simple game framework for scripting languages

For discussions about programming, programming questions/advice, and projects that don't really have anything to do with Puppy.
Message
Author
starhawk
Posts: 4906
Joined: Mon 22 Nov 2010, 06:04
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

#41 Post by starhawk »

Taking a bit of a leap of faith here, hope this is the right thread for this.

technosaurus, I program in an archaic language (BASIC is dead, long live BASIC) taught to me originally by my first computer -- a 386 running Win3.1 (this was in the mid- to late-'90s). LOL.

I wrote a pretty nifty text adventure, but its primary characteristic is that I wrote it and made it work without knowing how to make a parser. The way it works is that the entire input string from the player, is compared against a bunch of possible input strings (which can do stuff) using a bunch of IF-THEN statements.

I think it's fair to say that I'm rather aware of just how bad that actually is, coding-wise.

Would you be able to either provide me or locate for me, simple instructions for a text parser in this language? I've looked high and low and can't find anything on my own. I guess my Google-Fu is weak (old man).

I'm most familiar with QBASIC/QuickBASIC (QuickBASIC compiles, is about the only difference) but I can learn QB64 and *maybe* BaCon if need be... I just want to be able to implement a simple parser. Then I can re-code the game and it will work better. (...and I might even be able to make it bigger -- current version is a mere eight rooms, and that was quite a stretch with all that clumsy code!)

seaside
Posts: 934
Joined: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 00:19

#42 Post by seaside »

starhawk wrote:
Would you be able to either provide me or locate for me, simple instructions for a text parser in this language? I've looked high and low and can't find anything on my own. I guess my Google-Fu is weak (old man).
starhawk,

How about this-
http://ascii-world.wikidot.com/how-to-p ... ext-parser

Cheers,
s

starhawk
Posts: 4906
Joined: Mon 22 Nov 2010, 06:04
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

#43 Post by starhawk »

I can barely read that, TBH... the QuickBASIC I learned is Procedural, not Object Oriented. I'm still using line numbers and GOTOs!

I'll study it, but I'm not sure it'll work for me.

User avatar
linuph
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 02:29
Location: Philippines

#44 Post by linuph »

Seaside, thanks!

starhawk
Posts: 4906
Joined: Mon 22 Nov 2010, 06:04
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

#45 Post by starhawk »

linuph wrote:Seaside, thanks!
This is something I should have said as well -- the effort is appreciated for sure, even if the code produced is incomprehensible to me -- after all, it's not your fault, Seaside, that I can't read newfangled code!

So THANK YOU for showing me that parser, even though it's something I couldn't use.

Also, THANK YOU jamesbond, for sending me another one which may be of use (I haven't looked at it yet, TBH -- it's a ZIP file and I only just downloaded it.)

User avatar
linuph
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 02:29
Location: Philippines

#46 Post by linuph »

Icon programming.

I've been digging lately to find a graphics programming language without bloating dependencies. I think I found one: Icon. You may never have heard of it.

See here: http://www.cs.arizona.edu/icon/index.htm

It's ancient in software/computer terms (1998). The earliest mention of it that I found dates back to 1979.

I downloaded the packages from the above website, compiled it with X11 headers and dropped the resulting directory with files into ~/bin and made a symlink.

Guess what: it works flawlessly. And it is rather easy to understand, even for me :P

Below some examples I made with the help of the excellent documentation in an hour or so. But there's lot more to Icon than this, like high level string handling and Turtle Graphics, so I'm venturing on with it.

I would have liked to attach the Icon compilation as well, but it's 1.7Mb zipped (9Mb unzipped).

BTW there's Unicon (http://unicon.sourceforge.net/faq.htm) which is a 'modernized dialect that descends from Icon", but I have not yet looked into it.

I thought you might be interested....

Code: Select all

#!/bin/icon
# fonts
link graphics

procedure main()
	WOpen("size=600,200") | stop("Can't open window")
	WAttrib("pos=50,150")
	WAttrib("label=Icon Programming - Fonts Demonstration")
	GotoXY(10,50)
	ransom("The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog.")
	WDone()
end

procedure ransom(s)
	local c
	static famlist, attlist, sizelist
	initial
		{
		famlist:=["URW Chancery L","DejaVu Sans"]
		attlist:=["","","bold","italic"]
		sizelist:=[18,22,24,32,34]
		}
	every c:=!s do
		{
		Font(?famlist || "," || ?sizelist || "," || ?attlist)
		WWrites(c)
		}
	return
end

Code: Select all

#!/bin/icon
#clipping
link graphics

procedure main()

	local x,y
	WOpen("size=600,400", "bg=yellow")
	WAttrib("pos=300,100")
	WAttrib("label=Icon Programming - Clipping")
	Fg("red")
	FillRectangle(50,50,400,300)
	Fg("green")
	FillRectangle(70,70,360,260)
	Clip(71,71,359,259)
	every 1 to 50 do
		{
		x:=?400+50
		y:=?300+50
		WAttrib("fg=black","linewidth=5")
		DrawCircle(x,y,30)
		WAttrib("fg=white","linewidth=3")
		DrawCircle(x,y,30)
		}
	WDone()
end

Code: Select all

#!/bin/icon
# Sierpinsky

$define Width	400
$define Height	400

$define X1		0
$define Y1		Height

$define X2		(Width/2)
$define Y2		0

$define X3		Width
$define Y3		Height

link graphics

procedure main()

	local x,y
	WOpen("size=400,400", "bg=light green")
	WAttrib("label=Icon Programming - Sierpinski Diagram")
	Fg("red")
	WWrite("Press 'q' to quit")
	Fg("black")
	x:=Width/2
	y:=Height/2
	until WQuit() do
		{
			case ?3 of
			{
			1: {
				x:=(x+X1)/2
				y:=(y+Y1)/2
				}
			2:	{
				x:=(x+X2)/2
				y:=(y+Y2)/2
				}
			3:	{
				x:=(x+X3)/2
				y:=(y+Y3)/2
				}
			}
		DrawPoint(x,y)
		}
end
Attachments
Sierpinsky.png
(17.13 KiB) Downloaded 344 times
clipping.png
(19.35 KiB) Downloaded 357 times
fonts.png
(8.25 KiB) Downloaded 356 times

User avatar
recobayu
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed 15 Sep 2010, 22:48
Location: indonesia

width and height variable in svg

#47 Post by recobayu »

Hi Everyone, i very2 new in programming with svg. I want to make a background that can be full screen. but i can't change the variable WIDTH and HEIGHT in my script. this is my script:

Code: Select all


#!/bin/sh
if [ -f startku.jpg ]; then
	rm startku.jpg
fi
USER=$HOSTNAME
RES=$(xrandr | grep "current" | cut -d 'c' -f1,3 | tr -cd 'x [:digit:]' | cut -d 'x' -f1,2) 
WIDTH=$(echo $RES | cut -d 'x' -f1,1) 
HEIGHT=$(echo $RES | cut -d 'x' -f2,3)
echo '
<svg version="1.1">
	<rect width="1366" height="768"
	style="fill:rgb(0,0,255)"/>
	<text >
	<tspan x="550" y="500" font-family="Open Sans" font-weight="bolder" font-size="100"
		fill="white" letter-spacing="-5">
		limuks
	</tspan>
	<tspan x="550" y="530" font-family="Open Sans" font-weight="lighter" font-size="30"
		fill="white">
		'"$USER"''"'"'s puppy linux
	</tspan>
	</text>

    
    <path stroke-dasharray="20,10,5,5,5,10" d="M5 60 215 0" />
	<circle cx="370" cy="100" r="12" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="350" cy="140" r="10" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="400" cy="110" r="5" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="410" cy="130" r="5" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="430" cy="120" r="2" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	
	<circle cx="300" cy="110" r="40" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="300" cy="110" r="33" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="300" cy="110" r="21" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>

	<circle cx="700" cy="100" r="80" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.2"/>
	<circle cx="700" cy="100" r="60" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.2"/>
	<circle cx="700" cy="100" r="40" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.2"/>
	<circle cx="700" cy="100" r="20" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.2"/>

	<circle cx="1000" cy="150" r="100" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.2"/>
	<circle cx="1000" cy="150" r="80" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.2"/>
	<circle cx="1000" cy="150" r="60" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.2"/>
	<circle cx="1000" cy="150" r="45" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="1000" cy="150" r="30" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="1000" cy="150" r="15" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.5"/>
	
	<circle cx="300" cy="700" r="20" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="300" cy="700" r="10" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="300" cy="700" r="5" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>

	<circle cx="400" cy="710" r="20" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="400" cy="710" r="10" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="400" cy="710" r="5" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>

	<circle cx="500" cy="730" r="30" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="500" cy="730" r="23" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="500" cy="730" r="16" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>

	<circle cx="640" cy="700" r="30" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="640" cy="700" r="20" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="640" cy="700" r="7" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>

	<circle cx="700" cy="680" r="30" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="700" cy="680" r="20" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="700" cy="680" r="5" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>

	<circle cx="900" cy="720" r="20" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="900" cy="720" r="10" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="900" cy="720" r="5" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>

	<circle cx="935" cy="700" r="20" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="935" cy="700" r="10" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="935" cy="700" r="5" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>

	<circle cx="1000" cy="680" r="30" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="1000" cy="680" r="20" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="1000" cy="680" r="15" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="1000" cy="680" r="10" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>

	<circle cx="1050" cy="710" r="20" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="1050" cy="710" r="10" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="1050" cy="710" r="5" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>

	<circle cx="1100" cy="735" r="20" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="1100" cy="735" r="10" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="1100" cy="735" r="5" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>

	<circle cx="1200" cy="730" r="20" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.5"/>
	<circle cx="1200" cy="730" r="10" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
	<circle cx="1200" cy="730" r="5" fill="#6BADF6" style="fill-opacity:0.3"/>
</svg>' > startku.jpg
if [ -f /usr/share/backgrounds/startku.jpg ]; then
	rm /usr/share/backgrounds/startku.jpg
fi
cp startku.jpg /usr/share/backgrounds/startku.jpg&
wallpaper /usr/share/backgrounds/startku.jpg&
defaultimageviewer startku.jpg
The variable USER can reference to $HOSTNAME, but why WIDTH and HEIGHT can't?
How to solve my problem?
Thank you.

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#48 Post by technosaurus »

you need to set width and height in the svg tag as in this post:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 581#674581

edit: and its not a jpg

edit2:and you arent using the HEIGHT and WIDTH variables anywhere
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
recobayu
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed 15 Sep 2010, 22:48
Location: indonesia

#49 Post by recobayu »

thank you technosaurus,
i mean the width and height is at rectangle
if i change

Code: Select all

<rect width="1366" height="768"
	style="fill:rgb(0,0,255)"/>
with

Code: Select all

<rect width="'$WIDTH'" height="'$HEIGHT'"
	style="fill:rgb(0,0,255)"/>
i don't see any rectangle. just black screen with text and circle.
i looked at this thread:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 253#647253
and you can use $BACKGROUND variable in the svg's script. but why in my script don't work?
thank you

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#50 Post by technosaurus »

probably because it is the size of your screen. you can make it any size and it will stretch to fill the window if you have the right aspect ratio. removing the title bar is different though, depends on wm settings or modifying the source code
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
recobayu
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed 15 Sep 2010, 22:48
Location: indonesia

[SOLVED]

#51 Post by recobayu »

I got it. I'm sorry, i know what is the problem. My mistake is the delimiter. the code before is:

Code: Select all

WIDTH=$(echo $RES | cut -d 'x' -f1,1) 
 HEIGHT=$(echo $RES | cut -d 'x' -f2,3)
and it should be

Code: Select all

WIDTH=$(echo $RES | cut -d ' ' -f1,1) 
 HEIGHT=$(echo $RES | cut -d ' ' -f3,3)
i realized this after i copy the echo code to a plain text and i got 'space' in $WIDTH. so the $WIDTH="1366 " and $HEIGHT=" 768". That's why rectangle didn't appear. [/code]

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#52 Post by technosaurus »

oK, Too many people have needed this info to have to keep having to hack together an ugly set of sed/grep/tr/cut pipes, so I wrote a helper app in C

Code: Select all

# displayinfo
XWIDTH=1280
XHEIGHT=800
XDEPTH=24
#
time on the static version is ~.002s while the shared version is ~.004s

so to use it in a script just
eval `displayinfo`
echo $XHEIGHT

The attached tarball contains a both a shared and static binary as well as the source code - consider it public domain.

P.S. I may add this to pupngo's xwin/startx via setenv so that the variables are always available.

Edit: if you want something faster without having to install anything

Code: Select all

xwininfo -root 2>&1|awk 'BEGIN{FS=" |x"}/geometry/{split($5,height,"+");print "width=" $4 "\nheight=" height[1]}'
its time is ~0.008s vs xrandr's 1.100s, so much better than xrandr and not _too_ much worse than my little helper
Attachments
displayinfo.tar.gz
shared version is 3kb, static version is 57kb &amp; source is included
(34.83 KiB) Downloaded 312 times
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

seaside
Posts: 934
Joined: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 00:19

#53 Post by seaside »

technosaurus,

Have you abandoned bash? :D

Code: Select all

eval `xwininfo -root|while read LINE ; do 
 case $LINE in   
     Width*) echo ${LINE/: /=};;     
     Height*) echo ${LINE/: /=};;   
      esac;
 done`
0m0.008s and the Width, Height variables are set.

Regards,
s

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#54 Post by technosaurus »

nope, I just missed those lines due to the size of my terminal

Edit: here is a shell version

Code: Select all

displayinfo(){
xwininfo -root|while read VAR VALUE; do
case $VAR in
    Height:)echo XHEIGHT=$VALUE;;
    Width:)echo XWIDTH=$VALUE;;
    Depth:)echo XDEPTH=$VALUE;;
esac
done
}
#read can read multiple variables and separates them at $IFS
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
linuph
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 02:29
Location: Philippines

#55 Post by linuph »

Nice and good programming exercise!

Seaside, no output, but without eval it works:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
xwininfo -root | while read LINE; do
  case $LINE in
    Width*) echo ${LINE/: /=};;
    Height*) echo ${LINE/: /=};;
  esac;
done
real user sys
0.037s 0.010s 0.007s

technosaurus's awk :
real user sys
0.036s 0.007s 0.007s

xrandr doesn't seem THAT slow if done like this:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
xrandr | awk '/*/{split($1,res,"x");print "width="res[1]"\nheight="res[2]}'
real user sys
0.109s 0.010s 0.007s

technosaurus' Displayinfo:
real user sys
0.025s 0.000s 0.013s

techosaurus' Displayinfo-static:
real user sys
0.004s 0.000 0.000

technosaurus' C routines are, of course, the clear winner, timing wise. But is's not quite fair, because the C-routines also print the color depth.

So, lastly, a very short awk routine that also prints the color depth:

Code: Select all

#/bin/sh
xwinfo -root | awk '{ if( NR>7 && NR<11) print $1$2; next }'
real user sys
0.023s 0.007s 0.003s

Timing varies a bit depending on what the system is doing at that point.

User avatar
recobayu
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed 15 Sep 2010, 22:48
Location: indonesia

#56 Post by recobayu »

linuph wrote:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
xwininfo -root | while read LINE; do
  case $LINE in
    Width*) echo ${LINE/: /=};;
    Height*) echo ${LINE/: /=};;
  esac;
done

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
xrandr | awk '/*/{split($1,res,"x");print "width="res[1]"\nheight="res[2]}'

Code: Select all

#/bin/sh
xwininfo -root | awk '{ if( NR>7 && NR<11) print $1$2; next }'
I'm sorry to ask again.
All of that code can showing an output about WIDTH, HEIGHT, and DEPTH. but then when i write echo $HEIGHT or echo $XWIDTH, it doesn't appear anything. I'm still very2 new in programming. How to save to a variable?
Thanks in advance.

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

#57 Post by L18L »

recobayu wrote:...All of that code can showing an output about WIDTH, HEIGHT, and DEPTH. but then when i write echo $HEIGHT or echo $XWIDTH, it doesn't appear anything. I'm still very2 new in programming. How to save to a variable?
Thanks in advance.
try

Code: Select all

WIDTH=`xwininfo -root  | awk '{ if( NR==8) print $2; next }'   `
or

Code: Select all

WIDTH=`xrandr 2>/dev/null | awk '/*/{split($1,res,"x");print res[1]}'`

User avatar
linuph
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 02:29
Location: Philippines

#58 Post by linuph »

These scripts have a name (not shown here). So, if you type the script name in a terminal it will output to screen.

To save the output as a variable, follow L18L's suggestion. If you want to see that variable, you have to type 'echo <variable name>' in a terminal.

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#59 Post by technosaurus »

I explained this in the same post that has the displayinfo tarball but I reiterate
when the output is in VAR=VALUE format all you have to do is:
eval `the_function...` #those are back ticks
or
eval $(the_function ...)
or
you may even be able to leave off the eval
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
linuph
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 02:29
Location: Philippines

#60 Post by linuph »

I believe that $(....) is preferred in stead of back ticks `....`. Am I correct?

Post Reply