Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 13:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How can I install handbrake on my Precise Puppy?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
rogerology

Joined: 03 Feb 2013
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue 19 Feb 2013, 22:20    Post subject:  How can I install handbrake on my Precise Puppy?
Subject description: DVD ripping
 

I would like to copy my DVDs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3982
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 19 Feb 2013, 22:39    Post subject:  

Are you sure it's HandBrake you want.. something you've used on another distribution?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 722
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 02:37    Post subject:  

If you want to rip dvd's handbrake works well, as does FFconvert, which is included in most puppies or is easily installed.

See here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=54056

If you just want to copy DVDs, try Pburn, works well also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rogerology

Joined: 03 Feb 2013
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 04:43    Post subject:  

p310don wrote:
If you want to rip dvd's handbrake works well, as does FFconvert, which is included in most puppies or is easily installed.

See here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=54056

If you just want to copy DVDs, try Pburn, works well also.


Thank you. I'll try to use this program.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rogerology

Joined: 03 Feb 2013
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 19:56    Post subject:  

p310don wrote:
If you want to rip dvd's handbrake works well, as does FFconvert, which is included in most puppies or is easily installed.

See here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=54056

If you just want to copy DVDs, try Pburn, works well also.


Ffconvert claims I don't have enough space, despite having various Gbs on my USB, where is it counting this space?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 722
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 22:13    Post subject:  

The output folder defaults to /root which is in your save file. You will need to direct it to somewhere that has gigs of space such as /mnt/home on the usb drive you boot from, or another usb drive or another hard drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rogerology

Joined: 03 Feb 2013
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2013, 14:07    Post subject:  

p310don wrote:
The output folder defaults to /root which is in your save file. You will need to direct it to somewhere that has gigs of space such as /mnt/home on the usb drive you boot from, or another usb drive or another hard drive.


I chose the destination directory to be a folder in the USB where I've got various GBs, but It gives this error:
[Info] Disk free: 390 MB
[Info] Vobs size: 2263 MB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 722
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2013, 18:54    Post subject:  

Which destination did you use??


If your USB drive has gigs of free space, but you're not seeing it in puppy, you must be saving inside the save file. You need to save outside the save file.

Puppy sees the save file as a different drive, within the physical drive. If you have a 16gig flash drive and a 512mb save file. Puppy will default to saving things in the save file, therefore, only seeing a 512mb drive, ignoring the other 15 1/2 gig of storage.

By saving to /mnt/home, you are saving outside of the save file, therefore, using the other 15.5 gig.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rogerology

Joined: 03 Feb 2013
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 08:03    Post subject:  

p310don wrote:
Which destination did you use??


If your USB drive has gigs of free space, but you're not seeing it in puppy, you must be saving inside the save file. You need to save outside the save file.

Puppy sees the save file as a different drive, within the physical drive. If you have a 16gig flash drive and a 512mb save file. Puppy will default to saving things in the save file, therefore, only seeing a 512mb drive, ignoring the other 15 1/2 gig of storage.

By saving to /mnt/home, you are saving outside of the save file, therefore, using the other 15.5 gig.


I tried saving on to a different USB flash drive but it doesn't work. I tried using the folder /mnt/home as you suggested but, again, it doesn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 722
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 18:22    Post subject:  

Quote:
I tried saving on to a different USB flash drive but it doesn't work. I tried using the folder /mnt/home as you suggested but, again, it doesn't work.


What does it say when it doesn't work?

There have been some serious stabs in the dark, without any proper information. Can you tell me what the details of your setup are?

What type of installation did you do on your USB? Are you using a Hard drive at all? How big is the USB?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rogerology

Joined: 03 Feb 2013
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2013, 18:41    Post subject:  

First of all, thank you very much for your time.

p310don wrote:
Quote:
I tried saving on to a different USB flash drive but it doesn't work. I tried using the folder /mnt/home as you suggested but, again, it doesn't work.


What does it say when it doesn't work?

There have been some serious stabs in the dark, without any proper information. Can you tell me what the details of your setup are?

What type of installation did you do on your USB? Are you using a Hard drive at all? How big is the USB?


When Ffconvert doesn't work, it outputs this error log:

Quote:
Vobcopy 1.1.0 - GPL Copyright (c) 2001 - 2007 robos@muon.de
[Hint] All lines starting with "libdvdread:" are not from vobcopy but from the libdvdread-library

[Info] Path to dvd: /dev/sr0
libdvdread: Using libdvdcss version 1.2.10 for DVD access
[Info] Name of the dvd: WAKE_UP
*** Zero check failed in ifo_read.c:571
for vmgi_mat->zero_3 = 0x00000000010000000000000000000000000000
[Info] There are 1 titles on this DVD.
[Info] There are 1 chapters on the dvd.
[Info] Most chapters has title 1 with 1 chapters.

[Info] There are 1 angles on this dvd.
[Info] Used the linux statfs
[Info] In freespace_getter:for /root/ : 645869568 free
[Info] In freespace_getter:bavail 157683 * bsize 4096 = above
[Info] Using Title: 1
[Info] Title has 1 chapters and 1 angles
[Info] Using Chapter: 1
[Info] Using Angle: 1

libdvdread: Attempting to retrieve all CSS keys
libdvdread: This can take a _long_ time, please be patient

libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VIDEO_TS.VOB at 0x0000011e
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_01_0.VOB at 0x00000177
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Get key for /VIDEO_TS/VTS_01_1.VOB at 0x0000017c
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0
libdvdread: Found 1 VTS's
libdvdread: Elapsed time 0

[Info] Difference between vobsize read from cd and size returned from libdvdread:
[Info] Vob_size (stat) = 2372581376
[Info] libdvdsize = 0

[Info] Disk free: 616 MB
[Info] Vobs size: 2263 MB
[Info] DVD-name: WAKE_UP

ffmpeg version 0.11.1 Copyright (c) 2000-2012 the FFmpeg developers
built on Aug 5 2012 12:44:12 with gcc 4.7.1
configuration: --prefix=/usr --cpu=i686 --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libx264 --enable-libfaac --enable-pthreads --enable-small --enable-postproc --enable-libvorbis --enable-gpl --enable-shared --enable-nonfree --enable-libopencore-amrnb --enable-libopencore-amrwb --disable-debug --enable-bzlib --enable-zlib --enable-libspeex --enable-version3 --enable-runtime-cpudetect --enable-x11grab --enable-libdc1394 --enable-libschroedinger --enable-libtheora --enable-libxvid --enable-swscale --enable-libvpx
libavutil 51. 54.100 / 51. 54.100
libavcodec 54. 23.100 / 54. 23.100
libavformat 54. 6.100 / 54. 6.100
libavdevice 54. 0.100 / 54. 0.100
libavfilter 2. 77.100 / 2. 77.100
libswscale 2. 1.100 / 2. 1.100
libswresample 0. 15.100 / 0. 15.100
libpostproc 52. 0.100 / 52. 0.100
0MB of 2263MB written (0 %)
0MB of 2263MB written (0 %)
1MB of 2263MB written (0 %)
1MB of 2263MB written (0 %)
1MB of 2263MB written (0 %)
[mpeg @ 0x806f3c0] max_analyze_duration 5000000 reached at 5005000
[mpeg @ 0x806f3c0] Estimating duration from bitrate, this may be inaccurate
Input #0, mpeg, from 'pipe:':
Duration: N/A, start: 0.300300, bitrate: 7392 kb/s
Stream #0:0[0x1e0]: Video: mpeg2video, yuv420p, 720x480 [SAR 8:9 DAR 4:3], 7200 kb/s, 29.97 fps, 29.97 tbr, 90k tbn, 59.94 tbc
Stream #0:1[0x80]: Audio: ac3, 48000 Hz, stereo, s16, 192 kb/s
Please use -b:a or -b:v, -b is ambiguous
Unrecognized option 'deblockalpha'
Failed to set value '0' for option 'deblockalpha'
#!/bin/sh
vobcopy -n 1 -o - -v -l -f | /usr/bin/ffmpeg -i - -y -f mp4 -vcodec libx264 -threads 0 -b 1250k -s 640x480 -aspect 4:3 -r 29.97 -flags +loop -cmp +chroma -deblockalpha 0 -deblockbeta 0 -maxrate 1500k -bufsize 4M -bt 256k -refs 1 -bf 3 -coder 1 -me_method umh -me_range 16 -subq 7 -partitions +parti4x4+parti8x8+partp8x8+partb8x8 -g 250 -keyint_min 25 -level 30 -qmin 10 -qmax 51 -qcomp 0.6 -trellis 2 -sc_threshold 40 -i_qfactor 0.71 -acodec libfaac -ab 112k -ar 48000 -ac 2 "/mnt/home/WakeUp/wake_up.mp4"
STATUS=$?
echo -n $STATUS > "/tmp/ffconvert/wake_up.tmp"


Regarding my setup: I followed the instructions on this PDF http://puppylinux.org/main/Puppy430-tutorial-English.pdf to install lxpup (burned on CD) to an 8Gb flash drive. My PC has a HD with Windows XP on it, which I am not currently using.

This http://i.imgur.com/BuZJ1r1.png is a screen capture of the uotput produced by
Code:
 du -h --max-depth=1 /
, and it also shows the free space given by the File Manager PCManFM 1.1.0, and the free space given by the icon tray that is located at the lower right.corner
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1047
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 22:56    Post subject:  

Following these steps should allow you to have enough space, if your card/drve/etc has it free.

-goto the device you want as storage using the icons at the bottom of your screen.

-create a directory there, say handbrake-op

-right-click on that new directory and pick the menu item >Dir 'handbrake-op' and Link.

-UNTICK the relative box.

-change the name in the box to /root/handbrake-op

-Click on symlink.

If you have done it right, you should now find that if you use rox-filer, you have a new directory link visable under your home(~) or /root directory called handbrake-op and it will take you straight to your big external directory from within the savefile.

then you should be able to assign it in your program for use and it should be ok to be used up to the device's freespace MINUS 1K.

Also ignore any size messages from rox, etc. if you try to work out the space as they won't be right. The only tool I have found that works is partview and that for the overall partition space and free space only.

However you have a read problem to fix first, this line in your quote:

[Info] libdvdsize = 0

should match the one above it, else the disc cannot be read and you will be unable to copy it anyway. Maybe you still have a codec missing.

Also I don't like the line:

*** Zero check failed in ifo_read.c:571
for vmgi_mat->zero_3 = 0x00000000010000000000000000000000000000 .

But I don't know what to do about these as i'm not a multimedia guru about this stuff.

Can you mount the drive and find any filenames and sizes in it, that if added up equal the total space used? That would be my first test.

_________________
Puppy T290 - BarryK's Racy but with T2 Version 9.0 is under development.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94575
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0841s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0037s) ][ GZIP on ]