Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 18:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
ArchPup 13.2.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 8 [112 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2481
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2013, 17:11    Post subject:  

I would like to make an SFS containing all those lovely sound apps for archpup - but I haven't got time at the moment ; -(
_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
unni

Joined: 25 Feb 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 00:05    Post subject: How to install this ?  

How can I install this ? I tried some steps given in some other threads of this forum like partitioning my drive & formatting it with ext4 . Then copied the 3 files some *.sfs , vmlinuz and initrd . Atlast , ran the grub4dos config . But on restarting the virtual machine ( yes , its on a VM ) , I get a window manager not found error . Is it some trouble with xinitrc ? Please help !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 02:01    Post subject: Re: How to install this ?  

unni wrote:
How can I install this ? I tried some steps given in some other threads of this forum like partitioning my drive & formatting it with ext4 . Then copied the 3 files some *.sfs , vmlinuz and initrd . Atlast , ran the grub4dos config . But on restarting the virtual machine ( yes , its on a VM ) , I get a window manager not found error . Is it some trouble with xinitrc ? Please help !

Did you copy all 3 sfs files, with only archpup_132.sfs it will boot just to tty because window manager is in other sfs module - inside adrv-openbox_132.sfs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
unni

Joined: 25 Feb 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 02:48    Post subject:  

Thanks for that ! I think I didnt copy all the sfs and that's what created the problem .
Now Im trying to install Guest Additions and when I tried to do
Code:
 pacman -S virtualbox-guest-utils

I get an error cannot resolve "linux>=3.7", a dependency of "virtualbox-guest-modules" .
So I thought the error was due to the old kernel ( 3.4.28 ) which is the one which is currently present in ArchPup . So tried to do a full system update through Pacman -Syu but it turned out that core and all others like community , extra and archpup are update to date . Now I am trying to update the kernel through
Code:
pacman -S linux
. Is this the right way of doing it ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 03:53    Post subject:  

Kernel from Arch Linux unfortunately cannot be used in archpup because it doesn't have aufs support,
so to get functional Virtual box modules it is required to recompile them with archpup kernel source sfs loaded.
I tried to do it once and got some udev related error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
unni

Joined: 25 Feb 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 05:49    Post subject:  

So it is . As I earlier told , I tried installing linux kernel from arch repos but nothing happened as the arch thingy didnt have aufs support . Thanks for your support !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 07:04    Post subject:  

kind of odd error? playing .wma music file.
Nothing show up that one can use to shut it down.
I tested using mplayer and nothing shows up.

even if I go to menu and chose mplayer from there nothing shows
it just play the music but nothing to click on to stop it.
Very annoying if one have a file from a 60 minute speech
Esc does not help either

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 07:24    Post subject:  

MAybe its time to move from old archpup version to the latest.

Is this stable -- will not be greatly changed in the near future?

You couldnt run new with your old savefile huh?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 09:00    Post subject:  

Are you sure that the new one have a different way for how the GMplayer works
with wma files?

I wanted to use it without a save file inspired by Oui but I am not as tech savvy as he is.

So it is just a test I do. I try to download latest and see if it behaves different?

Hm are not the gmplayer in the archapps-12-12.sfs okay maybe the new one has
its own archapps-13-xx.sfs

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 09:09    Post subject:  

Scooby,
I think current version is more stable than any one before, you can do what ever you want with it Cool
Only things missing are drivers for nvidia cards, original packages from Arch obviously don't work...

nooby,
That's strange error, if you started mplayer from terminal it should stop when you close it.
But if it's started with file manager it would open smplayer that one is just graphical fronted
it is still using mplayer. btw, this is original mplayer2 package from Arch with all codecs enabled, so it will play everything. Razz

Edit
If you want to test new UI framework QT5, instructions are here http://archpup.freeforums.org/general-discussion-f3.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 13:51    Post subject:  

I saw somewhere that you've added a repository for ArchPup, What was the reason for this?

Do the new version of Archpup work with Mavrothals inpet and outpet for .pet files?

Im sorry to hear Mavrothal decided to leave this project. He was good for balance.

Why exactly do you hate the puppy stuff like yaf-splash and so on? Takes to much space?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 14:24    Post subject:  

I do not hate yaf-splash - it is already included as pwireless needs it. Only I don't like when there
are 10 scripts with different names that do the same thing, and it is 'show system notifications using gtkdialog'.

Is it so hard to every script use one notifications system - yaf-splash, gtkdialog-splash or whatever, just choose one and stick to it.

Mavrothal's decision to quit is his right and I respect it, although not quite understand.
I'm not sure that yaf-splash was only reason for him to quit, it's not logical - so there must have been something else.
Who knows maybe he will return once, but if he doesn't, it's not big problem... world is still spinning around as you see. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 15:15    Post subject:  

oop ssorry then it is my fault. I prefer mplayer so I did not knew
about the other one. I truly am a noob. So no problemo
none other most likely do such stuff me did. So nothing to worry about

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11181
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 15:57    Post subject:  

Will Archpup run from a multisession DVD, like Puppy does?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 16:16    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
Mavrothal's decision to quit


Just want to make sure you know that i'm still here. I've been trying to get a 64 bit version working using the Fatdog64-521 kernel and initrd.gz. I have pacman working just fine. the init script is so different in Fatdog64 though. i'm having a hard time getting an adrv or ydrv working. I edited the init file and got the adrv to load...but when i had that success, the archpup-132.sfs was not found. it's got something to do with psubdir in the init script that's throwing it off. so i can get archpup-132.sfs to load without the adrv.sfs...or the adrv.sfs to load without archpup-132.sfs. I'm still trying hard to get them 'both' to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 8 [112 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0806s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0077s) ][ GZIP on ]