Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 02:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development
Multiple SFS support in initrd
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3860
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 00:23    Post subject:  

That is not your Windows files. It is an OS's files licensed to you. Very Happy Rolling Eyes Laughing Razz Question
_________________
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1384

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 00:48    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
Now that we have adrv, ddrv and zdrv, could you also add c:drv please (to contain all my Windows files). I noticed ever since I first tried puppy that the c:drv has been missing...

Cool


Regarding c:drv, let me recycle another post Cool
Quote:
It can run from NTFS partitions.
Actually I find this a flaw! (also for puppy)
NTFS. So primarily you are a windows user, used to be asked 5 times if you "really, truly, positively want to open this application".
And now you are granted root access in a system that you do not know very well and you are one typo/click away from messing your Windows partition (and then spend a day try to recover your "graduation pictures" ).
Besides NTFS already implies that it is a hobby/test OS and is not really used


Razz

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 03:30    Post subject:  

Hi mavrothal.

filemnt message is: could not find free loop device.

Do I have to increase them as well in initrd.gz or how could this be done?

My initrd.gz has loop0 to loop10. The sfs_load creates automatically new ones if more sfs files are loaded.

So, let's say sfs_load has created new loops up to 16 then the iso could not be mounted if all loops are used. Unloading an sfs and mounting a iso works.
After unmounting the iso and loading new sfs mounting a iso fails again and son on. --> sometimes sfs_load stops to create new loop device after mounting an iso has failed several times.

That's really weird for a beginner like me... Laughing

To set option -x (set -x) in filemnt would have which effect?

Thanks

RSH

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1384

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 05:41    Post subject:  

R-S-H wrote:

To set option -x (set -x) in filemnt would have which effect?

Not that I know off. But is the filemnt behavior changes in you setting depending on "set -x"?

If you have problem with number or the generation of loop devices in /dev you may just want to make them manually once and have them there
Just type "mknod -m664 /dev/loop<number> b 7 <number>", where number is 11, 12,... etc (you can do it with a script too).

This will not address the root of the problem but it may cover it (up to the number of loop devices you will make).

The problem with this kind of "debugging" is that you have introduce several changes in your code-base so is hard for anybody else to reproduce or even see what is going on.
If you are going to keep developing/changing things you may want to seriously consider a versioning system (git, svn, hg etc). If it is pubic is even better Wink

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 14:28    Post subject:  

Thanks for your long support here, mavrothal.

I have used a script to create the loop devices:
Code:
#!/bin/bash -a
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# Make loop devices for LazY Puppy
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------

for i in 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64;
do
   mknod -m664 /dev/loop$i b 7 $i
done

exit 0

#------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# End
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All loop devices are successfully created. But I'm not sure how to do this or better saying when/where.

Should I create the loop devices from within the init scipt (at boot up) or editing the initr.gz to create the loop devices. Path then would be:
Code:
mknod -m664 /root/init_rd_temp/dev/loop$i b 7 $i

I assume different path makes no difference?

Thanks

RSH

P.S. Tests to create the loop devices has been made using a LazY Puppy version with no adrv options added (currently running it) - so, I couldn't test anything else yet.

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1384

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 14:42    Post subject:  

R-S-H wrote:

I assume different path makes no difference?

I do not know.
I have not seen devices outside /dev but this may just be a convention.

But I think we are getting waaaaay off topic here.
You may want to open a specific thread for these issues like "LazY puppy next" or something.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 15:41    Post subject:  

Quote:
I do not know.
I have not seen devices outside /dev but this may just be a convention.

No, the devices are not outside /dev. What I meant is, if I'm extracting the initrd.gz to edit the files those files will be extracted to /root/init_rd_temp. Therefor the path for the mknod command script would be /root/init_rd_temp/dev. Sorry for confusing you.

However: currently running LazY Puppy 3.0.0 with adrv option added. Executing the script to create loop devices up to 64. Loading sfs files up to pup_ro35 and mounting an iso still works - even after unloading sfs files and loading new ones. Everything seems to be fine. Very Happy

Thank you very much for your long support here, mavrothal. I will notice it in LazY Puppy 3 - when published! Cool

BTW:

I think my issues on this here are not LazY Puppy specific - they might surely hurt any lupu user who wants to add such a nice feature! Idea

Thanks again

RSH

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3860
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 16:18    Post subject:  

RSH : If the initrd.gz initscript should mount these dozen .sfs to merge them into the layered aufs/unionfs filesystem, then it must be altered. This sfs_load by shinobar is a nice and apparently good working script to mount and merge .sfs by /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit or rc.local or /root/Startup/my_sfs_load_script.sh .

Happy crashes while experimenting with /init !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2013, 16:23    Post subject:  

Hi Karl Godt.

Quote:
RSH : If the initrd.gz initscript should mount these dozen .sfs to merge them into the layered aufs/unionfs filesystem, then it must be altered. This sfs_load by shinobar is a nice and apparently good working script to mount and merge .sfs by /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit or rc.local or /root/Startup/my_sfs_load_script.sh .

As usual useful information! Cool

Quote:
Happy crashes while experimenting with /init !

Thanks, but so far: nothing crashed! Very Happy

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0644s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]