Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 06:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-620beta1 (Thread closed)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 218

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 07:37    Post_subject:  

Jamesbond:
Did the reboot-did the scan-did the reconnect but still no connection.

BC-wl status:
Start at boot: yes
Currently running: yes
Control file: 30-BC-wl.

I have a working install of fatdog 510 and 610.
I also have precise and slacko installs with the wl driver working with frisbee.

I may get a better result with a later release of 620.
Thanks to yourself and kirk for your help.

irishrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 07:56    Post_subject:  

irishrm,

If you don't mind, one last thing - can you dump the output of "dmesg" from terminal here? We may see something that may help. Broadcom isn't a good wireless chips to have, I regret to say (and I'm saying this as one who owns one too) Sad The proprietary "wl" drivers haven't been updated in the last two years (check it yourself here: http://www.broadcom.com/support/802.11/linux_sta.php), I think with the intention that the open-source driver will take over, but the open-source driver isn't up to par yet. So what has been done on the "wl" drivers are patches upon patches upon patches by people, without knowing that broadcom is doing internally within their binary blob. Sometimes you hit jackpot and it works, but it then we hit issues like yours.

JustGreg,

I remember something - those "special keys" buttons are problematic. Some of them are "hardcoded" into ACPI bios - they always work whatever the OS you install (even on no OS at all). Some of them are wired through ACPI events. Some of them are wired through ACPI events *only* if you have the right wmi driver loaded (in your case, probably hp_wmi as you said). Some of them are routed through normal keyboard driver, but they are extremely broken (e.g. button generates keypress without corresponding keyrelease, or generates very funny keycode which requires mapping etc). In the latter cases, one needs to capture the "event" and then run a script to do something (e.g."rfkill" to turn on/off the devices). Try to run "xev" first and when the mouse is over the xev window, press F9 key and tell me what you've got. Also try to run "evtest" from terminal, then choose your keyboard input, then press your magic F9 key and see how it goes.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 218

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 09:14    Post_subject:  

Thanks jamesbond.

I'm attaching dmesg.

Don't waste any more time on trying to get a fix.
I have plenty to be going on with. Maybe it might work in the next release.

irishrm.
dmesg.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  dmesg.zip 
Filesize  10.32 KB 
Downloaded  174 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 705
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 12:03    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the information, JamesBond.

The savefile directory was on an ext2 filesystem partition. Now that I know the spot directory has the needed files, I can try it again and make any changes as needed.

I did the two tests on the key. It turns out the special key is the "F12" key. The F12 key press is not detected by either xev or evtest. I will have to remember those two utilities. The good news is the wifi module can be control by rfkill either rfkill block wlan or rfkill unblock wlan. That problem is solved.

I have been having x server start up "hiccups" with the Radeon driver. Sometimes, it does not start up correctly. I get the mouse cursor with either a white screen or one with no display (cursor can be seen). Fatdog does not have the utility reportvideo like other puppies. It does help with these types of problems. I have tried the Vesa driver and it failed. I have a couple of ideas I will try to see if I get a better information on what is failing to start.

Some additional information

I tried using the older ATI driver to see if the problem would go away. It did not. When the driver/ xserver seem to fail to start, one needs to use the power key to get out of the hung system. This loses any logs. I did find if I do a manual (pfix=nox) start of the x server then it always works. It may take longer to display the desktop, but, it does start. I did notice one item with pfix=nox. The console seems to stop at the command "Starting HAL daemon /usr/sbin/hald --daemon=yes" One needs to press the "enter" key to get the console prompt. I do not know if this is an issue. But, it was the only thing that caught my attention. I hope this helps.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1829
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 16:16    Post_subject:  

JustGreg,

The report-video here seems to work ok.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=677225&sid=43648053dc262ebeb04f1cf66edee5fc#677225

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 705
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 20:49    Post_subject:  

Thanks Smoke01! I have down loaded the pet and will try it out. It is nice to know that report-video is not arch dependent. Thanks again. I will report how it worked here.

08:48 EST, The pet loaded and started. However, it did not report any information. It may be do to fatdog64 does not have same xorg configuration as the other puppies. The xorg.conf file does not have a video section that lists the driver. It is not clear to me how the graphics video is started. Thanks for the information on the pet.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 705
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 10:09    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Radeon Video Hiccups
 

I have been starting fatdog64 620BETA with the pfix=nox option to insure the x server starts correctly. When I have 620BETA start directly into x server, the x server fails to start correctly. There is no video display and it does not respond to either ctrl alt backspace or ctrl alt delete key commands. The mouse cursor is present and responds correctly. I have tried the ATI driver with the same results. It seems something is interfering with the startup processes (maybe the hal daemon process and window manager?).

I also delete the existing save file and started with nosave file. BETA620 initialized correctly with a x server and window manager. I did create a save directory. I do like the save directory. It does work well. I tried a restart and x server failed. Back to nox option for start up.

I can not get any of the logs to see what is failing.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1420
Location: florida

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 10:38    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I also delete the existing save file and started with nosave file. BETA620 initialized correctly with a x server and window manager. I did create a save directory. I do like the save directory. It does work well. I tried a restart and x server failed. Back to nox option for start up.


I just want to make sure I understand what's going on:

With no savefile or booting with savefile=none, the video works? Always?

The save directory is located on a ext2/3/4 partition?

If you boot with pfix=nox and then type xwin the video works? Always?


If the answer to all questions is yes, that makes me think that we might be starting X before your card is ready. Fatdog64-620 boots pretty fast. This can cause problems with some hardware, especially if that hardware has to load and initialize firmware. Which some radoens do. So if the answer to the last question is always yes add sleep 3 to /etc/rc.d/rc.local. You can open a terminal and do this:

Code:
echo "sleep 3" >> /etc/rc.d/rc.local


or do it with Geany. If that works, you might be able to reduce that number from 3 using Geany to edit /etc/rc.d/rc.local.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 705
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 11:25    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Sleep 3 worked!
 

Answers to your questions:

Quote:
With no savefile or booting with savefile=none, the video works? Always?
Yes

Quote:
The save directory is located on a ext2/3/4 partition?
It is an ext2 partition. I am planning to change to ext3 with final version of 620.

Quote:
If you boot with pfix=nox and then type xwin the video works? Always?
No, sometimes it would fail usually after a cold boot from power off. After reboot, the problem would not occur. However, if I used rfkill to block the wifi, then it would always work.

I added the sleep 3 to /etc/rc.d/rc.local and it seems to have solve the issue. This works for both power on boot and reboot.

I also did some search on Hal daemon and failure to start X. The Radeon driver seem to be associated with most of the reports. It either solved the problem or had no impact. Based on the rfkill block wlan command helping, I was going to ask how does one prevent wpa_gui from initializing the wifi at start up?

Fatdog64 does work well. I consider this problem to be a normal one encounter in BETA testing. Thanks as always for the help on this.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1420
Location: florida

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 15:48    Post_subject:  

Quote:
No, sometimes it would fail usually after a cold boot from power off. After reboot, the problem would not occur. However, if I used rfkill to block the wifi, then it would always work.

I added the sleep 3 to /etc/rc.d/rc.local and it seems to have solve the issue. This works for both power on boot and reboot.


If booting with pfix=nox and then typing xwin did not always work, I would be surprised that adding the sleep would fix it. If you don't want the wpa_supplicant stuff to run right-click on wpa_gui and select Network Wizard. Then uncheck the box at the bottom. The Hal daemon thing is nothing to worry about.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 705
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 17:24    Post_subject:  

Thank you Kirk for the reply. I had another failure to start from power on (cold boot). I have increased the sleep time to 5 seconds. It seems to help. I have tried three cold starts in a row with about 5 minutes between the shut off and start. Not a single failure. I will keep an eye on it. Thanks again for the help.
_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 765
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2013, 12:22    Post_subject:  

Fatdog64 620beta1

Manual frugal to an ntfs partition and booting via grub4dos on an SDcard.

Finally got hold of a 64bit laptop again (sadly the screen is cracked) so using an old ProView LCD monitor that seems to work quite well.

The laptop is an E732 (Emachines / Acer) with an i3proc. and 2gig ram.

Fantastic Puppy - so fast - it screams.

Boots in seconds - wifi seems ok and all the basics seem fine OOTB.

Many thanks to kirk, james bond & others for helping to make what is probably the best 64bit distro on the planet.

Hinfo report FYI. Very best regards - Ray
hardinfo_report.html.gz
Description  not a gz. rename to html.
gz

 Download 
Filename  hardinfo_report.html.gz 
Filesize  46.54 KB 
Downloaded  165 Time(s) 

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 10:51    Post_subject:  

Seamonkey in this lastest version seems different to the one
in 611. Local htmlfiles works as expected in the old FatDog
but totally fails in the new. I dl from smokey because the
other server was extremely slow some 63kb instead of 3MBsec

I trust the iso are same on both?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0985s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0121s) ][ GZIP on ]