Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 13:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Frisbee Network Manager - Beta 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 28 [406 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 26, 27, 28 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 23:03    Post subject:  

Nothing wrong with that. Should work. The older package I got though didn't have them, does your latest? (Guess I'll find out, grabbing now!)

EDIT: No, no links!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1551
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 23:21    Post subject:  

The "hooks" link is already in precise. Could you simply create one in slacko and be done with it? I assume you already make some mods to it; that could be one more.

Or are there other things in the libexec directory, so that you cannot have both the directory and a link to the other? If that is the case, I could check for that situation and create the "99-" links in the pinstall script. Or you could make them for slacko-14.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 23:31    Post subject:  

rerwin wrote:
The "hooks" link is already in precise. Could you simply create one in slacko and be done with it? I assume you already make some mods to it; that could be one more.

Or are there other things in the libexec directory, so that you cannot have both the directory and a link to the other? If that is the case, I could check for that situation and create the "99-" links in the pinstall script. Or you could make them for slacko-14.


Yes.. all the dhcpcd hooks exist for the dhcpcd package in there, the links would need to be individual.

Thanks for understanding, and no, I don't mod frisbee at all, hence the silly bug with svg, only the icon, and only because I don't like Barry's "world " icon.. petty? Yes! Laughing

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1551
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 23:34    Post subject:  

I meant that you modify slacko, so could add the links. But, if you don't want to do that, just tell me and I will update the pinstall script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 23:52    Post subject:  

It's ok, I can add it to my general pinstall that takes care of other stuff. The only concern I have is for retrofitting for slacko-5.4 (and 5.3x) users, unless of course it's no trouble to you.

As I said, by the next slackware it looks like they are moving to the debian path (/lib/dhcpcd) anyway, so just a note for older slacko users would suffice, or a I can post a separate script to take care of it for them and you could link to it. I may even do it at the top of the 5.4 bugs thread.

I know the amount of work you have put into this, especially the icon, and it is very much appreciated. I know blokes like cthisbear will appreciate it because he recommends to everyone to install frisbee.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1551
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 00:05    Post subject:  

Now, I get it! I could not resist working something up for 20130227. I will PM the updated version for you to try. Tell me how it works soon so I can re-upload it for everyone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 00:16    Post subject:  

It didn't attach!.. Please redo PM

EDIT:

Ok, got it now, and works,

Thanks

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 17:55    Post subject:  

...just some feedback,

I have been solely using frisbee on my 3 testers with the latest slacko-5.4.0.5 and no problems. My main box is still using eth1 and the icons are blinking now, so I don't know what fixed it but hey, I'll take it Smile

On my main laptop I have been switching between wlan0 and ppp0 with no problems. The ppp connection is through my mobile phone. I don't have a dialup account to test the icon switching script but I did a lab test on that script and it looks good.

As a feature request, not urgent, I wonder if it's possible to call the frisbee GUI from the tray icon when ppp is disconnected? As said, not a top priority. Too late in the development cycle to risk stability anyway, just a thought for the future.

Judging by the lack of others' feedback there mustn't bee too many problems!

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1904

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 04:33    Post subject:  

Tried frisbee-1.0-20130228 from the noarch repo in Racy 5.5.
Does not appear to work unless you first use another connection tool and connect to a wifi network. Confused
Also when it does work eventually, it goes to full screen mode.(see picture)

I also attach the terminal output where looks like that frisbee has trouble finding wpa components
frisbee_failed.txt.gz
Description  frisbee terminal output (with set -x)
gz

 Download 
Filename  frisbee_failed.txt.gz 
Filesize  4.39 KB 
Downloaded  153 Time(s) 
frisbee.jpg
 Description   frisbee 20130228 on Racy 5.5
 Filesize   27.58 KB
 Viewed   578 Time(s)

frisbee.jpg


_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1552
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 15:58    Post subject: Racy 5.5 problem  

There seems to be something missing from the new Racy 5.5 that stops Frisbee detecting any wifi signals OOB.

As mavrothal mentions above, if another Network Manager like SNS is used first then the wifi signals do also appear in Frisbee.

pdiag output attached.

Cheers
peebee
pdiag-20130303.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pdiag-20130303.tar.gz 
Filesize  120.33 KB 
Downloaded  159 Time(s) 

_________________
LxPup-14.12 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1551
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 23:13    Post subject: New frisbee update for puppies-5.5  

As a result of collaboration by PM with peebee and mavrothal, I have made some further small improvements to frisbee and re-implemented the dhcpcd hooks for notifying the user and network_tray icon, as well as frisbee itself, of changes in the state of the network interfaces.

Because we discovered that some PCs require the "dropwait" feature added to the dhcpcd in precise pup, I am including it in a "kit" tarball for installation to the "5.5" versions of puppies built with the recent versions of woof. Note that the dhcpcd_dropwait package is identical to that in precise 5.5, so it need not be installed to precise pup again from the tarball.

The main mods to frisbee are:
    - The "Enable Wireless" checkbox is now "Connect WiFi Automatically". Previously, that checkbox only indicated the connection state, setting the check mark if a connection existed. It did not control wireless across reboots, as the label might imply. Now, unchecking the box actually prevents the automatic connect at boot-up, as requested by one of the participants in this thread.

    - A new checkbox, "Announce State Changes" lets the user control whether the state-change splash pop-ups appear, per a request I saw a while ago.

    - Some spacing changes now avoid clumping buttons and checkboxes to the right side of the window.

    - To support developers using frisbee as the main/default network manager, I added an install option dialog offering to pre-set frisbee as the default and set flags so that frisbee itself need not be run to start the pop-ups and make the first (ethernet) connection. But it would be needed initially to select a wireless network.


The state-change notification dhcpcd hooks are consolidated into the single file, 99-notify, including the logic of the dhcpcd-hooks script, in a manner similar to that used by the existing hook code-fragment files, probably to execute efficiently.

This catches me up on the to-do list AFAIK, except for upgrading the network_tray-2.6 to better handle multiple active network interfaces. If any further problems/issues arise, please report them here for my attention. I am open to adapting frisbee further to maximize its convenience and usefulness.
Richard
frisbee-1.0_puppy-5.5_kit-20130314.tar.gz
Description  Kit for puppies 5.5 - Precise, Wary, Racy and maybe Slacko (not tested).
Includes frisbee, dhcpcd-dropwait and separate woof_update package
with the notification hook rewrite.
gz

 Download 
Filename  frisbee-1.0_puppy-5.5_kit-20130314.tar.gz 
Filesize  72.76 KB 
Downloaded  177 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1552
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 14:24    Post subject: 5.5_kit test  

Hi Richard

Tested the new version of Frisbee in the 5.5_kit....

On Precise, if I answer "Yes" to the new startup question I get a screen with all buttons greyed out and no wifi signals detected - see screenie attached.

On Precise, Slacko, UpupPrecise3.8.2, Wary5.5 and Racy5.5 if I answer "No" to the new question I get no wifi signals detected until I tick the new "Automatic Wifi Connection" (Which is unticked by default) and a Refresh occurs - manually or by timeout.

Interestingly, the dhcpcd-drop-wait pet is NO LONGER needed in either Wary or Racy with this new Frisbee so maybe doesn't need to be in the kit?

However for both Wary and Racy although a wifi connection is established, the Network Tray does not update and continues to show the red cross.

All of this is tests on pristine frugal pfix=ram installs of each Puppy with no savefile - problems may be different after reboot and savefile creation but this has not been tested.

Cheers
peebee
capture18502.png
 Description   
 Filesize   25.83 KB
 Viewed   431 Time(s)

capture18502.png


_________________
LxPup-14.12 = Puppy + LXDE

Last edited by peebee on Fri 15 Mar 2013, 15:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1904

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 14:44    Post subject:  

Hi Richard,
I tested 5.5 kit in my "problem" machines with Racy and looks good.
In my case the tray icon changes as expected.
I find too that dhcpcd-dropwait is not required (nor the older Jemimah's wpa_suplicant I was using at times with Racy).
I would also agree with peebee that the /etc/frisbee/.wireless_autostart flag should be on by default. Frisbee was established primarily as a WiFi connection manager Wink

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Last edited by mavrothal on Fri 15 Mar 2013, 16:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1551
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 15:38    Post subject: Re: 5.5_kit test  

peebee wrote:
On Precise, if I answer "Yes" to the new startup question I get a screen with all buttons greyed out and no wifi signals detected - see screenie attached.
This is expected because I intended the option to be for developers creating a new ISO. The option makes frisbee mode already on, so that frisbee does not think it needs to start things up. However, I have already addressed this with a simple change in the next version I upload, so that frisbee will know it is the first run after installation.
Quote:
On Precise, Slacko, UpupPrecise3.8.2, Wary5.5 and Racy5.5 if I answer "No" to the new question I get no wifi signals detected until I tick the new "Automatic Wifi Connection" (Which is unticked by default) and a Refresh occurs - manually or by timeout.
My thinking was that a user would initially have to select a network by starting frisbee, so can opt for the automatic connection. So, I am not very concerned about a change from the traditional behavior immediately after installation. I want the user to be in control of connections, so do not want frisbee to just "take over". Although this is different from the betas, I think it s more conservative and less intrustive. Although Frisbee was considered a wifi manager, I am positioning frisbee-1.0 as a complete network manager capable of someday replacing the network wizard.
Quote:
Interestingly, the dhcpcd-drop-wait pet is NO LONGER needed with this new Frisbee so maybe doesn't need to be in the kit?
That is probably because I added part of mavrothal's patch suggestion, increasing the time before "giving up" on being able to connect, from 45 seconds to a minute. So, fewer machines now require dropwait, although it is valuable for weak connections. I will keep it in the kit as an option, for best performance.
Quote:
However for both Wary and Racy although a wifi connection is established, the Network Tray does not update and continues to show the red cross.
That concerns me! I will investigate that. To help me along, could you PM me a pdiag file from frisbee at the point where you see this. Thanks.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1552
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 16:01    Post subject: Re: 5.5_kit test  

rerwin wrote:
I think it s more conservative and less intrustive. Although Frisbee was considered a wifi manager, I am positioning frisbee-1.0 as a complete network manager capable of someday replacing the network wizard.

That concerns me! I will investigate that. To help me along, could you PM me a pdiag file from frisbee at the point where you see this. Thanks.
Richard


Hi Richard

I think the new way is so counter-intuitive that it will confuse people...

It is not obvious that ticking that box will make Frisbee spring into life - not to me anyway.

Similarly with the new startup box - most users won't know whether to say Yes or No - suggest No is made the default and words added to say say No unless....

Will PM you the pdiag shortly.

Cheers
Peter

_________________
LxPup-14.12 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 28 [406 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 26, 27, 28 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1030s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0111s) ][ GZIP on ]