Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 00:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Got Chrome browser working, but lots of run errors.
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 23:16    Post_subject:  Got Chrome browser working, but lots of run errors.  

This is for Chrome-24, it seems to work well, YouTube videos, etc.:
Code:
[19936:20387:0228/200027:ERROR:bus.cc(307)] Failed to connect to the bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: Connection refused
[19936:20387:0228/200027:ERROR:bus.cc(307)] Failed to connect to the bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: Connection refused
[19936:20395:0228/200029:ERROR:bus.cc(307)] Failed to connect to the bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: Connection refused
[19936:20395:0228/200029:ERROR:bus.cc(307)] Failed to connect to the bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: Connection refused
[19936:20395:0228/200029:ERROR:bus.cc(307)] Failed to connect to the bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: Connection refused
[19936:19936:0228/200029:ERROR:media_transfer_protocol_daemon_client.cc(386)] Connect to org.chromium.Mtpd MTPStorageAttached failed.
[19936:19936:0228/200029:ERROR:media_transfer_protocol_daemon_client.cc(386)] Connect to org.chromium.Mtpd MTPStorageDetached failed.
[20432:20432:0228/200031:ERROR:sandbox_init_linux.cc(32)] InitializeSandbox() called with multiple threads in process gpu-process
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:957:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) The dmix plugin supports only playback stream
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:957:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) The dmix plugin supports only playback stream


Errors worry me, but should I be worried? Chrome seems to work well.

I got it working by bind mounting: /proc, /sys, /dev/pts ( I don`t think /dev/shm is needed.??? )
Some setups I saw bind mounted /dev, I don`t think that`s necessary as it`s not mounted at all.

Like most folks I don`t tend to like things I don`t understand.
I realized bind mounting brought the "special mounts" into the chroot environment.
The partition and image file mounts are visible and usable just being unioned.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 04 Mar 2013, 20:14    Post_subject:  

I`d hoped someone who knows the Chrome browser would help with the errors.

I don`t know where to look for any fixes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4138
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 08:18    Post_subject:  

[SOLVED] >> rm -f /var/run/dbus/pid

MTP's I think relate to tablets.

Probably something to do with Pup running as root. 4U Wink 2Read..

And alsa doesn't appear to be an error.

Let Google handle the incidentals cause >> life's too short.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JamesTheAwesomeDude


Joined: 29 Jan 2013
Posts: 99
Location: Classified

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 12:43    Post_subject:  

The errors don't matter (imo.) Chromium was never meant to run as Root (most software isn't,) and in fact, I actually had to specify the user data storage directory, because it just does not want to run as root.


_________________
Version 27. Dotpet. Click here.
(SFS available too!)

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 14:53    Post_subject:  

Thanks guys, it`s always nice to have backup opinions.

JamesTheAwesomeDude; I am starting Chrome with:
Code:
google-chrome --user-data-dir=$HOME/$Pkg/profile

This got rid of the running-as-root problem you spoke of.


Semme; The alsa lines do look like a normal startup report.

I wonder about the sandbox error as I`m using a Pentium-D multi-cpu.
You wouldn`t think that it would have a problem like that though.

The MPTs may be related to plugins not loading, some ads don`t show.

I`ll check and see if deleting the pid file eliminates any more errors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4138
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 15:42    Post_subject:  

With the *exception* of one, you could try any combo of these to compensate. First and last for ?? processor:

  • --disable-gpu-sandbox >> Disable the GPU process sandbox.


  • --enable-seccomp-sandbox >> Enable the seccomp sandbox (Linux only).


  • --no-sandbox >> Disables the sandbox for all process types that are normally sandboxed.


  • --reduce-gpu-sandbox >> Reduces the GPU process sandbox to be less strict.


  • --single-process >> Runs the renderer and plugins in the same process as the browser.

Though not currently installed, I'm guessing these'll be Wink valid for Chrome.

And a bit about alsa- <Nevermind- Life's too short!>

There's a little more to the dbus thing than merely removing it's pid file..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 22:09    Post_subject:  

I tried deleting the pid file and it made no difference, the posted thread was about booting.

I`d rather not undo any sandboxing as it`s for security.
I`ll try reducing it and see what happens.

The single process option may effect the error: multiple threads in process
But this would slow it down I`m sure.


### The only thing that doesn`t work is some ads.
I`ve seen posts about Chrome and Chromium have trouble with certain plugins.
I`m sure these are the types of things that show the ads ( Flash like ).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4138
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 01:23    Post_subject:  

Me thinks you'll fair better with a Chrome enthusiast. Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0660s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0096s) ][ GZIP on ]