Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Sep 2014, 21:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking
How to find all PCs in the LAN? (Solved)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 781
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 16:29    Post subject:  How to find all PCs in the LAN? (Solved)  

hi,

i wand find all ips of all PCs in the LAN (windows and Puppy-PCs).
how can i do that?
lameSMBxplorer will not work because gtkdialog.
is there a other way?

Edit:
-------------------------------------------------------
The script "check_ip.tar.gz" from voychik works perfectly!
Thank you very much!



Greetings

Wolfgang

Last edited by der-schutzhund on Sun 03 Mar 2013, 08:50; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9106
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 16:58    Post subject: Re: find all pcs in the lan
Subject description: how ca i find all pcs in a lan
 

der-schutzhund wrote:
i wand find all ips of all PCs in the LAN (windows and Puppy-PCs).how can i do that?

You can only "see" machines that are running some kind of service that advertises its presence on the network. That might be a CUPS print server or a Windows/Samba share.

Run PeasyPort and scan your network for ports 631 or 139.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1906
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 18:02    Post subject:  

Code:
arp -a


Every computer in the LAN sends ARP packets which tell other computers what its IP address is.

rcrsn51, you're talking about the application layer, while the arp protocol is in the data link layer of the OSI model.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 704
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 19:26    Post subject:  

Depending on who you are on the LAN, ie if its your own LAN at home, or if it's at work, you might be able to log into the router.

I often log onto my router at home at 192.168.1.1 at click on "attached devices" which lists all devices on the LAN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1376
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 19:28    Post subject:  

There is LAN IP checker
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=426682#426682

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9106
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 11:35    Post subject:  

Agreed. You can detect the presence of other machines on your LAN several ways. But in the context of der-schutzhund's discussion here, I think that he is looking for something more specific.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 13:42    Post subject:  

Dear guys,

Thanks for reminding me of that old script. I just revised it and have used arp-scan. The time taken for scanning 255 addresses is now about 1 or 2 seconds Smile I have included the arp-scan binary (stripped and UPX'd) in this archive (compiled on Lucid). Because the source is relatively large (some 450k), I am just giving the link:

http://www.nta-monitor.com/tools-resources/security-tools/arp-scan.

Have fun,
vovchik

PS. I have noticed a few "timeout" issues with arp-scan and wireless, so you might what to play with the "-t" parameter - increasing it, say, from the default of 100 ms to 300 ms.
check_ip.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  check_ip.tar.gz 
Filesize  59.84 KB 
Downloaded  417 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 16:21    Post subject:  

chk_ip script and wireless. You can add switch to the arp-scan row:

Quote:
--interface=wlan0


arp-scan --help:
Quote:
--interface=<s> or -I <s> Use network interface <s>.


....and it works with wireless. Found my smartphone ip address. Nice.
Timeout increase was also needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11063
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 21:36    Post subject:  

I tried arp in Slacko:
Code:
# arp -a
bash: arp: command not found
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 04:23    Post subject:  

Dear Flash,

Because arp is missing from my distribution (Lucid), I compiled arp-scan (above attachment). Arp-scan does not have any non-Puppy dependencies and is lightning fast. Try it out, taking pemasu's and my observations about -t and --interface into account. It works nicely.

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11063
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 08:43    Post subject:  

Thanks! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 781
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 08:46    Post subject:  

Hi voychik,

The script works perfectly!
Thank you very much!

Greetings

Wolfgang

vovchik wrote:
Dear guys,

Thanks for reminding me of that old script. I just revised it and have used arp-scan. The time taken for scanning 255 addresses is now about 1 or 2 seconds Smile I have included the arp-scan binary (stripped and UPX'd) in this archive (compiled on Lucid). Because the source is relatively large (some 450k), I am just giving the link:

http://www.nta-monitor.com/tools-resources/security-tools/arp-scan.

Have fun,
vovchik

PS. I have noticed a few "timeout" issues with arp-scan and wireless, so you might what to play with the "-t" parameter - increasing it, say, from the default of 100 ms to 300 ms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1036
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 12:35    Post subject: chk_ip .pet  

vovchik wrote:
Dear guys,

Thanks for reminding me of that old script. I just revised it and have used arp-scan. The time taken for scanning 255 addresses is now about 1 or 2 seconds Smile I have included the arp-scan binary (stripped and UPX'd) in this archive (compiled on Lucid). Because the source is relatively large (some 450k), I am just giving the link:

http://www.nta-monitor.com/tools-resources/security-tools/arp-scan.

Have fun,
vovchik

PS. I have noticed a few "timeout" issues with arp-scan and wireless, so you might what to play with the "-t" parameter - increasing it, say, from the default of 100 ms to 300 ms.

Beautiful work vovchik!

I have taken the liberty of building a .pet with your package. Menu entry is on the Network menu. Tested (briefly) in Wary, Racy, Slacko and Precise. Worked great in all of them. Very Happy

Thanks for this, J
check_network_ip-0.1.pet
Description  Uses vovchick's script to find all PC's on LAN
pet

 Download 
Filename  check_network_ip-0.1.pet 
Filesize  61.32 KB 
Downloaded  442 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 13:44    Post subject:  

Dear jrb,

Thanks for the packaging job. Works nicely. Seeing this thread, I realized that the script might be useful since I now also have a netbook, a smartphone a tablet and two PCs, in addition to two routers and an inet-connected DVB-S receiver. Back in the old days, things were simpler, and I used to use static IPs. And now there are things such as smart TVs, internet radio players and watches.

In view of the above, It might be a good idea to include devices names, too, just to avoid confusion. I'll give that a little think and see whether that can't be done without introducing unacceptable delays in the scan.

With kind regards,
vovcghik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11063
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 21:40    Post subject:  

The .pet works great in Slacko. My computer is connected to the internet through a Motorola SURFBOARD cable modem "gateway". I suppose a gateway is the same as a router. When I run 'check network_ip', it finds one IP address. Is this the IP address of the gateway, the computer, or what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0819s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0054s) ][ GZIP on ]