Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 18:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.5 Release Candidate
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 16 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 20:58    Post subject:  

mchabez wrote:
Quote:
Hi everyone, I found another debdb2pupdb bug. It's in 5.4.3, I have to check yet in the 5.5beta.
Some Ubuntu packages have weird dependencies like "udev(>=", "libx11-6(>>" and so on. The root cause is that in the Ubuntu package databases, in the package dependency data, sometimes the dependent package name and version requirement has no space between them.

To check which packages are affected, run this command:
Code:

grep -e "|+.*(.*|" ~/.packages/Packages-ubuntu-*

Edit: Latest Woof as of 21th Feb 2013 also has this bug.

Cross-posting this from the 5.4.3 thread, 5.5beta has this bug, too.


I have hunted through all of the 'precise' and 'precise-updates' pkg database files, and none of them have this problem.

Every db entry has a space between package name and version requirement, also between version operator and version, ex:

udev (>= 2.3

If there are some rogue debs out there with this problem, then the developers should be contacted. It does not affect Woof or the PPM.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tater


Joined: 29 May 2010
Posts: 32
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 21:25    Post subject:  

@rcrsn51

I have tried all of your codes in YASSM and still no connection to my Samba shares.

I booted puppy pfix=ram in various puppy distros and running Pnethood.

1) lupu 528.005 connected yes
2) precise 5.4.93 connected no
3) puppy 431 connected no
4) puppy 214X connected yes
5) slacko 5.4 connected no

I've also looked at the logs and I can't see why I'm not connecting to my samba shares.

Every thing else in precise 5.4.93 seems great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9126
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2013, 21:45    Post subject:  

@tater: That's too bad. But it sounds to me like you have a different problem than the kernel 3.8 - Samba-TNG issue.

For example, Slacko 5.4 works fine with Samba-TNG without requiring a sec= option.

Run dmesg. Are there any error codes from CIFS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2013, 03:19    Post subject:  

Quote:
pemasu,
Would you mind sending me your .config file?

I'll do another compile of the 3.8.0 kernel.


Sorry that I didnt post it earlier.
Here is it is in attachment. I added those missing multimedia - dvb drivers. Especially support for analog TV is important. The name is misleading. That support creates ivtv driver and also enables several hybrid analog-digital dvb tuner sticks to work ( like mine )
I fixed the brcmsmac support and unticked that overlapping support so that the wireless chip is not recognized by B43 driver. If brcmsmac has been included, that option should be unticked.
I removed poulsbo stub driver ie poulsbo.ko.
Couple of new or missing drivers were added elsewhere, like new staging crs wlan driver....there are posts asking it in the aether. I believe it will need firmware to work.

I confess....I did add samba new SMB2 support in the cifs section. I have used it in my kernels, like 3.6.2 and 3.7.2 and it has not done harm.

Only section which is quite obscure for me is under multimedia: encoders, decoders, sensors and other helper chips. It has decoder modules which are needed and useful like for Hauppage chips and TV watching, but some support are for boards with incorporated chips I am not familiar with.

Also I was afraid that some modules probably have dependency to that section. So....I have enabled most of them. But surely some of them are not so useful. I just dont have experience to mess with them.

I did add also 'usb over ip' - support. There is one pet in the murga-forum utilizing it: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=81656&sid=c5e3a33dfd3dfaf6baef67d87b9cc3d7
It was fun to test it when rcrsn51 created it. It is also one of the few which have kernel source userspace binary components included. Anyway...it is for single-user usb sharing over ip. ....dont print with other computer attached usb printer with it though. Use Cups printer sharing for that one.
DOTconfig-pemasu-3.8.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  DOTconfig-pemasu-3.8.gz 
Filesize  27.9 KB 
Downloaded  85 Time(s) 

Last edited by pemasu on Sun 24 Feb 2013, 04:12; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2013, 03:46    Post subject:  

Quote:
bright yellow on black

Back in 1980, Alan Sugar took best advice on readability, resolution & co. on cga monitors from the world's clinical and optical experts for his upcoming CPC range (Arnold/Joyce were green-screen). All answers came back to him: yellow text on royal blue background. It works for everyone, colour-blind, partially sighted, in bright light, you-name-it.

Still a good combo for troublesome card-monitor-OS systems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2013, 04:30    Post subject:  

I forgot to add. Aufs-3.8 standalone is not there yet. I suppose it would be good idea to use aufs-3.8 when it is ready.

http://aufs.git.sourceforge.net/git/gitweb.cgi?p=aufs/aufs3-standalone.git;a=summary
Quote:
sfjro | 7 Jan 2013 03:58
Picon
aufs3 GIT release

o news
- a new branch aufs3.7 is created, and supporting for linux-3.8-rcN
started.

o TODO (in short term)
- test aufs3.x-rcN ( for linux-3.8 ), particulary around NFSD.
- investigate trunc_xino.

J. R. Okajima
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mchabez

Joined: 21 Feb 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2013, 11:03    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
mchabez wrote:
Quote:
Hi everyone, I found another debdb2pupdb bug. It's in 5.4.3, I have to check yet in the 5.5beta.
Some Ubuntu packages have weird dependencies like "udev(>=", "libx11-6(>>" and so on. The root cause is that in the Ubuntu package databases, in the package dependency data, sometimes the dependent package name and version requirement has no space between them.

To check which packages are affected, run this command:
Code:

grep -e "|+.*(.*|" ~/.packages/Packages-ubuntu-*

Edit: Latest Woof as of 21th Feb 2013 also has this bug.

Cross-posting this from the 5.4.3 thread, 5.5beta has this bug, too.


I have hunted through all of the 'precise' and 'precise-updates' pkg database files, and none of them have this problem.

Every db entry has a space between package name and version requirement, also between version operator and version, ex:

udev (>= 2.3

If there are some rogue debs out there with this problem, then the developers should be contacted. It does not affect Woof or the PPM.


If the bug is not in the Ubuntu repos, then the bug is in debdb2pupdb parser. In the latest Woof (24 Feb 2013), I was getting faulty database entries like this from the ubuntu-precise-main repo:
Quote:

fbset_2.1-25|fbset|2.1-25||Setup|360K|pool/main/f/fbset|fbset_2.1-25_i386.deb|+libc6&ge2.3.4,+udev(>=|framebuffer device maintenance program|ubuntu|precise|
glance_2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf|glance|2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf|0ubuntu1.3|BuildingBlock|31K|pool/main/g/glance|glance_2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf-0ubuntu1.3_all.deb|+python-glance&eq2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf,+python-routes,+python-eventlet,+python-migrate,+python-sqlalchemy-ext(<<,+python-crypto,+python-xattr,+glance-api&eq2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf,+glance-registry&eq2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf,+ca-certificates,+adduser|OpenStack Image Registry and Delivery Service - Daemons|ubuntu|precise|
glance-common_2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf|glance-common|2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf|0ubuntu1.3|BuildingBlock|87K|pool/main/g/glance|glance-common_2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf-0ubuntu1.3_all.deb|+python,+python-eventlet,+python-glance&eq2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf,+python-migrate,+python-routes,+python-sqlalchemy-ext(<<,+python-xattr,+adduser|OpenStack Image Registry and Delivery Service - Common|ubuntu|precise|
libplrpc-perl_0.2020-2|libplrpc-perl|0.2020-2||BuildingBlock|152K|pool/main/libp/libplrpc-perl|libplrpc-perl_0.2020-2_all.deb|+perl&ge5.6.0-16,+libstorable-perl(>=,+libnet-daemon-perl|Perl extensions for writing PlRPC servers and clients|ubuntu|precise|
mythes-ca_3.3.0|mythes-ca|3.3.0|2ubuntu3|BuildingBlock|812K|pool/main/o/openoffice.org-dictionaries|mythes-ca_3.3.0-2ubuntu3_all.deb|+libreoffice-core(>=,+dictionaries-common&ge0.10|Catalan Thesaurus for LibreOffice/OpenOffice.org|ubuntu|precise|
.
. #omitting the rest...
.


I bolded the problematic areas.

There are 80 faulty entries just in the Packages-ubuntu-precise-main file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 07:10    Post subject:  

mchabez wrote:
BarryK wrote:
mchabez wrote:
Quote:
Hi everyone, I found another debdb2pupdb bug. It's in 5.4.3, I have to check yet in the 5.5beta.
Some Ubuntu packages have weird dependencies like "udev(>=", "libx11-6(>>" and so on. The root cause is that in the Ubuntu package databases, in the package dependency data, sometimes the dependent package name and version requirement has no space between them.

To check which packages are affected, run this command:
Code:

grep -e "|+.*(.*|" ~/.packages/Packages-ubuntu-*

Edit: Latest Woof as of 21th Feb 2013 also has this bug.

Cross-posting this from the 5.4.3 thread, 5.5beta has this bug, too.


I have hunted through all of the 'precise' and 'precise-updates' pkg database files, and none of them have this problem.

Every db entry has a space between package name and version requirement, also between version operator and version, ex:

udev (>= 2.3

If there are some rogue debs out there with this problem, then the developers should be contacted. It does not affect Woof or the PPM.


If the bug is not in the Ubuntu repos, then the bug is in debdb2pupdb parser. In the latest Woof (24 Feb 2013), I was getting faulty database entries like this from the ubuntu-precise-main repo:
Quote:

fbset_2.1-25|fbset|2.1-25||Setup|360K|pool/main/f/fbset|fbset_2.1-25_i386.deb|+libc6&ge2.3.4,+udev(>=|framebuffer device maintenance program|ubuntu|precise|
glance_2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf|glance|2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf|0ubuntu1.3|BuildingBlock|31K|pool/main/g/glance|glance_2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf-0ubuntu1.3_all.deb|+python-glance&eq2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf,+python-routes,+python-eventlet,+python-migrate,+python-sqlalchemy-ext(<<,+python-crypto,+python-xattr,+glance-api&eq2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf,+glance-registry&eq2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf,+ca-certificates,+adduser|OpenStack Image Registry and Delivery Service - Daemons|ubuntu|precise|
glance-common_2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf|glance-common|2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf|0ubuntu1.3|BuildingBlock|87K|pool/main/g/glance|glance-common_2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf-0ubuntu1.3_all.deb|+python,+python-eventlet,+python-glance&eq2012.1.3+stable~20120821-120fcf,+python-migrate,+python-routes,+python-sqlalchemy-ext(<<,+python-xattr,+adduser|OpenStack Image Registry and Delivery Service - Common|ubuntu|precise|
libplrpc-perl_0.2020-2|libplrpc-perl|0.2020-2||BuildingBlock|152K|pool/main/libp/libplrpc-perl|libplrpc-perl_0.2020-2_all.deb|+perl&ge5.6.0-16,+libstorable-perl(>=,+libnet-daemon-perl|Perl extensions for writing PlRPC servers and clients|ubuntu|precise|
mythes-ca_3.3.0|mythes-ca|3.3.0|2ubuntu3|BuildingBlock|812K|pool/main/o/openoffice.org-dictionaries|mythes-ca_3.3.0-2ubuntu3_all.deb|+libreoffice-core(>=,+dictionaries-common&ge0.10|Catalan Thesaurus for LibreOffice/OpenOffice.org|ubuntu|precise|
.
. #omitting the rest...
.


I bolded the problematic areas.

There are 80 faulty entries just in the Packages-ubuntu-precise-main file.


Thanks for that info, I understand the problem now.

I will have a go at fixing it in debdb2pupdb.

A problem is that the original deps have "|" which is an "or" operator, but I have not yet implemented that in the Puppy pkg db format. I do plan to one day.

For now, just have to choose one of the options, the first before the "|".

The original deps line for fbset:

Code:
Depends: libc6 (>= 2.3.4), udev | makedev (>= 2.3.1-24)

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jejy69


Joined: 20 Jan 2011
Posts: 707
Location: Perpignan

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 12:53    Post subject:  

Hello,

I haven't many issues with this kernel 3.8.
So, I build Kde 4.10 for Puppy Precise 5.4, 5.5, available here.
I hope this will be appreciated.

Cheers,

_________________
I'm Commander Shepard and this is my favorite Linux distrbution on the Citadel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5144
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 17:20    Post subject:  

BarryK,

Are you doing anything with Precise to address booting with secure boot that is used in newer computers that use UEFI?
This is what Fatdog is doing.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/secure-boot.html
http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/uefi-flashdrive.html

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dennis-slacko531


Joined: 18 Jan 2012
Posts: 103
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 21:05    Post subject: I can offer some bandwidth  

I read Barry's mention that he wouldn't mind some hosting help from users. I've only uploaded one 46M delta listed below (plus md5sums text). I haven't figured out how to let the user view and pick files, but until I do, you're welcome to follow these two links at my Godaddy account.
EDIT: SeaMonkey made It easy to correct the html, so now it's just...
http://www.beok.com/lnux

I'm removing the (my name is) [url] tags below.
http://www.beok.com/lnux/precise-5.4.3.iso___precise-5.4.92.iso.delta
http://www.beok.com/lnux/md5sums.txt

I'll (still) monitor this posting for suggestions to improve my limited offering. Embarassed

Last edited by dennis-slacko531 on Tue 26 Feb 2013, 21:30; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 21:08    Post subject: Puppy can't fully change between my 2 network IFs - FIXED  

Rerwin, BK,

Thanks for adding Frisbee

Live CD PP5.4.92

I can get fully on the internet with a cdc_ether 3g usb dongle using SNS. I can unplug it and replug it later and all is well.

I have occasionsal access to a truely wired network through a router and PCI nework card. (DHCP is disabled. ) But if I try to get on the internet with either Frisbee or Dougal's thing I don't get a DNS service despite the correct DNS numbers being in /etc/ppp/resolve.conf. If I have names and numbers in /etc/hosts then they work.

** Edit: I was too hasty. Interface swapping is fixed in PP5.4.92. While flayling around I blocked UDP on my firewall. **

This was also the case in the previous PP except I didn't try Frisbee.

Additionally:
- selecting disconnect from the network tray applet doesn't change the icon nor disconnect. I tend to unplug to disconnect the usb NIC which is reflected in the icon.

- I notice that this PP5.4.92 automatically tries to connect when it finds an interface. Can a switch be added to stop this automation please.

- Frisbee's interfaces tab lacks a connect button.

On the plus side Frisbee remembers the settings for next time. While Dougal's gives a false error about subnet mask mismatching network type to which I have to click ok to get online. Then it offers to remember but forgets some settings.

Oh and of course if I boot and use only the truely wired network it fully connects. And reconnects.

Last edited by zygo on Tue 26 Feb 2013, 21:38; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 21:30    Post subject:  

For some reason the forum wont let me edit my previous post.

Also (after trying the truely wired NIC) a click of the network tray icon causes only the IP info window to open regardles of what is selected in the internet conection wizard. A purple splash says to right click for the network menu but that has missing items now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1515
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 12:25    Post subject: Re: Puppy can't fully change between my 2 network interfaces  

zygo,
Thanks for your report on frisbee and network_tray.
zygo wrote:
Live CD PP5.4.92
I can get fully on the internet with a cdc_ether 3g usb dongle using SNS. I can unplug it and replug it later and all is well.
This confuses me. A 3G dongle should be used with pupdial to connect to a data service. How does SNS get involved? Or am I just behind the times.

Quote:
I have occasionsal access to a truely wired network through a router and PCI nework card. (DHCP is disabled. ) But if I try to get on the internet with either Frisbee or Dougal's thing I don't get a DNS service despite the correct DNS numbers being in /etc/ppp/resolve.conf. If I have names and numbers in /etc/hosts then they work. This was also the case in the previous PP except I didn't try Frisbee.
This is not something I am knowledgeable enough to address and would seem to be outside of frisbee, which is my focus these days.

Quote:
Additionally:
- selecting disconnect from the network tray applet doesn't change the icon nor disconnect. I tend to unplug to disconnect the usb NIC which is reflected in the icon.
Which was the last network manager you used before selecting 'disconnect'? Oh, if you see 'disconnect', it must have been SNS or NetWiz. That's enough info.

Quote:
- I notice that this PP5.4.92 automatically tries to connect when it finds an interface. Can a switch be added to stop this automation please.
I, too, am concerned that this behavior might be too much. I notice that when I disable wireless in frisbee and then reboot, the wireless network is automatically reconnected. I am open to ideas on how to control this.

Quote:
- Frisbee's interfaces tab lacks a connect button.
I find that if I click 'Restart DHCP' the wired network is found. But your situation may be different from mine. I am uncomfortable with the label on that button, but wanted to minimize changes to the original "beta" Frisbees to be sure I didn't introduce problems. But I am open to recommendations on this, as well.

Quote:
Also (after trying the truely wired NIC) a click of the network tray icon causes only the IP info window to open regardles of what is selected in the internet conection wizard. A purple splash says to right click for the network menu but that has missing items now.
I see that contradictory behavior, but still have 3 items in the right-click menu. Again, which was the last network manager you used before that? (I am running with frisbee.) I need to avoid the concurrent ipinfo display if the user is expected to right-click to get it.

To avoid hijacking this thread, can we continue the frisbee and network_tray parts of this dialog in the "Frisbee beta 2" thread?
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64472&start=180
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 13:41    Post subject:  

Hi @Zygo
Questions
  • What PC/laptop are you using?
  • Is your cell ability a USB from your Cell-phone vendor?
  • Is your LAN card a USB device or is it on the PC's motherboard?

  • Now that Barry has re-released both WARY and RACY using lots of new stuff in Woof to build them, could you restart your installation?
The symptoms may have changed a bit..

Oh, your LAN to internet routing issues may be related to the combination of devices active for internet connectivity at the same time. This, has been seen in other PUPs, as well. The problem differs from PUP to PUP and from the combination of LAN and Internet related devices active, not to mention, the activation timing. All in all, the DNS feature can get confused.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 16 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1468s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0108s) ][ GZIP on ]