Got Chrome browser working, but lots of run errors.

Browsers, email, chat, etc.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

Got Chrome browser working, but lots of run errors.

#1 Post by sunburnt »

This is for Chrome-24, it seems to work well, YouTube videos, etc.:

Code: Select all

[19936:20387:0228/200027:ERROR:bus.cc(307)] Failed to connect to the bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: Connection refused
[19936:20387:0228/200027:ERROR:bus.cc(307)] Failed to connect to the bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: Connection refused
[19936:20395:0228/200029:ERROR:bus.cc(307)] Failed to connect to the bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: Connection refused
[19936:20395:0228/200029:ERROR:bus.cc(307)] Failed to connect to the bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: Connection refused
[19936:20395:0228/200029:ERROR:bus.cc(307)] Failed to connect to the bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: Connection refused
[19936:19936:0228/200029:ERROR:media_transfer_protocol_daemon_client.cc(386)] Connect to org.chromium.Mtpd MTPStorageAttached failed.
[19936:19936:0228/200029:ERROR:media_transfer_protocol_daemon_client.cc(386)] Connect to org.chromium.Mtpd MTPStorageDetached failed.
[20432:20432:0228/200031:ERROR:sandbox_init_linux.cc(32)] InitializeSandbox() called with multiple threads in process gpu-process
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:957:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) The dmix plugin supports only playback stream
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:957:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) The dmix plugin supports only playback stream
Errors worry me, but should I be worried? Chrome seems to work well.

I got it working by bind mounting: /proc, /sys, /dev/pts ( I don`t think /dev/shm is needed.??? )
Some setups I saw bind mounted /dev, I don`t think that`s necessary as it`s not mounted at all.

Like most folks I don`t tend to like things I don`t understand.
I realized bind mounting brought the "special mounts" into the chroot environment.
The partition and image file mounts are visible and usable just being unioned.
Last edited by sunburnt on Tue 05 Mar 2013, 00:15, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#2 Post by sunburnt »

I`d hoped someone who knows the Chrome browser would help with the errors.

I don`t know where to look for any fixes.

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#3 Post by Semme »

[SOLVED] >> rm -f /var/run/dbus/pid

MTP's I think relate to tablets.

Probably something to do with Pup running as root. 4U :wink: 2Read..

And alsa doesn't appear to be an error.

Let Google handle the incidentals cause >> life's too short.

User avatar
JamesTheAwesomeDude
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 17:17
Location: Classified

#4 Post by JamesTheAwesomeDude »

The errors don't matter (imo.) Chromium was never meant to run as Root (most software isn't,) and in fact, I actually had to specify the user data storage directory, because it just does not want to run as root.

Image
[url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84349][img]http://i.imgur.com/Zw6vryI.png[/img][color=#3B6EA3][b][size=200] Version 27. Dotpet. Click here.[/size]
(SFS available too!)[/b][/color][/url]

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#5 Post by sunburnt »

Thanks guys, it`s always nice to have backup opinions.

JamesTheAwesomeDude; I am starting Chrome with:

Code: Select all

google-chrome --user-data-dir=$HOME/$Pkg/profile
This got rid of the running-as-root problem you spoke of.


Semme; The alsa lines do look like a normal startup report.

I wonder about the sandbox error as I`m using a Pentium-D multi-cpu.
You wouldn`t think that it would have a problem like that though.

The MPTs may be related to plugins not loading, some ads don`t show.

I`ll check and see if deleting the pid file eliminates any more errors.

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#6 Post by Semme »

With the *exception* of one, you could try any combo of these to compensate. First and last for ?? processor:
  • --disable-gpu-sandbox >> Disable the GPU process sandbox.
  • --enable-seccomp-sandbox >> Enable the seccomp sandbox (Linux only).
  • --no-sandbox >> Disables the sandbox for all process types that are normally sandboxed.
  • --reduce-gpu-sandbox >> Reduces the GPU process sandbox to be less strict.
  • --single-process >> Runs the renderer and plugins in the same process as the browser.
Though not currently installed, I'm guessing these'll be :wink: valid for Chrome.

And a bit about alsa- <Nevermind- Life's too short!>

There's a little more to the dbus thing than merely removing it's pid file..

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#7 Post by sunburnt »

I tried deleting the pid file and it made no difference, the posted thread was about booting.

I`d rather not undo any sandboxing as it`s for security.
I`ll try reducing it and see what happens.

The single process option may effect the error: multiple threads in process
But this would slow it down I`m sure.


### The only thing that doesn`t work is some ads.
I`ve seen posts about Chrome and Chromium have trouble with certain plugins.
I`m sure these are the types of things that show the ads ( Flash like ).

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#8 Post by Semme »

Me thinks you'll fair better with a Chrome enthusiast. Good luck.

Post Reply