Shutdown failing - modprobe [SOLVED]

Using applications, configuring, problems
Message
Author
User avatar
stiginge
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu 22 Mar 2007, 10:10
Location: Kerry, Ireland

#41 Post by stiginge »

Semme wrote:Don't you have a one of these >> boot: after hitting the power button?
yeah sure, but puppy doesn't give me any opportunity to enter any code on bootup, it just goes quickly into desktop
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#42 Post by Semme »

The line in your menu.lst up top >> kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro

Make it look like this, then save:

Code: Select all

kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro acpi=force
We'll try this first.

User avatar
stiginge
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu 22 Mar 2007, 10:10
Location: Kerry, Ireland

#43 Post by stiginge »

Semme wrote:The line in your menu.lst up top >> kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro

Make it look like this, then save:

Code: Select all

kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro acpi=force
We'll try this first.
just tried this, no change
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#44 Post by Semme »

Best to determine if the holdup's power related. Swap in: acpi=off

User avatar
stiginge
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu 22 Mar 2007, 10:10
Location: Kerry, Ireland

#45 Post by stiginge »

no change
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan

User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

#46 Post by Karl Godt »

Dont know if that make a difference :

There is a 3rd acpi kernel parameter :

kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 acpi_enforce_resources=lax

I needed that to be able to load the it87.ko temperature driver on one older P4 Board from 2001 or 2003.
https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt wrote:acpi_enforce_resources= [ACPI]
{ strict | lax | no }
Check for resource conflicts between native drivers
and ACPI OperationRegions (SystemIO and SystemMemory
only). IO ports and memory declared in ACPI might be
used by the ACPI subsystem in arbitrary AML code and
can interfere with legacy drivers.
strict (default): access to resources claimed by ACPI
is denied; legacy drivers trying to access reserved
resources will fail to bind to device using them.
lax: access to resources claimed by ACPI is allowed;
legacy drivers trying to access reserved resources
will bind successfully but a warning message is logged.
no: ACPI OperationRegions are not marked as reserved,
no further checks are performed.

User avatar
stiginge
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu 22 Mar 2007, 10:10
Location: Kerry, Ireland

#47 Post by stiginge »

Karl Godt wrote:Dont know if that make a difference :

There is a 3rd acpi kernel parameter :

kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 acpi_enforce_resources=lax

I needed that to be able to load the it87.ko temperature driver on one older P4 Board from 2001 or 2003.
https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt wrote:acpi_enforce_resources= [ACPI]
{ strict | lax | no }
Check for resource conflicts between native drivers
and ACPI OperationRegions (SystemIO and SystemMemory
only). IO ports and memory declared in ACPI might be
used by the ACPI subsystem in arbitrary AML code and
can interfere with legacy drivers.
strict (default): access to resources claimed by ACPI
is denied; legacy drivers trying to access reserved
resources will fail to bind to device using them.
lax: access to resources claimed by ACPI is allowed;
legacy drivers trying to access reserved resources
will bind successfully but a warning message is logged.
no: ACPI OperationRegions are not marked as reserved,
no further checks are performed.
Tried that Karlgodt, no joy
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan

User avatar
stiginge
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu 22 Mar 2007, 10:10
Location: Kerry, Ireland

#48 Post by stiginge »

Can anybody see any problem with this code in /etc/inittab:

Code: Select all

::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit
tty1::respawn:/sbin/getty -n -l /bin/autologinroot 38400 tty1
tty2::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
::shutdown:/etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown
::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/reboot
[/code]
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan

User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

#49 Post by Karl Godt »

No. An original inittab looks like

Code: Select all

::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit
tty1::respawn:/sbin/getty -n -l /bin/autologinroot 38400 tty1
tty2::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
tty3::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3
::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/reboot
There had been some new adjustments while introducing minint instead of busybox init or getty in current Puppies. There had been also complaints about PUPMODE=6 on USBflash to entire partitions. BK claimed some time ago, that he fixed that. Must be on his old bkhome.org/blog/ , while actually he uses the bkhome.org/blog2/ .

Somehow i suspect that you there are changes in the software in your partition that cause all this or some files in the lost+found folder.

User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

#50 Post by Karl Godt »

errata : it is mingetty replacing getty , not mininit.

slacko-5.3.1 inittab:

Code: Select all

::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit
tty1::respawn:/sbin/mingetty --autologin root tty1
tty2::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
tty3::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3
::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/reboot
And your inittab is a inittabPREV on slacko.

User avatar
stiginge
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu 22 Mar 2007, 10:10
Location: Kerry, Ireland

#51 Post by stiginge »

Karl Godt wrote:errata : it is mingetty replacing getty , not mininit.

slacko-5.3.1 inittab:

Code: Select all

::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit
tty1::respawn:/sbin/mingetty --autologin root tty1
tty2::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
tty3::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3
::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/reboot
And your inittab is a inittabPREV on slacko.
there is no such file /sbin/mingetty on 529
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#52 Post by Semme »

[erroneous]You've managed to focus on the wrong reply. It's Karls`first entry you want.[/erroneous]

User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

#53 Post by Karl Godt »

I have no idea honestly but as last idea it might be that the shutdown script /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown does not unmount some directories in the /mnt folder like cifs types internet or lan mounts. There had been a struggle with those some time ago in the bug section on this forum being partly wrong fixed that fex. my slacko-5.3.1 has that bug that it won't unmount anything at shutdown/reboot since the name of a variable was changed but in three lines that change had been forgotten to rename that variable.

User avatar
stiginge
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu 22 Mar 2007, 10:10
Location: Kerry, Ireland

#54 Post by stiginge »

Karl Godt wrote:I have no idea honestly but as last idea it might be that the shutdown script /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown does not unmount some directories in the /mnt folder like cifs types internet or lan mounts. There had been a struggle with those some time ago in the bug section on this forum being partly wrong fixed that fex. my slacko-5.3.1 has that bug that it won't unmount anything at shutdown/reboot since the name of a variable was changed but in three lines that change had been forgotten to rename that variable.
:D I deleted the second last line in inittab which was to do with shutdown, and hey presto - it's now rebooting and shutting down without hanging. That was all that was required
Buy silver, crash JPMorgan

User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

#55 Post by Karl Godt »

Yep is logical . /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown itself does not reboot/poweroff . It returns to the /sbin/reboot|poweroff scripts and these call busybox poweroff or reboot . When rc.shutdown unmounts everything also sys and proc are getting unmounted. That way modprobe cannot access /proc/modules and therefore spitting out these msgs. Never had thought that that would be the cause cos i always shutdown using the Menu Shutdown entries or wmreboot/wmpoweroff in X or reboot/poweroff when X's not running.

Surely big :lol:

Post Reply