Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 17:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Upup Precise 54X7 using latest woof at time
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 11 [163 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11
Author Message
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5459
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2013, 16:16    Post subject:  

Zigbert. Sorry to hear your struggle with graphics. You seem to have AMD proprietary driver in use in Slacko.

There are 2 ready AMD drivers to test in Precise. Versions 12.6 and 12.8. I dont know which one is for you. Use for example quickset from the Pinboard or PPM. I think they are in Precise Puppy repo also.

If you can get the X work enough to do that. Like fresh install pfix=ram.

Precise Puppy has radeon modeset enabled at kernel level. I have understood it makes big difference how radeon kernel module works.

So...proprietary fglrx might be your choice in Precise too.....

I dont know how boot time kernel parameter radeon.modeset=0 works....when the kms has been set on as default in kernel. But you can experiment with that also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3083
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2013, 17:21    Post subject:  

I've re-written Barry kauler's report-video to make it a GUI and
localised it. It might be useful to you now??? You might prefer
Tazoc's version but it isn't localised.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83696
____________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5459
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2013, 18:06    Post subject:  

don570. It is already in the woof. I tested it and it worked fine. It complements the crippled Sys-Info back as it should be.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 206

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2013, 20:22    Post subject: Not sure if it is an upgrade bug or a feature, but ...  

Not urgent at all, just reporting it.

I had a hard drive frugal install of of 54x6. I have it set in grub so that it is in pupmode 13 (as if it was a USB drive) and I have pupsaveconfig (the latest version that ends in 5) set to not save automatically, but to ask when you exit (0+ in the menu). All was working fine.

I upgraded it by copying the contents of the 54x7 ISO into the correct directory

The possible bug is that it wiped out all the changes I made to my desktop, including links I had added to folders and .desktop files in the /usr/shared/applications directory and the wallpaper I had set. It also readded some of the out of the box links I had deleted. Pupsaveconfig no longer works but uninstalling and reinstalling seems to have fixed it.

Anyway, not really a big deal and I am not really sure if it is supposed to act that way or if it is a bug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 76
Location: Pickering, ON Canada

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 12:50    Post subject:  

pemasu,

fantastic work!!!

Prior to Christmas I purchased a new desktop AMD FX6100 with Radeon 7450 ! GB graphics card. I could not get any distro to work on the correct resolution of my monitor 1920 x 1080. All the puppy's I have tried so far, would not allow me to go above 1280 x 1024. I have downloaded and tried 3 versions of the AMD driver with no luck.

I just did a frugal install of this upup precise 5.4.X.7 and it picked up the 1920 x 1080 by default.

Everything is working great. Thanks for all your work on your derivatives.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 431
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jan 2013, 14:54    Post subject: Problems with Packetmanager SOLVED
Subject description: Problems with Packetmanager SOLVED
 

Hi !

Maybe it is just my problem ....

Problems with using PPm seems appear again . (but maybe its only me )

What happened ?

Installed UPUP 5.4.7 on USB stick... made a new savefile .

After using Packetmanager for downloading some stuff ..all letters became little squares ...this bug appeared a while ago .But now it seeems to be back.

Anybody else same experience ?

SOLVED !!!!

Installed ServicePack

Thought it was implemented to ISO ....but was not

Last edited by backi on Wed 16 Jan 2013, 07:58; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3083
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jan 2013, 21:38    Post subject:  

I've rewritten report-video (version 1.2) so that it is compatible with
Tazoc's sys-info.

It will now pop up a Xdialog window only if launched from start menu.

When it is used at terminal it acts like a CLI application.
It's also French now Laughing



_______________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1274
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 05:55    Post subject: New frisbee version announced for testing  

Rerwin has announced a new version of "integrated frisbee" for testing at:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64472&start=108

For some reason? the pop-ups display at different parts of the screen in Upup Precise as compared to Precise 5.4.3 or Slacko 5.4? Anybody know why this might be?

Some of the components are already in Upup Precise 54x7 from an earlier less developed release - but to be safe all of the new components should be loaded.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3645
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 06:20    Post subject:  

@Pemasu.
Congratulations and godspeed on your upcoming venture. Sounds like its going to be exciting for you..

2 Questions
  1. is UpupPrecise54X7 same as UpupPrecise372 but with a different kernel? (answered below in this post)
  2. Do both distros have the latest in NTFS support solving the partition compression issues we had?
Thanks in advance

Edited: found the following for question 1, above
In Upup Precise 3.7.2, you wrote:
... Otherwise this build is about same as Upup Precise 5.4.X.7, so ...
AND
In Upup Precise 54X7, you wrote:
... The kernel is official PAE kernel. ...

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5564
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 17:26    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
I dont know how boot time kernel parameter radeon.modeset=0 works....when the kms has been set on as default in kernel. But you can experiment with that also.
Sorry for delayed feedback!

I tested your Precise on my laptop, and it works just fine. But my main system seems to require the amd radeon driver to work properly. Slacko brings me Vesa by default.

Yes, I did also test radeon.modeset=0 as boot parameter, but no difference for me.


Thank you for your effort!!!
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
soundNICK

Joined: 13 Oct 2010
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 00:12    Post subject: OOPS / remove this if you want  

pemasu / upup-P users

<snip> original post was in error <major smip>

------------------------------------------------------------------
OOPS... and I worked so hard on this bug report !

As it were, it was just "cobwebs"... first day of testing,
and the apps not initializing yet ? Anyway, printing in
54x7 /IS/ working as expected. My apologies to
anyone who read original post before I correct it now.
------------------------------------------------------------------

Im enjoying playing with the ubuntu style apps provided in
upup-precise... there are several ready to go in repos which
other distros dont have.

thanks as usual for all the hard work you've put into these
distros Pemasu !

best of luck in the new year

soundNICK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 764
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Mar 2013, 19:05    Post subject: 54X7 wrongly places desktop drive-icon for USB-Key  

Hi pemasu & all,

Not sure if it's been mentioned before, it's just my system, or maybe just me.

Puppy is in a folder on sda2. I also have a second sata drive recognized as sdb. Puppy recongizes, and creates desktop drive-icons for, 9 partitions among those hard drives. If I start 54X7 with a USB-Key plugged in, or later plug it in, it creates a desktop drive-icon for it. But it places that icon on top of the drive-icon for sda2, rather than at the end of the row of drive-icons.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 76
Location: Pickering, ON Canada

PostPosted: Mon 04 Mar 2013, 21:29    Post subject: Re: 54X7 wrongly places desktop drive-icon for USB-Key  

mikeslr wrote:


But it places that icon on top of the drive-icon for sda2, rather than at the end of the row of drive-icons.

mikesLr


I have this same behaviour with misplaced drive icons.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 11 [163 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0777s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0075s) ][ GZIP on ]