Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 Aug 2014, 04:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Shutdown failing - modprobe [SOLVED]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
stiginge


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 420
Location: Kerry, Ireland

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 12:23    Post subject:  Shutdown failing - modprobe [SOLVED]  

When I try to shutdown puppy (529) I get the following error message:

Code:
modprobe: FATAL: Error running install command for snd_seq


This only started happening after I changed the lines at /etc/inittab in order to remove the login and password at bootup. Now my machine won't shutdown and I have to do it manually by reaching for the power button (on next bootup there is no 'incorrect shutdown' procedure) Sad

_________________
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan

Last edited by stiginge on Tue 12 Mar 2013, 15:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3771
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 13:57    Post subject:  

You should rerun alsaconf. If no change, attach (or maybe replace from a live boot) a copy of your modules.conf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stiginge


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 420
Location: Kerry, Ireland

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 08:40    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
You should rerun alsaconf


How?

Quote:
If no change, attach (or maybe replace from a live boot) a copy of your modules.conf


attach it where?

_________________
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3771
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 09:03    Post subject:  

Let's stay with the opener.. Setup >> Alsa sound wizard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stiginge


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 420
Location: Kerry, Ireland

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 09:24    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Let's stay with the opener.. Setup >> Alsa sound wizard.


Ran the setup wizard (alsa.conf), rebooted, no longer receiving 'modprobe fatal error' message, however machine still hangs at shutdown.

_________________
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3771
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 09:33    Post subject:  

Menu >> shutdown >> exit to prompt and type: reboot

Perhaps the terminal will clue us in to what's happening..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3771
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 09:51    Post subject:  

Prior to mess'n with inittab, no shutdown hesitations, correct? Post it's current contents..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stiginge


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 420
Location: Kerry, Ireland

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 10:11    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Menu >> shutdown >> exit to prompt and type: reboot

Perhaps the terminal will clue us in to what's happening..


getting the modprobe error again - it gives a filesystem location this time.

_________________
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stiginge


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 420
Location: Kerry, Ireland

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 10:12    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Prior to mess'n with inittab, no shutdown hesitations, correct? Post it's current contents..


/etc/inittab
Code:
::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit
tty1::respawn:/sbin/getty -n -l /bin/autologinroot 38400 tty1
tty2::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
::shutdown:/etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown
::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/reboot

_________________
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3771
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 10:22    Post subject:  

This is frugal, right? Maybe this returns us something: cat /var/log/messages | grep -i error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stiginge


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 420
Location: Kerry, Ireland

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 10:28    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
This is frugal, right? Maybe this returns us something: cat /var/log/messages | grep -i error


No I don't think i'm frugal, its a full install.

Code:
sh-4.1# cat /var/log/messages | grep -i error
Mar  3 14:15:35 zimmer user.info kernel: gnome-pty-helpe[18367] general protection ip:b7823e98 sp:bfe62dc8 error:0 in ld-2.11.1.so[b780e000+1c000]
Mar  3 14:31:51 zimmer user.info kernel: gnome-pty-helpe[22079] general protection ip:b7748e98 sp:bfc811d8 error:0 in ld-2.11.1.so[b7733000+1c000]
sh-4.1#


_________________
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3771
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 10:31    Post subject:  

Does that mean you boot with Grub?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stiginge


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 420
Location: Kerry, Ireland

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 10:32    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Does that mean you boot with Grub?


how do i check?

_________________
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3771
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 10:50    Post subject:  

I think you'll have a /boot directory, yes? There'll be a grub something in it..

Your error suggests you may be running some sort of screensaver.. true?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stiginge


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 420
Location: Kerry, Ireland

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 10:54    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
I think you'll have a /boot directory, yes? There'll be a grub something in it..

Your error suggests you may be running some sort of screensaver.. true?


Yes, there is a grub folder in the boot directory.

and yes, I am running a screensaver.

_________________
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0686s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]