Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 03:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Precise NOP 5.4.3
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 5 [62 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1143

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jan 2013, 14:15    Post subject:  

Welcome to the second generation of Puppy Derivatives! Very Happy
You have released a derivative based on a Puppy version made from the latest Woof2, that means non-English speakers will be able to use your derivative thanks to the official language packs available for Puppy, which at the moment are: French, German, Polish, Russian, and Spanish. Here you can read some documentation on how translations are made. Usually translators know how to adapt the langpacks for compatibility with Woof2 Puppy derivatives, but you can also help by telling what files or programs need translations.

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gray


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 313
Location: Adelaide - South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 02:04    Post subject: update to v5.4.3  

See main post - bug fixes since SP 5.4.1.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 10:12    Post subject: Re: update to v5.4.3  

gray wrote:
See main post - bug fixes since SP 5.4.1.1


Thank you, grey,

This must be one of the slickest upgrades yet. I simply upgraded my current precisesave file. A quick first look seems to indicate most everything works as before.

Henry
Screen: http://www.henrystrobel.com/linux.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gilloraymondo

Joined: 03 Dec 2011
Posts: 257

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jan 2013, 10:56    Post subject:  

Hi
This Precise NOP 543 is simply wonderful !!!!

Everything is running fine.

Just 2 problems. The first one is already solved :
With Opera, I've problems with youtube.
Well, this isn't important. I've dowloaded firefox, and add a add on I like.
It should be better the to remove opera, but may be it isn't possible...

But with the second problem, I can't find how to do to solve it :

On toutou linux (french puppy version) or on Lucid Puppy, I can install amsn (an old version, but which works fine, is on a toutou linux repository).
But amsn cannot be found in the Precise NOP 542 repositories

And for some reasons, they are some usefuls things just like amsn or skype which are not on the ubuntu repositories, but they are on the "medibuntu" repository and it's very easy, with ubuntu, to add the "medibuntu" repository, opening a shell terminal.
But with Precise NOP 542, sudo apt-get don't work and I don't know what to write.
Somebody can help me ?
Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Fishy

Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 14:26    Post subject: Python?
Subject description: Calibre Ebook Manager Install
 

Having problems with my installation of calibre not finding python. Pfind shows python 2.7 in /usr/lib but calibre which usually installs in /opt can't find it. Do I have to install a link? Confused

Really like the minimalist approach. Very Happy

Frugal Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2013, 14:41    Post subject: The future for Nop
Subject description: Following Precise 5.5?
 

Precise NOP 5.4.3 is the best, and gray has so far successfully kept up with the best of Precise Puppy.

I guess he will keep an eye on 5.5 developments, avoiding bloat and keeping the essential benefits of Xfce.

BTW I tried Precise-5.5 (actually 5.4.9 alpha) on my regular PreciseNop save file and it upgraded easily, with everything (I think), including LibreOffice working, except that the menus and desktop were all different and it wouldn't shut down. I wouldn't go through that again without a very good reason. But in future some improvements might be gleaned from it.

At present I see nothing with PreciseNop-5.4.3.

Henry

Last edited by Henry on Tue 12 Feb 2013, 17:03; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bwh1969

Joined: 25 Oct 2010
Posts: 132
Location: Allentown, PA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2013, 19:23    Post subject: ACPI at least lid close?  

I got an acpi package from somewhere. If I run the /etc/acpi/suspend.sh the machine (asus eeepc-1201T) suspends and wakes; however, acpi is not "running."

Code:
sh-3.00# /etc/init.d/rc.acpi start
ACPI seems to be supported but not enabled in kernel,
try using acpi=force on next reboot.


and that line is added to my grub now and I still do not see it starting so "events" are not happening.

Ideas? Lid close to suspend on a laptop is kind of nice:-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 368
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2013, 21:24    Post subject: panel transparency  

Henry wrote:

Quote:
Thank you, grey,

This must be one of the slickest upgrades yet. I simply upgraded my current precisesave file. A quick first look seems to indicate most everything works as before.


Thanks here also, grey,

Smooth as butter frugal install to my rather ancient athlon box with a stinky nvidia video card. Gave away my only PAE laptop so I can't test on my laptops for suspend etc. The ONLY thing I haven't got working is transparency of the panel. Compositor on and working but setting alpha for full transparency for the panel gives a black background, not the wallpaper. Lina with xfce4.10 on this machine gives correct transparency for the panel. Should be pretty much apples to apples. If you have the compositor on, can you get a transparent panel? It's great to have a current precise wrapped lovingly in Xfce/thunar/opera!

_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy X-slacko 2.2.1n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.14.20 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2013, 16:56    Post subject: Minor package manager problem SOLVED
Subject description: "More info" doesn't work. No, it was a missing file.
 

EDIT - SOLVED: The package manager uses
Code:
/usr/local/bin/defaulthtmlviewer
to fetch the "More Info." This file had somehow got deleted. I ran
Code:
pfix=ram
and copied it back. Kind of embarrassing.
Last edited by Henry on Sat 30 Mar 2013, 16:36; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
amerigo

Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 02:21    Post subject: panel transparency  

/etc/profile
#v2.10 MU: rox crashes with DRI modules. solution:
#export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 13:49    Post subject: PreciseNOP package manager EDIT - SOLVED
Subject description: No problem
 

error, removed
Last edited by Henry on Sat 30 Mar 2013, 17:05; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Mar 2013, 15:46    Post subject: Reflections on the NOPS
Subject description: My longtime user experience
 

I have used a series of Nops from the beginning, and have tried all the Nops to make sure I was using the best at any given time. In more recent years I have used serially QuirkyNop, RacyNop, and PreciseNop in my mission-critical business computing. See http://www.henrystrobel.com/linux.htm These of course have all been heavily reconfigured for my own use.

Of these QuirkyNop was very good. RacyNop 5.2.2 had bugs (from the Racy component, described previously) and mostly eventually fixed in ozsouth's excellent hybrid, RacyNop-5.3.2. PreciseNop-5.4.3 finally emerged as the best, the leader of the pack. Interesting is cthisbear's video on the parent Precise-5.4.3 where nearly every word is "best" or "amazing." http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OUhO76RihP8

Barry is now onto Precise-5.5, and we can hope that gray will eventually adopt improvements from that. I can hardly imagine what they might be - except perhaps in the package manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 592
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Fri 08 Mar 2013, 00:45    Post subject:  

I'm really liking this release, thanks.

I'm trying to get a drive to automount at boot but as soon as an entry is put into fstab, the drive disappears from thunar. I'm not sure if this is a precise issue or an xfce one. Any help is much appreciated.

And just so you know, a few packages such as opera and pudd don't have an entry in root/.packages/builtin_files so they have to be manually removed.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1472
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 08 Mar 2013, 05:34    Post subject:  

Fixed problem with the panel having a black background when using transparency.

bummer I should have read the previous posts, oh well you get that..

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 592
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2013, 07:06    Post subject:  

rg66 wrote:
I'm trying to get a drive to automount at boot but as soon as an entry is put into fstab, the drive disappears from thunar. I'm not sure if this is a precise issue or an xfce one. Any help is much appreciated.


Fixed with a startup script, mount -a worked and put the entry in mstab.

rg66 wrote:
And just so you know, a few packages such as opera and pudd don't have an entry in root/.packages/builtin_files so they have to be manually removed.


I did a remaster and none of the user installed package entries were put into builtin_files. Also, all of the removed packages were added back to builtin_files. Had to sort it out manually, sounds like a dodgy remaster script.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 5 [62 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0911s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]