Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 15:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development
Multiple SFS support in initrd
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 09:20    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
01micko wrote:
I also hacked 3builddistro to support the a drive concept, it does nothing more than produce a sane DISTRO_SPECS. An iso with A drive needs to be made manually afterwards.

That's a good start but spitting at build time is even better Wink
For sure.. or even renaming a custom sfs to the adrive, more flexible, less prone to error. (Maybe more chance of acceptance upstream Wink ). Baby steps. Smile
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1046

PostPosted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 12:33    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
Q5sys wrote:

Actually LHP64 can load all SFS into ram. You have the option to run them from disk or load to ram.

Never used LH64 so I do not know for a fact.
I just glanced at the code and although I can see COPYEXTRASFS2RAM I can not see how more that one SFS is loaded as UMNTRO.
I probably miss something, but can you actually see RAM usage increasing as much as the SFS size when more than 1 extra SFSs are loaded with the copy2am option? (I know you have the RAM for that test Very Happy )


I'll be rebooting my machine again in a few days to add some drives... I'll do a few startup schemes and get you some hard results. From memory... yes I have seen memory usage, but memory isn't always the most accurate thing. Give me some time and I'll get you the info.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3632
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 16:15    Post subject:  

I knew I had seen this.

This is NOT Jeminah's model. It is one that is in place with LH64. ((I believe it may have been missed/overlooked as it is aimed for his 64bit platforms) See this pictorial for easy understanding.

It is NOT intended to shift current discussion, rather, to present one working concept.

Hope this helps and provides clarity.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 16:43    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
It is NOT intended to shift current discussion, rather, to present one working concept.

That's a good point - plus: a little guide or help for the less experienced of us - like me! Smile

Ok.

Back to just a adrv, but still something is getting wrong. The sfs goes to the adrv, I can see the files and use the applications or whatever is in the sfs. I have loaded up to 39 sfs files using sfs_load 1.9.6 (shinobar) - also can unload. Smile

But: after unloading an sfs I can't mount sfs files or iso files by the usual left-click action. Crying or Very sad

The same on my second edition, adrv & ddrv, which I do attach here, hoping someone will have a look and find my "bugs"?

Seems it's not clear to me , how to handle the tmpfs dirs and the loopX...

Thanks
init.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  init.gz 
Filesize  90.43 KB 
Downloaded  221 Time(s) 

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1385

PostPosted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 17:05    Post subject:  

R-S-H wrote:

Back to just a adrv, but still something is getting wrong. The sfs goes to the adrv, I can see the files and use the applications or whatever is in the sfs. I have loaded up to 39 sfs files using sfs_load 1.9.6 (shinobar) - also can unload. Smile

But: after unloading an sfs I can't mount sfs files or iso files by the usual left-click action. Crying or Very sad

The same on my second edition, adrv & ddrv, which I do attach here,


I really have a hard time understanding.
After you mount 39 sfs with sfs_load if you unmount (with sfs_load?) *anyone* of those 39 (not the adrv) then you can not mount sfs with sfs_load or you can not mount them with your "left-click"? But before you unload an SFS the left-click works?
What the left-click calls in your case? filemnt? other?
What the command "filemnt /path/name.sfs" reports?

BTW SFS-load also needs to be patched so will not unmount a/b/cdrv.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 17:16    Post subject:  

Hi mavrothal.

If I'm talking about mounting an sfs, I do mean the single left-click-action, loading an sfs means to me: using sfs_load.

Sorry, but I try my best...

Yes, the left-click works until I do unload an sfs (sfs_load) and, yes, it calls filemnt.

I will try the patch of sfs_load, but could you please have a look into my init script for the z,a,d(drv) and how I did arrange them (increasing its numbers etc. - btw: all needed dirs are in initrd.gz, I can see and use everything, even though I can not mount the iso, sfs with right-click, I can load more sfs files using sfs_load). Rolling Eyes

Thanks

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1385

PostPosted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 17:22    Post subject:  

R-S-H wrote:

Yes, the left-click works until I do unload an sfs (sfs_load) and, yes, it calls filemnt.

So what is the "filemnt /path_to_sfs/name.sfs" output when typed in the terminal (after you have unloaded an sfs and left-click fails). ie what is the error? and why do you think that is realated to init? Is this the ONLY change between a working and an non-working version?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 17:29    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
R-S-H wrote:

Yes, the left-click works until I do unload an sfs (sfs_load) and, yes, it calls filemnt.

So what is the "filemnt /path_to_sfs/name.sfs" output when typed in the terminal (after you have unloaded an sfs and left-click fails). ie what is the error? and why do you think that is realated to init? Is this the ONLY change between a working and an non-working version?

I'm currently using the no-adrv-initrd.gz, so I need to reboot to get the error message from terminal. Will post this later.

Yes, this is the only change, but I'm not sure yet, because of the not yet patched version of sfs_plus...

I will first do these patches, and after this, doing everything again, watching for the resuts...

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1385

PostPosted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 17:35    Post subject:  

R-S-H wrote:

Yes, this is the only change, but I'm not sure yet, because of the not yet patched version of sfs_plus...


Would be easier then if you post a "diff -ur" between the adrv and the non-adrv initramfs folders.

Also the SFS_load patch is *only* for ydrv.
The latest sfs_load already has a provision for adrv and if you use b/c/d/e-drv must modify the ydrv patch accordingly.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 17:57    Post subject:  

Quote:
Would be easier then if you post a "diff -ur" between the adrv and the non-adrv initramfs folders.

Ok. Here it is!
diff-out.txt.gz
Description  remove .gz
gz

 Download 
Filename  diff-out.txt.gz 
Filesize  42.35 KB 
Downloaded  198 Time(s) 

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 18:15    Post subject:  

Oh!!!

I have discovered right now, even though I'm using sfs_load 1.9.6, the adrv is not taken under sfs_load's provision for the adrv. This is because of sfs_load uses DISTRO_ADRVSFS, which I don't. I send the sfs for the use with the adrv from boot menu and LazY Puppy DISTRO_SPECS does not have the DISTRO_ADRVSFS.

Could this be a clue/reason for this weird behavior? I do believe so...

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 19:12    Post subject:  

mavrothal

here is a 3builddistro patch that works, manually adding adrive, so any custom adrive can be added, tested working.

it's against commit faca226129. (20130310)
3builddistro_adrv.patch.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  3builddistro_adrv.patch.gz 
Filesize  1.72 KB 
Downloaded  211 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1385

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2013, 01:11    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
mavrothal

here is a 3builddistro patch that works, manually adding adrive, so any custom adrive can be added, tested working.

it's against commit faca226129. (20130310)


Looks good. Time to start lobbying Razz

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1385

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2013, 01:15    Post subject:  

R-S-H wrote:
Could this be a clue/reason for this weird behavior? I do believe so...

There is only one way to find out... Wink
This and running that filemnt command (preferably with a "set -x" in filemnt if problem persists)

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2090
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2013, 22:30    Post subject:  

Now that we have adrv, ddrv and zdrv, could you also add c:drv please (to contain all my Windows files). I noticed ever since I first tried puppy that the c:drv has been missing...

Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0802s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]