Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 21:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to make USB 3G modem connect when Puppy boots?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
Marillier


Joined: 12 Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Location: South Africa

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 01:58    Post subject:  How to make USB 3G modem connect when Puppy boots?
Subject description: And have rdesktop start when Puppy boots
 

Firstly im new to registering on this forum!!

Puppy is pretty awesome and I have been running it for a while. Mostly I make use of the out of box options like media players, word processors etc and using it as a backup when Window's dont work at home.

Now here's my problem:

Precise puppy automatically recognizes my usb modem when I insert it. No problem there. I can get to connect successfully and it works well. Is there a way to have the modem connect automatically when inserting it?? Im not familiar with the terminal etc..

Brings me to my next question. Now assuming I was able to connect when the modem is inserted without entering *99# or any details, I would like to autorun my remote desktop app and have it connect to a different pc without having to enter rdesktop *IP address etc* into the terminal.

So basically , i want to power the computer on with the modem attached, and the USB upon which puppy is installed, sit back and have it automatically connect to the internet and run the rdesktop.

Possible? I would be very grateful as this would also serve as a great backup not only for me but for some of my guys working with me.

Thanks in advance ***
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2408
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sun 17 Feb 2013, 15:40    Post subject:  

Welcome to the forum. Cool

What model is the USB 3G modem? Also what tool do you use to connect it?

If your using
'Internet Connection Wizard' with 'Internet dialup, analog or wireless modem'. Have you ticked auto -reconnect?

more info here-
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=625470#625470

I'm not familiar with rdesktop, but there's a thread here-
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=60371

Maybe try searching the forum

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Marillier


Joined: 12 Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Location: South Africa

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2013, 03:36    Post subject:  

Thanks for the Reply and sorry Iv been away so long.

The modem is a vodaphone modem
Model: k3772-Z

I am using pupdial (bottom corner of the screen like in windows) and have to re-enter the information everytime. It does connect.

Is there possibly a script or someshit in existence that will autorun and have the modem connect automatically without any manual input of the phone number's etc.

Yes, Auto Connect is ticked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2408
Location: near here

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2013, 06:46    Post subject:  

I have a feeling it should work but isn't for some reason.


Are you frugally installed with a Pup SaveFile?

Are the phone number options present the following file?
/etc/wvdial.conf

see
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=75707

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Marillier


Joined: 12 Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Location: South Africa

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2013, 07:36    Post subject:  

Cool , I edited the config file and everything. Though the password remains but I do not have a password, its blank. Or supposed to be. I found that by clicking "stupid mode" it connects either way, with or without the password field filled in.

I managed to create a file for rdesktop and saved it as an executable like windows desktop shortcut for its mstsc.

Now is there a way to similarly create a file like that for the modem like I did with the rdesktop and make it launch when I start the machine?

Dude thanks for taking the time to help me, Its appreciated Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marillier


Joined: 12 Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Location: South Africa

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2013, 07:39    Post subject:  

Sorry , I dont know anything about Frugal install or anything like that. I just used linux usb creator and selected the Image and it runs like a boss. It does have a save file which I recently had to enlarge or someshit. Took me ages to find out how to do that but thanks to these forums I was saved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2408
Location: near here

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2013, 08:25    Post subject:  

You are frugally installed, as full installs don't have a savefile.

Frugal install can be to harddrive or usb etc. Savefiles store any changes to the file system (outside of /mnt)

I agree the the app for resizing Savefile AKA 'personal storage file' is hidden in an odd place.

---

You need to find out what commands pupdial is using and make a script, or add to /etc/rc.d/rc.local

gundul3l3k did this here-
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=73283

I don't know if its just a mobprobe to load a module, or you need usb_modeswitch as well?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=550882#550882

---

another topic that might help
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/suse-novell-60/vodafone-k3772-z-umts-stick-on-opensuse-12-1-a-4175422574/
---

It might be worth starting a new topic in the network section of the forum.

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Marillier


Joined: 12 Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Location: South Africa

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2013, 09:43    Post subject:    

Thanks man.

Ok, I'l try the networking forum as you suggested.

I'l note that everything works fine. I just want it to work with no user interaction at all from boot like one adds programs to the startup in Windows ( or you install shit and it just starts up ... I hate that)

Hola Darkdude, Thanks for the help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2408
Location: near here

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2013, 10:51    Post subject:  

Your welcome, hope you get it singing ; -)
_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0905s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0415s) ][ GZIP on ]