Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 11:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How do I watch Flash video in RetroPrecise 5.4.3?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [29 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Hogweed

Joined: 12 Feb 2011
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 10:33    Post subject:  

Just as a little note...

While attempting to figure out the performance difference of Flash on various Puppy variants I have noticed that if colour depth is set to 16 then recent Flash variants perform very poorly at least with the Intel video driver on this old laptop. Changing colour depth to 24 results in perfectly acceptable full screen video in standard resolutions. Don't expect HD though.

The colour depth setting is counter-intuitive. At first thought it would seem that 16 would be better than 24 but it isn't. At least in the config I have been testing RetroPrecice 5.4.3 and 5.4.91

The recommendation from xorgwizard will be to use 16 depth unless you are sure you can use 24. That will result in very, very poor Flash video full screen performance with current Flashplayer in some, if not all, hardware configs.

Last edited by Hogweed on Mon 18 Feb 2013, 11:35; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
summersolstice

Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 11:34    Post subject:  

As I said, somewhere here, xorg does not work, only xvesa makes the vye useable.

I will try the other distros.

Hogweed - I have always had it set to 24 colour depth but thanks for the suggestion.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Hogweed

Joined: 12 Feb 2011
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 11:39    Post subject:  

summersolstice wrote:
As I said, somewhere here, xorg does not work, only xvesa makes the vye useable.

I will try the other distros.

Hogweed - I have always had it set to 24 colour depth but thanks for the suggestion.


You might want to try as an experiment setting it to 16 just to make sure that doesn't improve things in your config. Hope you can get your driver issue sorted as that's the real underlying problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
summersolstice

Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 12:20    Post subject:  

Thanks Hogweed. I have tried all available colour depths. The driver is the real pain in the butt I am sure.

Trying Semme's suggestions -

lupu-528.005.iso seems to load but backgrounded, as in, puppy barks but black screen. So I have no idea as to the resolution or visuals.

pclinuxos-kde-minime-2013.02.iso seems to load with a black screen with whire cursor, aks what keyboard language and the screen remains black with white cursor.

So far, at least, RetroPrecise Puppy 5.4.3 is very useable as an OS, simply the video playback on youtube that is the problem and I guess if that is the driver, there is not much I can do about it. What is strange to me is that I can download the videos on youtube without trouble and play them back fine, I wonder if it is simply the amount of data and info on the youtube pages that stop better playback?

The Vye suppied drivers I linked to are installed on the windows xp OS and they seem to make it a little better, still not watchable though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3968
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 12:37    Post subject:  

Did you go through my xorgwizard routine in Precise? The routine's the same on Lucid: puppy pfix=ram..

If YouTube's the deal-breaker, install this. YouTube itself, along with their horrid choice of delivery's a joke!

One other thought that may help your situation..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Hogweed

Joined: 12 Feb 2011
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 12:46    Post subject:  

Adobe's Flash player is a terrible resource hog and by far the worst decoder/player I have ever seen. Every other player in existence will easily outperform it. On that at least I agree with Steve Jobs (but unfortunately I view a lot of Flash based content)

If the correct drivers are installed on Windows and it sill doesn't work well then that's probably the best you will ever get sadly.

Note in Youtube you can right click and "show video info" to see details of the current playback performance that you can use for comparisons.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
summersolstice

Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 21:03    Post subject:  

Semme - Yes, went through the same process.

I have downloaded and installed GTK 3.0.4, and guess what, the same results..........Video freezes on start and occasionally I hear a click from the speakers trying to play the video sound. If I wait for five minutes, the screen might even show a frame!! This is the same even using 240p resolution.

I also created the " Improve Flash performance under Linux" in your second link, again, no change.

I am not saying that youtube is a deal-breaker for me but as allways, when something does not work, the obsession is getting it fixed somehow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 1798
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 21:54    Post subject:  

It might also help to disable hardware acceleration in Flash. One way to do this is to play a YouTube video, set it to full-screen, then right-click on the video and select "Settings...". Under the Display settings, make sure the "Enable hardware acceleration" checkbox isn't checked, then click the Close button.

If you're using Firefox, there's an extension called "Low Quality Flash" that attempts to set all Flash elements to low quality in an effort to improve performance. There isn't an equivalent for Seamonkey, exactly, but I've been using a userscript (Greasemonkey/Scriptish) that attempts to do the same thing. I couldn't tell you whether or not they really impact the performance all that much, though.

Hogweed, Semme: Huh. I can't remember what color depth my desktop is set to, offhand, so would either of you happen to know a way to check it without having to set xorgwizard up all over again? Embarassed

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * My Pidgin Builds for Puppy 4.3.1+
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3968
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 18 Feb 2013, 21:59    Post subject:  

Yeah, under *screen* in xorg.conf >> cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Depth
Last edited by Semme on Tue 19 Feb 2013, 00:19; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3968
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 19 Feb 2013, 00:01    Post subject:  

Hey Summer- this page says you have which version of Flash installed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 1798
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Tue 19 Feb 2013, 02:56    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Yeah, under *screen* in xorg.conf >> cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Depth


Thanks. I'm surprised hardinfo doesn't list it (or if it does, not in the obvious place). Shocked

I figured I was running in 24-bit color, but wanted to make sure... anything to get better performance out of good old never-optimized Flash. Smile

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * My Pidgin Builds for Puppy 4.3.1+
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3968
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 19 Feb 2013, 17:22    Post subject:  

Aha! We've got an even later build..
updated-geode-tarball.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   16.68 KB
 Viewed   117 Time(s)

updated-geode-tarball.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
summersolstice

Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 13:18    Post subject:  

Semme - I have found thr driver with the same Ref but when I unpacked it and looked at the drivers it says "modified time : 05:55:06 11 Feb 2008"

Do you think it really updated in 2010? I have my doubts looking at the details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3968
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 14:01    Post subject:  

The update's a *patch* that gets applied..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [29 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0725s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]