Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 11:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.5 Release Candidate
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 15 of 20 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
tater


Joined: 29 May 2010
Posts: 32
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 13:57    Post_subject:  

Greetings rcrsn51

I tried your solution for connecting to my samba shares without success.

I don't know if this will help, but my server is running SMS (superb mini server) based on slackware 13.37.

Here's my samba.conf

Code:
# This is the main Samba configuration file. You should read the
# smb.conf(5) manual page in order to understand the options listed
# here. Samba has a huge number of configurable options (perhaps too
# many!) most of which are not shown in this example
#
# For a step to step guide on installing, configuring and using samba,
# read the Samba HOWTO Collection.
#
# Any line which starts with a ; (semi-colon) or a # (hash)
# is a comment and is ignored. In this example we will use a #
# for commentry and a ; for parts of the config file that you
# may wish to enable
#
# NOTE: Whenever you modify this file you should run the command "testparm"
# to check that you have not made any basic syntactic errors.
#
#======================= Global Settings =====================================
[global]
   log file = /var/log/samba.%m
   printer = HP_Deskjet_1050_J410_series
   restrict anonymous = no
   ldap ssl = No
   max protocol = NT1
   server string = SMS
   path = /var/spool
   acl compatibility = winnt
   workgroup = WORKGROUP
   server signing = Auto
   os level = 20
   domain master = no
   public = yes
   security = share
   preferred master = no
   max log size = 50
# This option is important for security. It allows you to restrict
# connections to machines which are on your local network. The
# following example restricts access to two C class networks and
# the "loopback" interface. For more examples of the syntax see
# the smb.conf man page
;    hosts allow = 192.168.10.0  127.0.0.0

[Music]
   force user = nobody
   path = /mnt/sdb1/Music/
   read only = yes

[andy]
   valid users = andy
   writeable = yes
   path = /mnt/sdb1/andy/

[Videos]
        force user = nobody
   path = /mnt/sdb1/Videos
        read only = yes



[HPDeskje]
   printable = yes
   path = /var/spool/cups/


Let me know if you want me to test anything else.

[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 14:01    Post_subject:  

@tater: Just to clarify:

1. What version of Precise are you using?

2. Can other Puppies connect to this server?

Here are some variations to try:

Code:
sec=
       none attempt to connection as a null user (no name)
       krb5 Use Kerberos version 5 authentication
       krb5i Use Kerberos authentication and packet signing
       ntlm Use NTLM password hashing (default)
       ntlmi Use NTLM password hashing with signing (if /proc/fs/cifs/PacketSigningEnabled on or if server requires signing also can be the default)
       ntlmv2 Use NTLMv2 password hashing
       ntlmv2i Use NTLMv2 password hashing with packet signing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tater


Joined: 29 May 2010
Posts: 32
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 14:08    Post_subject:  

@rcrsn51

I'm testing precise 5.4.93 and this is not connecting to my samba shares.

I have lupu 528.005 running on two machines and both connect using pnethood without a problem. Also have a windows 7 machine on the network that connects fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tater


Joined: 29 May 2010
Posts: 32
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 14:14    Post_subject:  

@rcrsn51

I have to step out to run some errands.

I'll be back later, I'll try those codes you've provided and let you know my results.

Thanks for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1518
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 14:27    Post_subject: Re: Precise 5.4.9.3 (k3.8.0)
Sub_title: NVIDIA, network, textmaker problems
 

rcrsn51 wrote:
Samba-login has an Options box. Enter sec=ntlm

Can someone else please test this?


YASSM works OK for me on 5.4.93 both without and with your suggested option.

My server is Slacko 5.4 running Samba 3.6.1 (from memory).

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 14:30    Post_subject:  

@peebee: Thanks. It looks like this issue is specific to very new kernels and certain light-weight Samba servers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Goku

Joined: 23 Feb 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 14:37    Post_subject: Virtual Box
Sub_title: Trouble with screen size on VBox
 

I like this distro don't see any problems but the screen size is way to off and changing the resolution is not helping the bottom and the right side is off other than that no bugs for someone who goes on the Internet and plays some games.

EDIT: I found a fix to the screen problem you go to the Terminal and then you type in XorgWizard after you then chose vesa and then your screen resoultion wanted now there are not any bugs for Virtual Box.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3379
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 17:38    Post_subject:  

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=687248#687248

There is a German version of my Right click menu package.
It works for English as well Cool

______________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 17:39    Post_subject: Precise 5.4.93
Sub_title: Networking to Puppy machines, compiling nvidia driver
 

@rcrsn51

Yes, adding sec=ntlm to the options in YASSM solves the problem of connecting to Puppy machines on the network!

This is unfortunately not possible from the GUI in pnethood, but I will try adding this in the script and report back.

@BarryK

Adding the missing file version.h whether via symbolic link or by simply copying the missing file to the expected location does not make it possible to compile the nvidia driver. There must be some other (additional) problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 17:44    Post_subject: alias ls='ls --color=auto'  

linuxcbon wrote:
- Bright color in console doing ls -la /dev/ram comes from "/etc/profile" line 188 alias ls='ls --color=auto'

Yes, but this is not a bug. It isn't even unconventional behavior.

By default the ls command displays its lists in monochrome. This is so that all terminals are supported -- even antiques from the 1980s that don't support color and relics from the 1970s that would be confused by the ANSI escape sequences needed to set text colors.

But the Linux console and terminal emulators like xterm (and those it inspired, like rxvt and urxvt) support ANSI escape sequences and color. And most folks prefer the color-coded lists (as long as the colors are well chosen), so it has been common practice for distro builders to include the "alias ls='ls --color=auto'" in a bash configuration file at least since the mid-1990s.

We all know that Puppy users like to make good use of old hardware rather than consigning it to a landfill. But I'll bet not many of us connect our Puppies to monochrome terminals. And those that do probably have terminals that are younger than three decades in age and support ANSI, so would simply display the lists in monochrome without choking on escape sequences.

So removing that line from Puppies and requiring those who want colored lists to add it back to a bash configuration file, or type "ls --color" all the time, is not necessary, nor do I expect that it would be a popular change.


As to the bright yellow on white text that ls displays for devices, I totally agree with you that it is hard to read.

You can change that, as explained earlier in this thread:
In an earlier post, Improving contrast for ls listing of devices, npierce wrote:
But if you prefer the current white background, you can simply change the background color that ls uses to list block devices and character devices.

Add this line to your ~/.bashrc file:
Code:
export LS_COLORS='bd=40;33;01:cd=40;33;01'

Alternatively, you could put it in your /etc/profile.local file or in an appropriate line in your /etc/profile file.

Perhaps if Barry thinks that is an improvement, he might include it in /etc/profile. If not, it is an easy customization to make.

I chose bright yellow on black because that combination may look familiar to anyone that uses a distro that sets LS_COLORS using the dircolors utility. This is for consistency. This way, when you go to help your friend who is running another distro, you don't have to relearn the colors. Also, using black for a background won't affect users who already have black backgrounds. But you may use any colors you like by substituting other values for 40 and 33, and/or removing 01:

Foreground colors:
30 black (dark gray if bright)
31 red
32 green
33 brownish (yellow if bright)
34 blue
35 magenta
36 cyan
37 light gray (white if bright)
39 default foreground color

Background colors:
40 black
41 red
42 green
43 brownish
44 blue
45 magenta
46 cyan
47 light gray
49 default background color

My example uses 01 to make the foreground color bright. If you don't want a bright color remove the 01 and the preceding semicolon (e.g., cd=40;33).

Likewise, for the default foreground or background colors, you don't need to use 39 or 49. Instead you may simply not set a foreground or background color by omitting the number and the semicolon (e.g., cd=33).


There does exist a dircolor utility which is helpful if you would like to make a lot of changes to LS_COLORS, but it is overkill if you just want to change a couple of things. It creates a very long string of over a thousand characters for LS_COLORS, some of which just set colors that are default anyway. Better to just set the few that you want to change.

(If you decide to try dircolor, be sure that the version you get isn't newer than your version of ls ("ls --version"). If dircolors is newer it may use new codes that the older ls doesn't understand, and you will get no colors at all.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7083
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 19:44    Post_subject: Re: alias ls='ls --color=auto'  

npierce wrote:
linuxcbon wrote:
- Bright color in console doing ls -la /dev/ram comes from "/etc/profile" line 188 alias ls='ls --color=auto'

Yes, but this is not a bug. It isn't even unconventional behavior.

By default the ls command displays its lists in monochrome. This is so that all terminals are supported -- even antiques from the 1980s that don't support color and relics from the 1970s that would be confused by the ANSI escape sequences needed to set text colors.

But the Linux console and terminal emulators like xterm (and those it inspired, like rxvt and urxvt) support ANSI escape sequences and color. And most folks prefer the color-coded lists (as long as the colors are well chosen), so it has been common practice for distro builders to include the "alias ls='ls --color=auto'" in a bash configuration file at least since the mid-1990s.

We all know that Puppy users like to make good use of old hardware rather than consigning it to a landfill. But I'll bet not many of us connect our Puppies to monochrome terminals. And those that do probably have terminals that are younger than three decades in age and support ANSI, so would simply display the lists in monochrome without choking on escape sequences.

So removing that line from Puppies and requiring those who want colored lists to add it back to a bash configuration file, or type "ls --color" all the time, is not necessary, nor do I expect that it would be a popular change.


As to the bright yellow on white text that ls displays for devices, I totally agree with you that it is hard to read.

You can change that, as explained earlier in this thread:
In an earlier post, Improving contrast for ls listing of devices, npierce wrote:
But if you prefer the current white background, you can simply change the background color that ls uses to list block devices and character devices.

Add this line to your ~/.bashrc file:
Code:
export LS_COLORS='bd=40;33;01:cd=40;33;01'

Alternatively, you could put it in your /etc/profile.local file or in an appropriate line in your /etc/profile file.

Perhaps if Barry thinks that is an improvement, he might include it in /etc/profile. If not, it is an easy customization to make.

I chose bright yellow on black because that combination may look familiar to anyone that uses a distro that sets LS_COLORS using the dircolors utility. This is for consistency. This way, when you go to help your friend who is running another distro, you don't have to relearn the colors. Also, using black for a background won't affect users who already have black backgrounds. But you may use any colors you like by substituting other values for 40 and 33, and/or removing 01:

Foreground colors:
30 black (dark gray if bright)
31 red
32 green
33 brownish (yellow if bright)
34 blue
35 magenta
36 cyan
37 light gray (white if bright)
39 default foreground color

Background colors:
40 black
41 red
42 green
43 brownish
44 blue
45 magenta
46 cyan
47 light gray
49 default background color

My example uses 01 to make the foreground color bright. If you don't want a bright color remove the 01 and the preceding semicolon (e.g., cd=40;33).

Likewise, for the default foreground or background colors, you don't need to use 39 or 49. Instead you may simply not set a foreground or background color by omitting the number and the semicolon (e.g., cd=33).


There does exist a dircolor utility which is helpful if you would like to make a lot of changes to LS_COLORS, but it is overkill if you just want to change a couple of things. It creates a very long string of over a thousand characters for LS_COLORS, some of which just set colors that are default anyway. Better to just set the few that you want to change.

(If you decide to try dircolor, be sure that the version you get isn't newer than your version of ls ("ls --version"). If dircolors is newer it may use new codes that the older ls doesn't understand, and you will get no colors at all.)


Thanks for the info!

I decided to do it this way, in /etc/profile:

Code:
#130224 npierce: fix hard-to-read yellow in white terminal. refer: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84298&start=210
#reference: refer http://blog.twistedcode.org/2008/04/lscolors-explained.html
export LS_COLORS='bd=33:cd=33'

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7083
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 20:02    Post_subject:  

pemasu wrote:
I test recompiled 3.8 kernel. I did add bunch of multimedia - dvb drivers. I unticked first the automatic creation button in make menuconfig ....under multimedia ( I dont remember the exact name of that tickable option )....and then I did tick manually the drivers in multimedia section. I got the missing ivtv with hauppage pvr drivers. The problem Billtoo posted.
Brcmsmac was added just by ticking it, since it was now tickable option...due to bcma.ko inclusion.

I provide here the diff comparision of those drivers I was able to add. I am sure there are some multimedia drivers which are not needed, but anyway....there were alot useful drivers left out.

Poulsbo.ko should be left out. It interferes the /kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/gma500/gma500_gfx.ko usage if and when the modesetting_drv.so ( in /usr/lib/x/drivers-alternate ) version 0.6.0 has been added and the cedarview fix pet by 01micko has been added/installed.

As aarf posted. Modesetting for intel atom with gma graphics does not work atm.


pemasu,
Would you mind sending me your .config file?

I'll do another compile of the 3.8.0 kernel.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7083
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 20:25    Post_subject:  

pemasu wrote:
ar5523 is a Linux kernel driver for the Atheros AR5005UG (802.11b/g) and AR5005UX (802.11a/b/g) USB wireless LAN chipsets.

Firmware is required for device operation.

modinfo ar5523
filename: /lib/modules/3.8.0/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/ath/ar5523/ar5523.ko
firmware: ar5523.bin

http://www.ubuntuupdates.org/package/xorg-edgers/quantal/main/base/linux-firmware

http://ppa.launchpad.net/xorg-edgers/ppa/ubuntu/pool/main/l/linux-firmware/linux-firmware_1.100_all.deb
Quote:
ar5523: Add firmware for new driver


I hope that firmware is ok.

firmware.dep need again editing and all-firmware possibly new folder for the firmware...or/if how Barry decide with this driver. It is included anyway in the build.

EDIT. Just informational note. New driver:
# modinfo wil6210
filename: /lib/modules/3.8.0/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/ath/wil6210/wil6210.ko
description: Driver for 60g WiFi WIL6210 card

http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/wil6210


Thanks, I have created a PET.

Hopefully I will be able to upload to ibiblio soon.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 20:33    Post_subject:  

Barry,

Ibiblio seems ok here, just uploaded some sfs.

Actually you may want to link the LibreOffice-4.0.0_en-GB_xz.sfs to your sfs repo.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2156
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 20:55    Post_subject: Precise Puppy 5.5beta
Sub_title: proprietary nvidia driver
 

I did a manual frugal install of my 5493remaster.iso to a hp desktop
pc.
VIDEO REPORT: Precise Puppy, version 5.4.93
Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 [GeForce GT 430] (rev a1)
Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
24
24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe
Drivers requested to be loaded: nvidia fbdev vesa
Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): nvidia
Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 extmod glx kbd mouse ramdac record wfb
Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 3840x1080 pixels (1049x292 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes
OpenGL
Vendor NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2
Version 4.3.0 NVIDIA 310.32
Direct Rendering Yes
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
303 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.435 FPS
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.002 FPS
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.003 FPS

The proprietary Nvidia driver installed with no problem on this pc.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   23.79 KB
 Viewed   386 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

nvidiascrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   64.83 KB
 Viewed   413 Time(s)

nvidiascrn.jpg


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 15 of 20 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1362s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0079s) ][ GZIP on ]