Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 12:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko 5.5 feedback and bug reports
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 12 [176 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 05:34    Post subject:  

Billtoo wrote:
Here's a link to an sfs of 0.5.6 that I made in slacko:
http://www.datafilehost.com/download-80977abe.html

Thanks for the link, Billtoo. Do you also have it as a pet? I'd like to "embed" deadbeef into Slacko and then remaster.

majorfoo wrote:
checked box for master and moved slider to right and all is now ok on this remaster
remastered again and same problem. Ideas ?

Have you tried setting audio via the terminal to see if it makes a difference:
Code:
alsamixer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5678
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 06:52    Post subject:  

http://distrowatch.com/7741
slacko 5.5.JPG
 Description   
 Filesize   78.21 KB
 Viewed   2280 Time(s)

slacko 5.5.JPG

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 817
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 09:06    Post subject:  

anikin wrote:
Do you also have it as a pet? I'd like to "embed" deadbeef into Slacko and then remaster.


Anikin,

In the Slackware 14.0 Slacko Puppies, Deadbeef will only compile without ffmpeg support because of the more recent ffmpeg version (unless someone can point to a suitable patch). A lot of the functionality is still there via all the other plugins, but this is the main reason why I never posted a .pet for the latest Slackos. I believe you may also need to include libiconv (which you didn't in 5.3.3) but don't recall for certain. Are you looking for a .pet package with DEV files included?

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 758
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 11:07    Post subject:  

Slacko Puppy version 5.5, released Mar 2013

video-info-glx 1.5.1 Wed 6 Mar 2013 on Slacko Puppy 5.5 Linux 3.2.33-4g i686
2.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 1Cool
oem: Intel(R)Ironlake Mobile Graphics Chipset Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(R)Ironlake Mobile Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0

X Server: Xorg Driver: intel
X.Org version: 1.12.3
dimensions: 1366x1024 pixels (361x270 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Tungsten Graphics, Inc
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ironlake Mobile x86/MMX/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4

Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 370 @ 2.40GHz
Core 0: @933 1: @933 2: @933 3: @933 MHz

Manual frugal to ntfs hdd and booting from ext4 SDcard with grub4dos. Using an E732 laptop with a cracked screen and an old proview LCD monitor.
Everything seems to work extremely well, looks and feels really nice. What a luvly puppy - many thanks and very best regards - Ray
hardinfo_report.html.gz
Description  not a gz. rename to html.
gz

 Download 
Filename  hardinfo_report.html.gz 
Filesize  49.32 KB 
Downloaded  329 Time(s) 

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1365
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 11:43    Post subject:  

Hi Mick

Looking really good - have so far tested Frisbee, Samba, Chromium and LibreOffice and all work as expected.

I've had a tiny problem with Firefox - a Clear List button on the downloads screen that is greyed out and doesn't work - see screenie.

I also tried to upgrade my desktop's 5.4 frugal install savefile without success - I know you recommend a clean install because of the kmod module changes but the lack of an upgrade path when you've invested a lot of effort in the previous version (and probably forgotten some of the changes you've made) is a bit of problem which should maybe be highlighted in the release notes?

Cheers
peebee
capture19809.png
 Description   
 Filesize   11.71 KB
 Viewed   2105 Time(s)

capture19809.png


_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 18:10    Post subject: Slacko 5.5 (k3.2.33)
Subject description: nvidia and vbox
 

I downloaded and installed slacko 5.5 (k3.2.33). Looks beautiful and stable - and fast.

I did have some fun, however, with nvidia and VirtualBox.

I booted with nouveau.modeset=0, but both nouveau and vesa were loaded. report-video reported that nouveau was in charge xorg.conf voted for vesa. In any case, glxgears reported 35 fps with the FX5200 card.

The nvidia_legacy pet in the PPM was easily installed with dramatic increase in fps, but my Opera 12.14 standalone did not display correctly. The menu bar and a rectangle in the upper left corner of the screen showed squiggly lines instead of text. I have never seen this effect before with any number of puppies.

The simplest solution (although not the first tried) once again turned out to be the best. I located and installed the kernel sources and the OEM nvidia 173.14.36 run file. Problem solved. Opera once again performs.

vbox also presented a challenge. Once more, The Asterix came to the rescue, see: http://www.silverdollarsolutions.com/PuppyLinux/asterisk/VirtualBox/4.2.6/packages_guide.html.

The pet required is virtualbox-4.2.6-x86_src.install.pet, you will find it at the bottom of the page. Please note that it requires that the devx and kernel sources be installed before hand.

All in all - a really super pup!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
duke93535


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 194
Location: California , High Desert

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 20:47    Post subject: Repaired Menus, Back to Normal  

I’ve got the menus back to working normally, by changing out the libgnome-menu.so.2.0.2 for the one out of Precise 5.4.3 in /usr/lib (the lib out of Precise is a little larger). Now the menus work correctly with the /etc/xdg/menus configuration files there.

In order to get xcompmgr in /usr/bin working, I had to drop back to an older one out of Slacko 5.3.3.

duke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
majorfoo

Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 445
Location: Wish I knew

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 20:55    Post subject:  

anikin wrote:


majorfoo wrote:
checked box for master and moved slider to right and all is now ok on this remaster
remastered again and same problem. Ideas ?

Have you tried setting audio via the terminal to see if it makes a difference:
Code:
alsamixer


see examples of live cd, full install and remaster. Works great in live cd and full install - problem exists on remaster. I can get it to work after I boot the remastered copy by right clicking speaker icon in tray and checking the box beside master and changing the color from red to yellow. I would like for it to work at bootup of remastered cd like the live cd and full install
livecd.png
 Description   
 Filesize   60.25 KB
 Viewed   1963 Time(s)

livecd.png

fullinstall.png
 Description   
 Filesize   55.41 KB
 Viewed   1963 Time(s)

fullinstall.png

remastered.png
 Description   
 Filesize   60.91 KB
 Viewed   1975 Time(s)

remastered.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2013, 07:25    Post subject:  

Hi majorfoo,
My point was, that typing "alsamixer" in the terminal would give you *direct* access to sound settings, and perhaps you can "catch" it there.

OscarTalks wrote:
In the Slackware 14.0 Slacko Puppies, Deadbeef will only compile without ffmpeg support because of the more recent ffmpeg version (unless someone can point to a suitable patch). A lot of the functionality is still there via all the other plugins, but this is the main reason why I never posted a .pet for the latest Slackos. I believe you may also need to include libiconv (which you didn't in 5.3.3) but don't recall for certain. Are you looking for a .pet package with DEV files included?

Hi OscarTalks,
If it plays flac and wav, I'll be fine with it. DEV files are not needed.
Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 817
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2013, 08:44    Post subject:  

Anikin,

I was having a tinker with DeaDBeeF and can upload a compile from source if you want but as I said it won't have ffmpeg support. In Precise, Pemasu came up with a way of avoiding the libiconv dependency involving juggling the headers, but either the method doesn't work in Slacko or I have forgotten exactly how we did it at the time so I would have to include the lib in the package which is not a major problem.

As a suggestion you might like to take a look at the static build version which (I believe) is a way of having DeaDBeeF with full functionality in Slacko 5.5

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=82026

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
_SWE

Joined: 07 Mar 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2013, 11:50    Post subject:  

Hi!
And thank you for the work with Puppy!

I did try the 5.5 in this : http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/detail.page?LegacyDocID=MIGR-42771
My newest P4 computer. 2.4GHz. A very nice Bios and so on. Seems to be a good one. Look for MODEL : 8307-73G of IBM Net Vista 8307 in that list.

But. Error Fail etc.. , Crying or Very sad it does boots up fine from CD. but can not start X grafic. Some 3-4 hours of probes and change things in xorgwizard ands so on, I have no idea what to do now..

PuppyPrecise5.4 did work yesterday before I erased that CD
So it is possible. At least before now, as I now also have tried with a reset of bios to defalult settings.. to get Slacko55 Xwin to start. But no luck.



In the bios it says "Brookdale-G" grafic chip.

At the homapage (Lenevo nowdays) it says "
Integrated Intel 845G (2D/3D graphics)

15-pin VGA output on planar
Intel Dynamic Video Memory Technology (DVMT)
AGP 4x equivalent speeds

For models without a separate video card, memory supports both system and video.
640 x 480, 16M colors (60, 72, 75, 85, 100, 120 Hz)
800 x 600, 16M colors (60, 72, 75, 85, 100, 120 Hz)
1024 x 768, 16M colors (60, 70, 75, 85, 100,120 Hz)
1152 x 864, 16M colors (60, 70, 75, 85,100 Hz)
1280 x 1024, 16M colors (60, 75, 85, 100 Hz)
1600 x 1200, 16M colors (60 Hz)
1920 x 1440, 64K colors (60, 75 Hz)
2048 x 1536, 64K colors (60Hz)"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8906
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2013, 11:56    Post subject:  

These Brookdale graphics chips are a problem. When your CD boots up, there is an initial 5-second pause. Type
Code:
puppy i915.modeset=0

Does that help? Mick will know better than me how to fix this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2013, 12:51    Post subject:  

_SWE wrote:
Hi!
And thank you for the work with Puppy!

I did try the 5.5 in this : http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/detail.page?LegacyDocID=MIGR-42771
My newest P4 computer. 2.4GHz. A very nice Bios and so on. Seems to be a good one.


On Pentium machines with earlier graphics chips I use
Wary 5.5.
The earlier kernel and ability to choose i810 module
during setup often helps.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2013, 13:08    Post subject:  

5.5-4g

Been looking for a replacement for the Win7 install on my
MSI Wind netbook for almost a year.

-Computer-
Processor : 2x Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU N270 @ 1.60GHz
Memory : 1542MB (126MB used)
Machine Type : Physical machine
Operating System : Slacko Puppy - 5.5
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Wed 06 Mar 2013 07:01:29 PM GMT-8
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x600 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Mesa DRI Intel(R) 945GME x86/MMX/SSE2
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA Intel

Slacko 5.5 is great.

Did a full install to empty SATA drive using the new
"legacy_grub_ 2013 1.1."

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=690112#690112

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2646
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2013, 13:50    Post subject:  

Hey Mick, nice work on slacko.

Ethernet automatically working, video card recognized, although I use lower res then 1280x1024 automatically detected, I like that these new puppies come with dri built in although I guess my video card works better with some older pups but I don't have any lag for regular apps so far on 5.5.

Quote:

-Computer-
Processor : AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 3000+
Memory : 1554MB (478MB used)
Machine Type : Physical machine
Operating System : Slacko Puppy - 5.5
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Thu 07 Mar 2013 06:48:08 PM CET
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Mesa DRI R200 (RV280 5960) x86/MMX+/3DNow!+/SSE2 TCL DRI2
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter : NFORCE - NVidia CK8S
Audio Adapter : SAA7134 - SAA7134
-Input Devices-
AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
ImPS/2 Generic Wheel Mouse
Power Button
Power Button
PC Speaker
saa7134 IR (ASUSTeK P7131 Analo
MCE IR Keyboard/Mouse (saa7134)
-Printers (CUPS)-
CUPS-PDF : <i>Default</i>
-SCSI Disks-
ATA WDC WD1600AAJS-0
ATA MAXTOR STM380211
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-H12N

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 12 [176 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1113s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0056s) ][ GZIP on ]