Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 02:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.5 Release Candidate
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
Bruce_n_Duane

Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 68
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Tue 19 Feb 2013, 20:57    Post subject: Cups broken in pae 5.4.91 SOLVED
Subject description: SOLVED
 

OK I have reloaded all the software and Cups is still working.

On the Toshiba Satellite A205.
I started the Precise Puppy 5.4.91 nopae without savefile.
Menu==>System==>CUPS manage printing WORKS
I defined my HP PhotoSmart 5200

Then I created the 2 GB save file.
Rebooted twice checking the CUPS manage printing each time.
Then Added .sfs for libreOffice 3.5.4_en_US.sfs
Rebooted twice checking the CUPS manage printing each time
I reloaded all the software listed at the top of page 9 in this post
one at a time checking CUPS before and after rebooting.


I loaded firefox-18.0.2 last and cups continues to work.

I do not know what caused the problem. This is my first use of ext4 savefile but maybe it was a bad block in a critical spot.


CUPS continues to work.

Thank for your help!!!
-Bruce.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Tue 19 Feb 2013, 21:29    Post subject:  

It seems in cupsd.conf, some things are not defined, like /var/log/cups/ for logs, /usr/share/cups/ for data, /etc/cups/ssl/ and certificate, also ssl port, the temp dir , SystemGroup can be root,lp ? .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1515
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 19 Feb 2013, 21:53    Post subject: frisbee internationalization corrections  

Barry,
I see that I forgot to remove from my frisbee-1.0 package the dependency on wag_profiles. Can you remove it from the 20130213 package added to the repo? Or, I have re-uploaded my copy but without the .pot file and without the dependency in the pet_specs file. You could take it from there:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=684092#684092

Thank you for accepting it and network_tray-2.6.
Richard

EDIT: I see there are 2 minor issues with the display by frisbee. So, expect an update when I resolve them.

EDIT 2/20/2013 later in the day: I have corrected the above problems and uploaded the new version at the link above, as frisbee-1.0-20130220.

Last edited by rerwin on Wed 20 Feb 2013, 18:23; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2448
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue 19 Feb 2013, 22:18    Post subject:  

rerwin wrote:
...
Thank you for accepting it and network_tray-2.6.
Richard

Thank to BK and Richard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 481

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 00:44    Post subject:  

Hi Barry,

The output of dmesg will inevitably show a couple instances of this obtrusive line:
Code:
ACPI: Deprecated procfs I/F for battery is loaded, please retry with CONFIG_ACPI_PROCFS_POWER cleared

Is it possible to get rid of it in your compile configuration?
More details: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/25845

In your blog, you mentioned an alternative build with kernel 3.8 as a possible move. Can you please, consider making it a Bare Bones build?

Thank you for all your hard work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 03:16    Post subject:  

anikin wrote:
Hi Barry,

The output of dmesg will inevitably show a couple instances of this obtrusive line:
Code:
ACPI: Deprecated procfs I/F for battery is loaded, please retry with CONFIG_ACPI_PROCFS_POWER cleared

Is it possible to get rid of it in your compile configuration?
More details: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/25845

In your blog, you mentioned an alternative build with kernel 3.8 as a possible move. Can you please, consider making it a Bare Bones build?

Thank you for all your hard work.


But, our 'powerapplet_tray' battery status applet needs /proc/acpi/battery -- will disabling that option remove that?

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 03:19    Post subject:  

Precise Puppy 5.4.92 (5.5beta) has been uploaded.

There are a few recent posts to this thread and one or two pm's that missed out, but I will look at them soon.

Blog announcement:
http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00138

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tiangeng

Joined: 23 Jul 2009
Posts: 61
Location: 河南 China

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 05:59    Post subject:  

Install guvcview from PPM,but it not works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 764
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 06:41    Post subject:  

JFYI - hardinfo report for Precise 5.4.92 (Precise 5.5 beta)

All seems extremely good to this average user.

SeaMonkey 2.15.2 seems fast to load and overall resource usage seems low.

Luvly Puppy - many thanks.
hardinfo_report.html.gz
Description  not a gz. rename to html.
gz

 Download 
Filename  hardinfo_report.html.gz 
Filesize  41.4 KB 
Downloaded  133 Time(s) 

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2102
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 07:50    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.5beta  

I did a manual frugal install to an ext4 formatted SDHC card running
on an Acer laptop pc.
VIDEO REPORT: Precise Puppy, version 5.4.92
Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Manhattan
[Mobility Radeon HD 5400 Series]
Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe
Drivers requested to be loaded: fglrx
Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): fglrx
mouse ramdac record vbe vgahw
Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1600x900 pixels (423x238 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes
OpenGL
Vendor Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Renderer ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5400 Series
Version 4.2.12002 Compatibility Profile Context 9.012
Direct Rendering Yes
# glxgears
24180 frames in 5.0 seconds = 4835.807 FPS
20543 frames in 5.0 seconds = 4108.572 FPS
21561 frames in 5.0 seconds = 4312.103 FPS
Computer
Processor 4x Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 430 @ 2.27GHz
Memory 4005MB (177MB used)
Atheros Communications Inc.AR928X Wireless Network Adapter(PCI-Express)(rev 01)
Audio Adapter USB-Audio - Sound Blaster X-Fi Go! Pro

I installed several pets + opera_12.14.1738_i386.deb +
kdegames,lxterminal,and vlc from ppm.
No problems so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 540
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 09:42    Post subject: Testing: Precise Puppy 5.4.92 (5.5beta)
Subject description: Brief first test.
 

Fresh manual frugal install to Fat32 USB2 stick with ext4 save & syslinux 4.04 boot.
Initial boot to desktop with working sound,wired ethernet and Nouveau driver at desired
1920x1080 resolution. The following pets were installed and tested:
    PupControl-2.3|PupControl panel
    tempiconsvg-0.16-i486|tray temperature monitor
    nvidia-glx-304.43-precise-k3.2.29|NVIDIA Accelerated Linux Graphics Driver
    chromium-25.0.1323.1-i686-1sl|Browse the Web
    flashplayer11-11.2.202.270|Adobe Flash Player 11 browser plugin and Preferences. Note, this may not work on older PCs, use instead an earlier 11.x or even 10.x
    PupSnap-1.8_Scrot-0.8_32Bit|PupSnap screen capture

No problems indicated in any of the logs and this version appears rock solid.
Report-video now working correctly with DVB-t capture & Nvidia graphics card listed.
Ethernet connection persists across re-boots.

Code:
# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Precise Puppy, version 5.4.92

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GT218 [GeForce 210] (rev a2)
Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors SAA7131/SAA7133/SAA7135 Video Broadcast Decoder (rev d1)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
  Driver loaded (and currently in use): nvidia
  Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 extmod fb glx kbd mouse ramdac record wfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
  Resolution:  1920x1080 pixels (513x292 millimeters)
  Depth:       24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video

Many thanks for a superb job.
Positively salivating at the prospect of K 3.8 with f2fs.


_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 481

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 10:00    Post subject:  

Hi Barry,
My research results are conflicting and ambiguous. Upstream says it should be removed. A debian developer seconds that view. Ubuntu seems to have a view of their own. That's why I've asked you. So, your explanation would be much appreciated. But please, don't take this as something urgent. It is not.
Quote:
From Documentation/feature-removal-schedule.txt:
What: CONFIG_ACPI_PROCFS_POWER
When: 2.6.39
Why: sysfs I/F for ACPI power devices, including AC and Battery, has been working in upstream kernel since 2.6.24, Sep 2007. In 2.6.37, we make the sysfs I/F always built in and this option disabled by default. Remove this option and the ACPI power procfs interface in 2.6.39.
Who: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>

see more here:https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/654021/
Quote:
For backwards compatibility, this option allows deprecated power /proc/acpi/ folders to exist, even when they have been replaced by functions in /sys. The deprecated folders (and their replacements) include: /proc/acpi/battery/* (/sys/class/power_supply/*) /proc/acpi/ac_adapter/* (sys/class/power_supply/*) This option has no effect on /proc/acpi/ folders and functions, which do not yet exist in /sys

Say N to delete power /proc/acpi/ folders that have moved to /sys/
http://cateee.net/lkddb/web-lkddb/ACPI_PROCFS_POWER.html

Quote:
ACPI: Deprecated procfs I/F for battery is loaded...
This is a harmless notification that the old, backwards-compatible /proc/acpi/... interface is also present, along with the new sysfs interface.
If you think that your manufacturer-specific kernel modules (e.g. sony-laptop, etc.) are somehow mis-handling the legacy /proc/acpi interface, you can try disabling it, but the only way to do so is to build a custom kernel with the ACPI_PROCFS_POWER option disabled.
Scroll down to the end for the complete description from the kernel docs.
Removing this may have some minor side effects, e.g. the powertop utility won't fully work.
http://askubuntu.com/questions/149028/is-an-acpi-gpe-storm-normal-in-an-ubuntu-session


And what about the other (more important) question in my post, regarding an alternative build?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1699
Location: wales

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 12:04    Post subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:


- PERL bugs ?
- # dirsplit
Can't locate List/Util.pm in @INC
- # foomatic-compiledb
Can't locate Encode.pm in @INC
- # foomatic-configure
Can't locate Encode.pm in @INC
- # foomatic-datafile
Can't locate Encode.pm in @INC
- Same for other foomatic****
- # md5pass
Can't locate Crypt/PasswdMD5.pm in @INC
- # perlbug
Warning: failed to load Config_git.pl, something strange about this perl...
Can't locate Sys/Hostname.pm in @INC



hi linuxcbon,

puppy has it's main perl in the DEVX... install the devx and all your bugs work, apart from md5pass which requires some extra modules....
Code:
cpan ExtUtils::MakeMaker
cpan Crypt::PasswdMD5

_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 13:15    Post subject:  

5492 soars like Jonathon Livingston Seagull. I like the symbolism Smile
But I'm confused by the kernel switches???

31 second startup time to gui on a old p4 tower, and only 44.4 meg
(including Conky) used at idle. This with a fresh frugal install.

I plan to run this version on other machines today. No problems
so far. It's a bit annoying to wipe out the floppy icon by accidentally
clicking on it. Newbies won't know to restart x. I think little things
like this should be fixed before 5.5 final.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kurtdriver

Joined: 16 Jan 2009
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 13:35    Post subject:  

Quote:

I agree.
Or at least put a scrollbar in the JWM theme chooser, so that having many themes won't expand the GUI from roof to floor -- at times I think the Exit button will reach China. Laughing The same happens in the Icon Set Chooser GUI, a scrollbar for that one would be great, too. Very Happy


The Simple Network Setup script could really use a scrollbar, when using it in areas with many routers the list goes below the taskbar and the buttons, and passphrase input field are not visible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1063s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]