Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 12:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Shutdown failing - modprobe [SOLVED]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2013, 13:28    Post subject:  

Dont know if that make a difference :

There is a 3rd acpi kernel parameter :

kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 acpi_enforce_resources=lax

I needed that to be able to load the it87.ko temperature driver on one older P4 Board from 2001 or 2003.
https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt wrote:
acpi_enforce_resources= [ACPI]
{ strict | lax | no }
Check for resource conflicts between native drivers
and ACPI OperationRegions (SystemIO and SystemMemory
only). IO ports and memory declared in ACPI might be
used by the ACPI subsystem in arbitrary AML code and
can interfere with legacy drivers.
strict (default): access to resources claimed by ACPI
is denied; legacy drivers trying to access reserved
resources will fail to bind to device using them.
lax: access to resources claimed by ACPI is allowed;
legacy drivers trying to access reserved resources
will bind successfully but a warning message is logged.
no: ACPI OperationRegions are not marked as reserved,
no further checks are performed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
stiginge


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 420
Location: Kerry, Ireland

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2013, 14:43    Post subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
Dont know if that make a difference :

There is a 3rd acpi kernel parameter :

kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 acpi_enforce_resources=lax

I needed that to be able to load the it87.ko temperature driver on one older P4 Board from 2001 or 2003.
https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt wrote:
acpi_enforce_resources= [ACPI]
{ strict | lax | no }
Check for resource conflicts between native drivers
and ACPI OperationRegions (SystemIO and SystemMemory
only). IO ports and memory declared in ACPI might be
used by the ACPI subsystem in arbitrary AML code and
can interfere with legacy drivers.
strict (default): access to resources claimed by ACPI
is denied; legacy drivers trying to access reserved
resources will fail to bind to device using them.
lax: access to resources claimed by ACPI is allowed;
legacy drivers trying to access reserved resources
will bind successfully but a warning message is logged.
no: ACPI OperationRegions are not marked as reserved,
no further checks are performed.


Tried that Karlgodt, no joy

_________________
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stiginge


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 420
Location: Kerry, Ireland

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2013, 15:41    Post subject:  

Can anybody see any problem with this code in /etc/inittab:

Code:
::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit
tty1::respawn:/sbin/getty -n -l /bin/autologinroot 38400 tty1
tty2::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
::shutdown:/etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown
::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/reboot
[/code]
_________________
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2013, 20:40    Post subject:  

No. An original inittab looks like
Code:
::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit
tty1::respawn:/sbin/getty -n -l /bin/autologinroot 38400 tty1
tty2::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
tty3::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3
::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/reboot


There had been some new adjustments while introducing minint instead of busybox init or getty in current Puppies. There had been also complaints about PUPMODE=6 on USBflash to entire partitions. BK claimed some time ago, that he fixed that. Must be on his old bkhome.org/blog/ , while actually he uses the bkhome.org/blog2/ .

Somehow i suspect that you there are changes in the software in your partition that cause all this or some files in the lost+found folder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2013, 21:35    Post subject:  

errata : it is mingetty replacing getty , not mininit.

slacko-5.3.1 inittab:

Code:
::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit
tty1::respawn:/sbin/mingetty --autologin root tty1
tty2::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
tty3::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3
::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/reboot


And your inittab is a inittabPREV on slacko.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
stiginge


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 420
Location: Kerry, Ireland

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 07:48    Post subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
errata : it is mingetty replacing getty , not mininit.

slacko-5.3.1 inittab:

Code:
::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit
tty1::respawn:/sbin/mingetty --autologin root tty1
tty2::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
tty3::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3
::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/reboot


And your inittab is a inittabPREV on slacko.


there is no such file /sbin/mingetty on 529

_________________
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3967
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 08:57    Post subject:  

[erroneous]You've managed to focus on the wrong reply. It's Karls`first entry you want.[/erroneous]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 14:53    Post subject:  

I have no idea honestly but as last idea it might be that the shutdown script /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown does not unmount some directories in the /mnt folder like cifs types internet or lan mounts. There had been a struggle with those some time ago in the bug section on this forum being partly wrong fixed that fex. my slacko-5.3.1 has that bug that it won't unmount anything at shutdown/reboot since the name of a variable was changed but in three lines that change had been forgotten to rename that variable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
stiginge


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 420
Location: Kerry, Ireland

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 15:24    Post subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
I have no idea honestly but as last idea it might be that the shutdown script /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown does not unmount some directories in the /mnt folder like cifs types internet or lan mounts. There had been a struggle with those some time ago in the bug section on this forum being partly wrong fixed that fex. my slacko-5.3.1 has that bug that it won't unmount anything at shutdown/reboot since the name of a variable was changed but in three lines that change had been forgotten to rename that variable.


Very Happy I deleted the second last line in inittab which was to do with shutdown, and hey presto - it's now rebooting and shutting down without hanging. That was all that was required

_________________
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 15:50    Post subject:  

Yep is logical . /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown itself does not reboot/poweroff . It returns to the /sbin/reboot|poweroff scripts and these call busybox poweroff or reboot . When rc.shutdown unmounts everything also sys and proc are getting unmounted. That way modprobe cannot access /proc/modules and therefore spitting out these msgs. Never had thought that that would be the cause cos i always shutdown using the Menu Shutdown entries or wmreboot/wmpoweroff in X or reboot/poweroff when X's not running.

Surely big Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0737s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0059s) ][ GZIP on ]