18:09    Post subject:  

I have istalled skype 4.1 for precise puppy and have a weird problem with it. Video works well, sound from speakers works okay, except for the mic. I have tried to raise the volume of the mic but no difference. I am using a logitech c270 webcam with built in mic. I can hear the voice from the test call but not my recording with the mic ...Humm . Does someone have any idea ?
skype1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   52.07 KB
 Viewed   17625 Time(s)

skype1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 934
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 20:18    Post subject:  

Hello futwerk,

Looks like your capture control in Retrovol is all the way down. Try bringing that up.

Not sure if there is another control if you scroll down to select your mic input from the webcam as your capture source?

The "mic" control is for playback of the mic through your own speakers, not for recording or capture so that probably wants to be down or unticked.

When you get the hang of your manual controls I would then untick the option in Skype to let Skype do it for you. Manual control is always better once you know what does what.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
futwerk

Joined: 07 May 2011
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 16:09    Post subject:  

Thanks for the tip Oscartalks, I have followed your instructions also went back to skype options and changed the default mic option and than it worked, thanks again. Now I can enjoy it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 [51 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0789s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]