Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 00:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking
How to find all PCs in the LAN? (Solved)
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 781
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 16:29    Post_subject:  How to find all PCs in the LAN? (Solved)  

hi,

i wand find all ips of all PCs in the LAN (windows and Puppy-PCs).
how can i do that?
lameSMBxplorer will not work because gtkdialog.
is there a other way?

Edit:
-------------------------------------------------------
The script "check_ip.tar.gz" from voychik works perfectly!
Thank you very much!



Greetings

Wolfgang

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 16:58    Post_subject: Re: find all pcs in the lan
Sub_title: how ca i find all pcs in a lan
 

der-schutzhund wrote:
i wand find all ips of all PCs in the LAN (windows and Puppy-PCs).how can i do that?

You can only "see" machines that are running some kind of service that advertises its presence on the network. That might be a CUPS print server or a Windows/Samba share.

Run PeasyPort and scan your network for ports 631 or 139.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1924
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 18:02    Post_subject:  

Code:
arp -a


Every computer in the LAN sends ARP packets which tell other computers what its IP address is.

rcrsn51, you're talking about the application layer, while the arp protocol is in the data link layer of the OSI model.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 734
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 19:26    Post_subject:  

Depending on who you are on the LAN, ie if its your own LAN at home, or if it's at work, you might be able to log into the router.

I often log onto my router at home at 192.168.1.1 at click on "attached devices" which lists all devices on the LAN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1477
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 19:28    Post_subject:  

There is LAN IP checker
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=426682#426682

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 11:35    Post_subject:  

Agreed. You can detect the presence of other machines on your LAN several ways. But in the context of der-schutzhund's discussion here, I think that he is looking for something more specific.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1287
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 13:42    Post_subject:  

Dear guys,

Thanks for reminding me of that old script. I just revised it and have used arp-scan. The time taken for scanning 255 addresses is now about 1 or 2 seconds Smile I have included the arp-scan binary (stripped and UPX'd) in this archive (compiled on Lucid). Because the source is relatively large (some 450k), I am just giving the link:

http://www.nta-monitor.com/tools-resources/security-tools/arp-scan.

Have fun,
vovchik

PS. I have noticed a few "timeout" issues with arp-scan and wireless, so you might what to play with the "-t" parameter - increasing it, say, from the default of 100 ms to 300 ms.
check_ip.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  check_ip.tar.gz 
Filesize  59.84 KB 
Downloaded  454 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 16:21    Post_subject:  

chk_ip script and wireless. You can add switch to the arp-scan row:

Quote:
--interface=wlan0


arp-scan --help:
Quote:
--interface=<s> or -I <s> Use network interface <s>.


....and it works with wireless. Found my smartphone ip address. Nice.
Timeout increase was also needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11164
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 21:36    Post_subject:  

I tried arp in Slacko:
Code:
# arp -a
bash: arp: command not found
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1287
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 04:23    Post_subject:  

Dear Flash,

Because arp is missing from my distribution (Lucid), I compiled arp-scan (above attachment). Arp-scan does not have any non-Puppy dependencies and is lightning fast. Try it out, taking pemasu's and my observations about -t and --interface into account. It works nicely.

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11164
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 08:43    Post_subject:  

Thanks! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 781
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 08:46    Post_subject:  

Hi voychik,

The script works perfectly!
Thank you very much!

Greetings

Wolfgang

vovchik wrote:
Dear guys,

Thanks for reminding me of that old script. I just revised it and have used arp-scan. The time taken for scanning 255 addresses is now about 1 or 2 seconds Smile I have included the arp-scan binary (stripped and UPX'd) in this archive (compiled on Lucid). Because the source is relatively large (some 450k), I am just giving the link:

http://www.nta-monitor.com/tools-resources/security-tools/arp-scan.

Have fun,
vovchik

PS. I have noticed a few "timeout" issues with arp-scan and wireless, so you might what to play with the "-t" parameter - increasing it, say, from the default of 100 ms to 300 ms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1040
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 12:35    Post_subject: chk_ip .pet  

vovchik wrote:
Dear guys,

Thanks for reminding me of that old script. I just revised it and have used arp-scan. The time taken for scanning 255 addresses is now about 1 or 2 seconds Smile I have included the arp-scan binary (stripped and UPX'd) in this archive (compiled on Lucid). Because the source is relatively large (some 450k), I am just giving the link:

http://www.nta-monitor.com/tools-resources/security-tools/arp-scan.

Have fun,
vovchik

PS. I have noticed a few "timeout" issues with arp-scan and wireless, so you might what to play with the "-t" parameter - increasing it, say, from the default of 100 ms to 300 ms.

Beautiful work vovchik!

I have taken the liberty of building a .pet with your package. Menu entry is on the Network menu. Tested (briefly) in Wary, Racy, Slacko and Precise. Worked great in all of them. Very Happy

Thanks for this, J
check_network_ip-0.1.pet
Description  Uses vovchick's script to find all PC's on LAN
pet

 Download 
Filename  check_network_ip-0.1.pet 
Filesize  61.32 KB 
Downloaded  487 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1287
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 13:44    Post_subject:  

Dear jrb,

Thanks for the packaging job. Works nicely. Seeing this thread, I realized that the script might be useful since I now also have a netbook, a smartphone a tablet and two PCs, in addition to two routers and an inet-connected DVB-S receiver. Back in the old days, things were simpler, and I used to use static IPs. And now there are things such as smart TVs, internet radio players and watches.

In view of the above, It might be a good idea to include devices names, too, just to avoid confusion. I'll give that a little think and see whether that can't be done without introducing unacceptable delays in the scan.

With kind regards,
vovcghik
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11164
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 21:40    Post_subject:  

The .pet works great in Slacko. My computer is connected to the internet through a Motorola SURFBOARD cable modem "gateway". I suppose a gateway is the same as a router. When I run 'check network_ip', it finds one IP address. Is this the IP address of the gateway, the computer, or what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1047s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0230s) ][ GZIP on ]