Precise Puppy 5.5 Release Candidate

Please post any bugs you have found
Message
Author
User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: alias ls='ls --color=auto'

#221 Post by BarryK »

npierce wrote:
linuxcbon wrote:- Bright color in console doing ls -la /dev/ram comes from "/etc/profile" line 188 alias ls='ls --color=auto'
Yes, but this is not a bug. It isn't even unconventional behavior.

By default the ls command displays its lists in monochrome. This is so that all terminals are supported -- even antiques from the 1980s that don't support color and relics from the 1970s that would be confused by the ANSI escape sequences needed to set text colors.

But the Linux console and terminal emulators like xterm (and those it inspired, like rxvt and urxvt) support ANSI escape sequences and color. And most folks prefer the color-coded lists (as long as the colors are well chosen), so it has been common practice for distro builders to include the "alias ls='ls --color=auto'" in a bash configuration file at least since the mid-1990s.

We all know that Puppy users like to make good use of old hardware rather than consigning it to a landfill. But I'll bet not many of us connect our Puppies to monochrome terminals. And those that do probably have terminals that are younger than three decades in age and support ANSI, so would simply display the lists in monochrome without choking on escape sequences.

So removing that line from Puppies and requiring those who want colored lists to add it back to a bash configuration file, or type "ls --color" all the time, is not necessary, nor do I expect that it would be a popular change.


As to the bright yellow on white text that ls displays for devices, I totally agree with you that it is hard to read.

You can change that, as explained earlier in this thread:
In an earlier post, [url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy//viewtopic.php?p=686747#686747]Improving contrast for ls listing of devices[/url], npierce wrote:But if you prefer the current white background, you can simply change the background color that ls uses to list block devices and character devices.

Add this line to your ~/.bashrc file:

Code: Select all

export LS_COLORS='bd=40;33;01:cd=40;33;01'
Alternatively, you could put it in your /etc/profile.local file or in an appropriate line in your /etc/profile file.
Perhaps if Barry thinks that is an improvement, he might include it in /etc/profile. If not, it is an easy customization to make.

I chose bright yellow on black because that combination may look familiar to anyone that uses a distro that sets LS_COLORS using the dircolors utility. This is for consistency. This way, when you go to help your friend who is running another distro, you don't have to relearn the colors. Also, using black for a background won't affect users who already have black backgrounds. But you may use any colors you like by substituting other values for 40 and 33, and/or removing 01:

Foreground colors:
30 black (dark gray if bright)
31 red
32 green
33 brownish (yellow if bright)
34 blue
35 magenta
36 cyan
37 light gray (white if bright)
39 default foreground color

Background colors:
40 black
41 red
42 green
43 brownish
44 blue
45 magenta
46 cyan
47 light gray
49 default background color

My example uses 01 to make the foreground color bright. If you don't want a bright color remove the 01 and the preceding semicolon (e.g., cd=40;33).

Likewise, for the default foreground or background colors, you don't need to use 39 or 49. Instead you may simply not set a foreground or background color by omitting the number and the semicolon (e.g., cd=33).


There does exist a dircolor utility which is helpful if you would like to make a lot of changes to LS_COLORS, but it is overkill if you just want to change a couple of things. It creates a very long string of over a thousand characters for LS_COLORS, some of which just set colors that are default anyway. Better to just set the few that you want to change.

(If you decide to try dircolor, be sure that the version you get isn't newer than your version of ls ("ls --version"). If dircolors is newer it may use new codes that the older ls doesn't understand, and you will get no colors at all.)
Thanks for the info!

I decided to do it this way, in /etc/profile:

Code: Select all

#130224 npierce: fix hard-to-read yellow in white terminal. refer: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84298&start=210
#reference: refer http://blog.twistedcode.org/2008/04/lscolors-explained.html
export LS_COLORS='bd=33:cd=33'
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#222 Post by BarryK »

pemasu wrote:I test recompiled 3.8 kernel. I did add bunch of multimedia - dvb drivers. I unticked first the automatic creation button in make menuconfig ....under multimedia ( I dont remember the exact name of that tickable option )....and then I did tick manually the drivers in multimedia section. I got the missing ivtv with hauppage pvr drivers. The problem Billtoo posted.
Brcmsmac was added just by ticking it, since it was now tickable option...due to bcma.ko inclusion.

I provide here the diff comparision of those drivers I was able to add. I am sure there are some multimedia drivers which are not needed, but anyway....there were alot useful drivers left out.

Poulsbo.ko should be left out. It interferes the /kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/gma500/gma500_gfx.ko usage if and when the modesetting_drv.so ( in /usr/lib/x/drivers-alternate ) version 0.6.0 has been added and the cedarview fix pet by 01micko has been added/installed.

As aarf posted. Modesetting for intel atom with gma graphics does not work atm.
pemasu,
Would you mind sending me your .config file?

I'll do another compile of the 3.8.0 kernel.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#223 Post by BarryK »

pemasu wrote:ar5523 is a Linux kernel driver for the Atheros AR5005UG (802.11b/g) and AR5005UX (802.11a/b/g) USB wireless LAN chipsets.

Firmware is required for device operation.

modinfo ar5523
filename: /lib/modules/3.8.0/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/ath/ar5523/ar5523.ko
firmware: ar5523.bin

http://www.ubuntuupdates.org/package/xo ... x-firmware

http://ppa.launchpad.net/xorg-edgers/pp ... 00_all.deb
ar5523: Add firmware for new driver
I hope that firmware is ok.

firmware.dep need again editing and all-firmware possibly new folder for the firmware...or/if how Barry decide with this driver. It is included anyway in the build.

EDIT. Just informational note. New driver:
# modinfo wil6210
filename: /lib/modules/3.8.0/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/ath/wil6210/wil6210.ko
description: Driver for 60g WiFi WIL6210 card

http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/wil6210
Thanks, I have created a PET.

Hopefully I will be able to upload to ibiblio soon.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#224 Post by 01micko »

Barry,

Ibiblio seems ok here, just uploaded some sfs.

Actually you may want to link the LibreOffice-4.0.0_en-GB_xz.sfs to your sfs repo.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
Billtoo
Posts: 3720
Joined: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 13:47
Location: Ontario Canada

Precise Puppy 5.5beta

#225 Post by Billtoo »

I did a manual frugal install of my 5493remaster.iso to a hp desktop
pc.
VIDEO REPORT: Precise Puppy, version 5.4.93
Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 [GeForce GT 430] (rev a1)
Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
24
24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe
Drivers requested to be loaded: nvidia fbdev vesa
Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): nvidia
Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 extmod glx kbd mouse ramdac record wfb
Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 3840x1080 pixels (1049x292 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes
OpenGL
Vendor NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2
Version 4.3.0 NVIDIA 310.32
Direct Rendering Yes
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
303 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.435 FPS
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.002 FPS
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.003 FPS

The proprietary Nvidia driver installed with no problem on this pc.
Attachments
screenshot.jpg
(23.79 KiB) Downloaded 481 times
nvidiascrn.jpg
(64.83 KiB) Downloaded 508 times
Last edited by Billtoo on Sun 24 Feb 2013, 01:25, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#226 Post by BarryK »

mchabez wrote:
Hi everyone, I found another debdb2pupdb bug. It's in 5.4.3, I have to check yet in the 5.5beta.
Some Ubuntu packages have weird dependencies like "udev(>=", "libx11-6(>>" and so on. The root cause is that in the Ubuntu package databases, in the package dependency data, sometimes the dependent package name and version requirement has no space between them.

To check which packages are affected, run this command:
Code:

grep -e "|+.*(.*|" ~/.packages/Packages-ubuntu-*

Edit: Latest Woof as of 21th Feb 2013 also has this bug.
Cross-posting this from the 5.4.3 thread, 5.5beta has this bug, too.
I have hunted through all of the 'precise' and 'precise-updates' pkg database files, and none of them have this problem.

Every db entry has a space between package name and version requirement, also between version operator and version, ex:

udev (>= 2.3

If there are some rogue debs out there with this problem, then the developers should be contacted. It does not affect Woof or the PPM.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
tater
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat 29 May 2010, 18:13
Location: Michigan, USA

#227 Post by tater »

@rcrsn51

I have tried all of your codes in YASSM and still no connection to my Samba shares.

I booted puppy pfix=ram in various puppy distros and running Pnethood.

1) lupu 528.005 connected yes
2) precise 5.4.93 connected no
3) puppy 431 connected no
4) puppy 214X connected yes
5) slacko 5.4 connected no

I've also looked at the logs and I can't see why I'm not connecting to my samba shares.

Every thing else in precise 5.4.93 seems great.

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#228 Post by rcrsn51 »

@tater: That's too bad. But it sounds to me like you have a different problem than the kernel 3.8 - Samba-TNG issue.

For example, Slacko 5.4 works fine with Samba-TNG without requiring a sec= option.

Run dmesg. Are there any error codes from CIFS?

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#229 Post by pemasu »

pemasu,
Would you mind sending me your .config file?

I'll do another compile of the 3.8.0 kernel.
Sorry that I didnt post it earlier.
Here is it is in attachment. I added those missing multimedia - dvb drivers. Especially support for analog TV is important. The name is misleading. That support creates ivtv driver and also enables several hybrid analog-digital dvb tuner sticks to work ( like mine )
I fixed the brcmsmac support and unticked that overlapping support so that the wireless chip is not recognized by B43 driver. If brcmsmac has been included, that option should be unticked.
I removed poulsbo stub driver ie poulsbo.ko.
Couple of new or missing drivers were added elsewhere, like new staging crs wlan driver....there are posts asking it in the aether. I believe it will need firmware to work.

I confess....I did add samba new SMB2 support in the cifs section. I have used it in my kernels, like 3.6.2 and 3.7.2 and it has not done harm.

Only section which is quite obscure for me is under multimedia: encoders, decoders, sensors and other helper chips. It has decoder modules which are needed and useful like for Hauppage chips and TV watching, but some support are for boards with incorporated chips I am not familiar with.

Also I was afraid that some modules probably have dependency to that section. So....I have enabled most of them. But surely some of them are not so useful. I just dont have experience to mess with them.

I did add also 'usb over ip' - support. There is one pet in the murga-forum utilizing it: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... d87b9cc3d7
It was fun to test it when rcrsn51 created it. It is also one of the few which have kernel source userspace binary components included. Anyway...it is for single-user usb sharing over ip. ....dont print with other computer attached usb printer with it though. Use Cups printer sharing for that one.
Attachments
DOTconfig-pemasu-3.8.gz
(27.9 KiB) Downloaded 229 times
Last edited by pemasu on Sun 24 Feb 2013, 08:12, edited 5 times in total.

Sage
Posts: 5536
Joined: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 08:34
Location: GB

#230 Post by Sage »

bright yellow on black
Back in 1980, Alan Sugar took best advice on readability, resolution & co. on cga monitors from the world's clinical and optical experts for his upcoming CPC range (Arnold/Joyce were green-screen). All answers came back to him: yellow text on royal blue background. It works for everyone, colour-blind, partially sighted, in bright light, you-name-it.

Still a good combo for troublesome card-monitor-OS systems.

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#231 Post by pemasu »

I forgot to add. Aufs-3.8 standalone is not there yet. I suppose it would be good idea to use aufs-3.8 when it is ready.

http://aufs.git.sourceforge.net/git/git ... ;a=summary
sfjro | 7 Jan 2013 03:58
Picon
aufs3 GIT release

o news
- a new branch aufs3.7 is created, and supporting for linux-3.8-rcN
started.

o TODO (in short term)
- test aufs3.x-rcN ( for linux-3.8 ), particulary around NFSD.
- investigate trunc_xino.

J. R. Okajima

mchabez
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu 21 Feb 2013, 13:01

#232 Post by mchabez »

BarryK wrote:
mchabez wrote:
Hi everyone, I found another debdb2pupdb bug. It's in 5.4.3, I have to check yet in the 5.5beta.
Some Ubuntu packages have weird dependencies like "udev(>=", "libx11-6(>>" and so on. The root cause is that in the Ubuntu package databases, in the package dependency data, sometimes the dependent package name and version requirement has no space between them.

To check which packages are affected, run this command:
Code:

grep -e "|+.*(.*|" ~/.packages/Packages-ubuntu-*

Edit: Latest Woof as of 21th Feb 2013 also has this bug.
Cross-posting this from the 5.4.3 thread, 5.5beta has this bug, too.
I have hunted through all of the 'precise' and 'precise-updates' pkg database files, and none of them have this problem.

Every db entry has a space between package name and version requirement, also between version operator and version, ex:

udev (>= 2.3

If there are some rogue debs out there with this problem, then the developers should be contacted. It does not affect Woof or the PPM.
If the bug is not in the Ubuntu repos, then the bug is in debdb2pupdb parser. In the latest Woof (24 Feb 2013), I was getting faulty database entries like this from the ubuntu-precise-main repo:
fbset_2.1-25|fbset|2.1-25||Setup|360K|pool/main/f/fbset|fbset_2.1-25_i386.deb|+libc6&ge2.3.4,+udev(>=|framebuffer device maintenance program|ubuntu|precise|
glance_2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf|glance|2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf|0ubuntu1.3|BuildingBlock|31K|pool/main/g/glance|glance_2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf-0ubuntu1.3_all.deb|+python-glance&eq2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf,+python-routes,+python-eventlet,+python-migrate,+python-sqlalchemy-ext(<<,+python-crypto,+python-xattr,+glance-api&eq2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf,+glance-registry&eq2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf,+ca-certificates,+adduser|OpenStack Image Registry and Delivery Service - Daemons|ubuntu|precise|
glance-common_2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf|glance-common|2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf|0ubuntu1.3|BuildingBlock|87K|pool/main/g/glance|glance-common_2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf-0ubuntu1.3_all.deb|+python,+python-eventlet,+python-glance&eq2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf,+python-migrate,+python-routes,+python-sqlalchemy-ext(<<,+python-xattr,+adduser|OpenStack Image Registry and Delivery Service - Common|ubuntu|precise|
libplrpc-perl_0.2020-2|libplrpc-perl|0.2020-2||BuildingBlock|152K|pool/main/libp/libplrpc-perl|libplrpc-perl_0.2020-2_all.deb|+perl&ge5.6.0-16,+libstorable-perl(>=,+libnet-daemon-perl|Perl extensions for writing PlRPC servers and clients|ubuntu|precise|
mythes-ca_3.3.0|mythes-ca|3.3.0|2ubuntu3|BuildingBlock|812K|pool/main/o/openoffice.org-dictionaries|mythes-ca_3.3.0-2ubuntu3_all.deb|+libreoffice-core(>=,+dictionaries-common&ge0.10|Catalan Thesaurus for LibreOffice/OpenOffice.org|ubuntu|precise|
.
. #omitting the rest...
.
I bolded the problematic areas.

There are 80 faulty entries just in the Packages-ubuntu-precise-main file.

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#233 Post by BarryK »

mchabez wrote:
BarryK wrote:
mchabez wrote: Cross-posting this from the 5.4.3 thread, 5.5beta has this bug, too.
I have hunted through all of the 'precise' and 'precise-updates' pkg database files, and none of them have this problem.

Every db entry has a space between package name and version requirement, also between version operator and version, ex:

udev (>= 2.3

If there are some rogue debs out there with this problem, then the developers should be contacted. It does not affect Woof or the PPM.
If the bug is not in the Ubuntu repos, then the bug is in debdb2pupdb parser. In the latest Woof (24 Feb 2013), I was getting faulty database entries like this from the ubuntu-precise-main repo:
fbset_2.1-25|fbset|2.1-25||Setup|360K|pool/main/f/fbset|fbset_2.1-25_i386.deb|+libc6&ge2.3.4,+udev(>=|framebuffer device maintenance program|ubuntu|precise|
glance_2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf|glance|2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf|0ubuntu1.3|BuildingBlock|31K|pool/main/g/glance|glance_2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf-0ubuntu1.3_all.deb|+python-glance&eq2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf,+python-routes,+python-eventlet,+python-migrate,+python-sqlalchemy-ext(<<,+python-crypto,+python-xattr,+glance-api&eq2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf,+glance-registry&eq2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf,+ca-certificates,+adduser|OpenStack Image Registry and Delivery Service - Daemons|ubuntu|precise|
glance-common_2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf|glance-common|2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf|0ubuntu1.3|BuildingBlock|87K|pool/main/g/glance|glance-common_2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf-0ubuntu1.3_all.deb|+python,+python-eventlet,+python-glance&eq2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf,+python-migrate,+python-routes,+python-sqlalchemy-ext(<<,+python-xattr,+adduser|OpenStack Image Registry and Delivery Service - Common|ubuntu|precise|
libplrpc-perl_0.2020-2|libplrpc-perl|0.2020-2||BuildingBlock|152K|pool/main/libp/libplrpc-perl|libplrpc-perl_0.2020-2_all.deb|+perl&ge5.6.0-16,+libstorable-perl(>=,+libnet-daemon-perl|Perl extensions for writing PlRPC servers and clients|ubuntu|precise|
mythes-ca_3.3.0|mythes-ca|3.3.0|2ubuntu3|BuildingBlock|812K|pool/main/o/openoffice.org-dictionaries|mythes-ca_3.3.0-2ubuntu3_all.deb|+libreoffice-core(>=,+dictionaries-common&ge0.10|Catalan Thesaurus for LibreOffice/OpenOffice.org|ubuntu|precise|
.
. #omitting the rest...
.
I bolded the problematic areas.

There are 80 faulty entries just in the Packages-ubuntu-precise-main file.
Thanks for that info, I understand the problem now.

I will have a go at fixing it in debdb2pupdb.

A problem is that the original deps have "|" which is an "or" operator, but I have not yet implemented that in the Puppy pkg db format. I do plan to one day.

For now, just have to choose one of the options, the first before the "|".

The original deps line for fbset:

Code: Select all

Depends: libc6 (>= 2.3.4), udev | makedev (>= 2.3.1-24)
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
Jejy69
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu 20 Jan 2011, 18:10
Location: Perpignan

#234 Post by Jejy69 »

Hello,

I haven't many issues with this kernel 3.8.
So, I build Kde 4.10 for Puppy Precise 5.4, 5.5, available here.
I hope this will be appreciated.

Cheers,
I'm Commander Shepard and this is my favorite Linux distrbution on the Citadel.

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#235 Post by bigpup »

BarryK,

Are you doing anything with Precise to address booting with secure boot that is used in newer computers that use UEFI?
This is what Fatdog is doing.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/fa ... -boot.html
http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/fa ... drive.html
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
dennis-slacko531
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed 18 Jan 2012, 21:53
Location: Oregon
Contact:

I can offer some bandwidth

#236 Post by dennis-slacko531 »

I read Barry's mention that he wouldn't mind some hosting help from users. I've only uploaded one 46M delta listed below (plus md5sums text). I haven't figured out how to let the user view and pick files, but until I do, you're welcome to follow these two links at my Godaddy account.
EDIT: SeaMonkey made It easy to correct the html, so now it's just...
http://www.beok.com/lnux

I'm removing the (my name is) [url] tags below.
http://www.beok.com/lnux/precise-5.4.3. ... .iso.delta
http://www.beok.com/lnux/md5sums.txt

I'll (still) monitor this posting for suggestions to improve my limited offering. :oops:
Last edited by dennis-slacko531 on Wed 27 Feb 2013, 01:30, edited 1 time in total.

zygo
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat 08 Apr 2006, 20:15
Location: UK

Puppy can't fully change between my 2 network IFs - FIXED

#237 Post by zygo »

Rerwin, BK,

Thanks for adding Frisbee

Live CD PP5.4.92

I can get fully on the internet with a cdc_ether 3g usb dongle using SNS. I can unplug it and replug it later and all is well.

I have occasionsal access to a truely wired network through a router and PCI nework card. (DHCP is disabled. ) But if I try to get on the internet with either Frisbee or Dougal's thing I don't get a DNS service despite the correct DNS numbers being in /etc/ppp/resolve.conf. If I have names and numbers in /etc/hosts then they work.

** Edit: I was too hasty. Interface swapping is fixed in PP5.4.92. While flayling around I blocked UDP on my firewall. **

This was also the case in the previous PP except I didn't try Frisbee.

Additionally:
- selecting disconnect from the network tray applet doesn't change the icon nor disconnect. I tend to unplug to disconnect the usb NIC which is reflected in the icon.

- I notice that this PP5.4.92 automatically tries to connect when it finds an interface. Can a switch be added to stop this automation please.

- Frisbee's interfaces tab lacks a connect button.

On the plus side Frisbee remembers the settings for next time. While Dougal's gives a false error about subnet mask mismatching network type to which I have to click ok to get online. Then it offers to remember but forgets some settings.

Oh and of course if I boot and use only the truely wired network it fully connects. And reconnects.
Last edited by zygo on Wed 27 Feb 2013, 01:38, edited 1 time in total.

zygo
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat 08 Apr 2006, 20:15
Location: UK

#238 Post by zygo »

For some reason the forum wont let me edit my previous post.

Also (after trying the truely wired NIC) a click of the network tray icon causes only the IP info window to open regardles of what is selected in the internet conection wizard. A purple splash says to right click for the network menu but that has missing items now.

User avatar
rerwin
Posts: 2017
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 22:50
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Puppy can't fully change between my 2 network interfaces

#239 Post by rerwin »

zygo,
Thanks for your report on frisbee and network_tray.
zygo wrote:Live CD PP5.4.92
I can get fully on the internet with a cdc_ether 3g usb dongle using SNS. I can unplug it and replug it later and all is well.
This confuses me. A 3G dongle should be used with pupdial to connect to a data service. How does SNS get involved? Or am I just behind the times.
I have occasionsal access to a truely wired network through a router and PCI nework card. (DHCP is disabled. ) But if I try to get on the internet with either Frisbee or Dougal's thing I don't get a DNS service despite the correct DNS numbers being in /etc/ppp/resolve.conf. If I have names and numbers in /etc/hosts then they work. This was also the case in the previous PP except I didn't try Frisbee.
This is not something I am knowledgeable enough to address and would seem to be outside of frisbee, which is my focus these days.
Additionally:
- selecting disconnect from the network tray applet doesn't change the icon nor disconnect. I tend to unplug to disconnect the usb NIC which is reflected in the icon.
Which was the last network manager you used before selecting 'disconnect'? Oh, if you see 'disconnect', it must have been SNS or NetWiz. That's enough info.
- I notice that this PP5.4.92 automatically tries to connect when it finds an interface. Can a switch be added to stop this automation please.
I, too, am concerned that this behavior might be too much. I notice that when I disable wireless in frisbee and then reboot, the wireless network is automatically reconnected. I am open to ideas on how to control this.
- Frisbee's interfaces tab lacks a connect button.
I find that if I click 'Restart DHCP' the wired network is found. But your situation may be different from mine. I am uncomfortable with the label on that button, but wanted to minimize changes to the original "beta" Frisbees to be sure I didn't introduce problems. But I am open to recommendations on this, as well.
Also (after trying the truely wired NIC) a click of the network tray icon causes only the IP info window to open regardles of what is selected in the internet conection wizard. A purple splash says to right click for the network menu but that has missing items now.
I see that contradictory behavior, but still have 3 items in the right-click menu. Again, which was the last network manager you used before that? (I am running with frisbee.) I need to avoid the concurrent ipinfo display if the user is expected to right-click to get it.

To avoid hijacking this thread, can we continue the frisbee and network_tray parts of this dialog in the "Frisbee beta 2" thread?
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... &start=180
Richard

gcmartin

#240 Post by gcmartin »

Hi @Zygo
Questions
  • What PC/laptop are you using?
  • Is your cell ability a USB from your Cell-phone vendor?
  • Is your LAN card a USB device or is it on the PC's motherboard?
  • Now that Barry has re-released both WARY and RACY using lots of new stuff in Woof to build them, could you restart your installation?
The symptoms may have changed a bit..

Oh, your LAN to internet routing issues may be related to the combination of devices active for internet connectivity at the same time. This, has been seen in other PUPs, as well. The problem differs from PUP to PUP and from the combination of LAN and Internet related devices active, not to mention, the activation timing. All in all, the DNS feature can get confused.

Here to help

Post Reply