Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 23:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
SlackBones x86_64
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 7 [97 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
2byte

Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 357

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2013, 09:32    Post subject:  

You know, it's kind of funny. In an odd sort of way. I installed quite a few apps with gslapt and slapt-get and even compiled a couple from source and built a couple with slack.builds. The lib64 problem didn't show up until I tried to build a new lxpanel.

Go figure.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1876
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 09:07    Post subject:  

Problem acknowledged. Fix is coming.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
2byte

Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 357

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 15:22    Post subject: desktop fails to load sometimes  

I've been debating with myself on whether not to even mention this, because I'm not sure this isn't a firmware or hardware problem. But since there was a similar report on the Fatdog 6.20 beta thread, well here you go, just in case it's relevant.

Once every 6 or so cold boots I fail to get a desktop and Slackbones leaves me at the command prompt. Then, if I give it the xwin command it boots to a normal desktop. That's all it takes, xwin. This particular box is a circa 2006 1.8 ghz AMD with 512 MB ram and on board radeon 300G. I have installed with gslapt xf86-video-ati and mesa.

xorg.0.log at line 366 when the desktop fails
Code:
 [     9.681] (II) [KMS] drm report modesetting isn't supported.

xorg.0.log at line 366 when the desktop loads
Code:
 [  1165.858] (II) [KMS] Kernel modesetting enabled.


/var/log/messages reports several times, if I get a desktop or not ..
Code:
 Feb 19 09:01:10 slackbone64-d41 daemon.err udevd[2121]: failed to execute '/lib/udev/firmware' 'firmware --firmware=radeon/R300_cp.bin --devpath=/devices/platform/radeon_cp.0/firmware/radeon_cp.0': No such file or directory


The messages and xorg logs are attached.

Regards,
2byte
boot-video-fail.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  boot-video-fail.tar.gz 
Filesize  55.07 KB 
Downloaded  179 Time(s) 

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1046

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 17:05    Post subject: Re: desktop fails to load sometimes  

2byte wrote:
I've been debating with myself on whether not to even mention this, because I'm not sure this isn't a firmware or hardware problem. But since there was a similar report on the Fatdog 6.20 beta thread, well here you go, just in case it's relevant.

Once every 6 or so cold boots I fail to get a desktop and Slackbones leaves me at the command prompt. Then, if I give it the xwin command it boots to a normal desktop. That's all it takes, xwin. This particular box is a circa 2006 1.8 ghz AMD with 512 MB ram and on board radeon 300G. I have installed with gslapt xf86-video-ati and mesa.

xorg.0.log at line 366 when the desktop fails
Code:
 [     9.681] (II) [KMS] drm report modesetting isn't supported.

xorg.0.log at line 366 when the desktop loads
Code:
 [  1165.858] (II) [KMS] Kernel modesetting enabled.


/var/log/messages reports several times, if I get a desktop or not ..
Code:
 Feb 19 09:01:10 slackbone64-d41 daemon.err udevd[2121]: failed to execute '/lib/udev/firmware' 'firmware --firmware=radeon/R300_cp.bin --devpath=/devices/platform/radeon_cp.0/firmware/radeon_cp.0': No such file or directory


The messages and xorg logs are attached.

Regards,
2byte


Slackbones v1.2 will be released by the end of the week. So when that drops, check to see if you get the same result. If you do let us know.
We've just got a few final things to tweak before we put out the next release.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1046

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 14:32    Post subject:  

Slackbones v1.2 released.

Download: http://slackbones.org/isos/v1.2/slackbones-v1.2-x86_64.iso
Mirror: https://sourceforge.net/projects/puppyslackbones/?source=updater
Md5: http://slackbones.org/isos/v1.2/slackbones-v1.2-x86_64.iso.md5
Package list: http://slackbones.org/isos/v1.2/slacklist
Devx Package list: http://slackbones.org/isos/v1.2/slacklist-dev


Updated Kernel used in FatDog 620 Beta thanks to Kirk.
Slackbones v1.2 is UEFI and SecureBoot capable thanks to JamesBond.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
2byte

Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 357

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 10:20    Post subject:  

Hi Guys,

Finally had time to install v1.2 last night. First experience is much better than v1.0. This one boots straight to the desktop with sound and networking, whereas v1.0 required video drivers to be installed to get X working on this old Compaq with on-board radeon 300G.

The devx seems OK too.

Memory usage with a couple of rox windows, geany, and firefox 19 running a blank page is only 127 mb. Excellent!

So far I have installed:
Firefox 19 (installed with Gslapt)
Glade
Geany
BaCon
chtheme & some gtk themes
xarchiver
htop
ob-xdgmenu

All of these (except Firefox, BaCon & ob-xdgmenu) are .txz installed with installpkg and are working well.

Regarding the video problem at boot that I reported earlier; Lupu 5.10 is failing to boot to desktop too so I believe this is likely a failing video chip and not a Slackbones issue.

Regards,
2byte

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1876
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 22:53    Post subject:  

Q5sys wrote:
Slackbones v1.2 is UEFI and SecureBoot capable thanks to JamesBond.
and kirk too Wink
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 997
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 00:16    Post subject:  

slackbones 1.2 from both sites match md5, however on burn I get;

Boot from CD :

ISOLINUX 4.05 0x502ec197 ETCDisonlinux: Image checksum error, sorry...

Boot failed: press any key to retry...

Burn't with both Burnisotocd and Pburn (4 cd's in total) on wary55.

Any ideas?

_________________
Mage2 in final Beta! http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=72565
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1046

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 09:58    Post subject:  

scsijon wrote:
slackbones 1.2 from both sites match md5, however on burn I get;

Boot from CD :

ISOLINUX 4.05 0x502ec197 ETCDisonlinux: Image checksum error, sorry...

Boot failed: press any key to retry...

Burn't with both Burnisotocd and Pburn (4 cd's in total) on wary55.

Any ideas?


That's weird because I get that sometimes as well, but not always. And others havent had that issue since they're reported success with installing v1.2

I'm working on v2 right now, so if you dont mind waiting, just hold out for that.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2052
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 19:58    Post subject:  

Remove -J from iso file setting, was getting same error at 100% of the time in one stress test on a effort doing something else. Just passing that info along..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1046

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 21:21    Post subject:  

Ted Dog wrote:
Remove -J from iso file setting, was getting same error at 100% of the time in one stress test on a effort doing something else. Just passing that info along..


You lost me on that one. Can you explain that one to me a bit more?

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2052
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 21:48    Post subject:  

the -J causes an almost random read error, was able to make a correct iso that always failed with that setting. It's really not needed any more, even MiserySoft no longer forces its use on the rest of the world. Also he should try forcing a slower burn rate with CD's they are very flaky any way. Or move up to dvd or bluray in the next month or so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1046

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 22:04    Post subject:  

Ted Dog wrote:
the -J causes an almost random read error, was able to make a correct iso that always failed with that setting. It's really not needed any more, even MiserySoft no longer forces its use on the rest of the world. Also he should try forcing a slower burn rate with CD's they are very flaky any way. Or move up to dvd or bluray in the next month or so.


gotcha. Well burning a 330mb file onto a DVD is kinda a waste... doing so on a BR might be a crime. Laughing

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2052
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 22:31    Post subject:  

Oh Q you sound like a Ubuntu Linux user, extra space is used for storage in puppy. And my puppy needs a 'big' yard.

Did you see that the new Ubuntu will not even fit into a CD any more. Wink

oh, also that's strike one on DINO... 'crime....'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1046

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 22:44    Post subject:  

Ted Dog wrote:
Oh Q you sound like a Ubuntu Linux user, extra space is used for storage in puppy. And my puppy needs a 'big' yard.

Did you see that the new Ubuntu will not even fit into a CD any more. Wink

oh, also that's strike one on DINO... 'crime....'


Well slackbones is so bare... there's nothing there to even use. So all that storage would go to waste without programs to use it. So its really an 'install' and build release. I dont know if it managed to sneak into v1.2 or not; but in v1, multisession wasn't possible. So you couldnt even save your changes back to the disk, unless you did major tweaking in the live session to make that possible.
The 330mb is due the 130mb devx and the 91mb kernel sources. The actual Slackbones base ISO is 109mb.

Program wise SB is a blank slate... The only gui apps it has by default is rox, a terminal emulator and slaptget. Dillo and gftp are included on the ISO, but aren't installed.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 7 [97 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0808s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0062s) ][ GZIP on ]