Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 03 Sep 2014, 01:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Dillo - Browser
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1111
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 13:42    Post subject:  

Hi aragon.

That was a quick response. The screen shot below shows the start of my post as viewed from Dillo (which is in substitution for a link - where I only took a snapshot of the two words).

Yes, I tried your Dillo 2.2 pet and two pets from Tman.

I suspect that apart from the Dillo screen shot - my above post looks normal to most readers.

My regards
image-4.png
 Description   
 Filesize   36.93 KB
 Viewed   1239 Time(s)

image-4.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 14:35    Post subject:  

Ah, ok i see. But back to the other part of the question, did you try the actual pet from the first post (3...)? You're allways refering to 2.2 which is an older one...

Aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1111
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 14:51    Post subject:  

Hi aragon,

I tried v 3 from Tman and v 2.2 from yourself and Tman.

I can try your 3.0.2-1 pet in about 2 hours from now if you think it may help.

My regards

Update - I have just tried your 3.0.2-1 - but no joy.
I will be back on line in about two hours.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4348

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 15:51    Post subject:  

try one of these:http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=564263#564263
edit: or change your font settings in the config file

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101

Last edited by technosaurus on Mon 19 Nov 2012, 16:13; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 15:58    Post subject:  

Jasper wrote:
Hi aragon,

I tried v 3 from Tman and v 2.2 from yourself and Tman.

I can try your 3.0.2-1 pet in about 2 hours from now if you think it may help.

My regards

Update - I have just tried your 3.0.2-1 - but no joy.
I will be back on line in about two hours.


hi jasper,

will try tomorrow if i could see something ...

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1111
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 17:54    Post subject:  

Hi technosaurus,

Thank you very much for your suggestions. I have tried both
versions though without success.

It is not very important - it's just that it would be nicer if
it were fixed.

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burunduk

Joined: 21 Aug 2011
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 22:00    Post subject:  

Dillo seems to be deceived by the page code:

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">

The real encoding is utf-8. Firefox is smart enough to ignore the tag.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 05:41    Post subject:  

Jasper,

i've looked into the issue ...

Dillo will only display special chars correct if

a) the charset is set to utf-8 as burunduk mentions
b) special chars are escaped properly (what as far as i see/understand does not happen for the message-body in the forum)

so it seems this is more a phpBB issue, than a dillo issue. Other browser just seem to be more fault-tolerant.

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1111
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 09:10    Post subject:  

Hi aragon, Burunduk and technosaurus,

Thank you all very much for your time and help.

I have been using utf-8 throughout, plus there have been a few thousand dillo downloads from this thread (apparently with few, if any, display problems).

So, it would seem that, whilst phpBB may well be problematic, there is some other cause more specific to me.

My computing knowledge is so poor that I don't even have a pay grade, so I can only understand any comments in a non-technical sense.

Burunduk mentioned "page code" and I do remember that long ago (using W98SE and a particular DOS program) I had to use Code Page 437 (instead of 850 or 85?) to see a correct display.

I still have W98SE on my computer, but I think I had to set code page 437 in autoexec.bat or config.sys so I have no idea if (or how) that might affect Puppy Linux and my dillo display.

My regards

_________________
Desktop (1998 with 2002 Motherboard replacement) @ 2.0 GHz with 640 MB (SDRAM).
Precise 5.6 with Multi-session-Live-CD/DVD + W98SE solely for rare printing needs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
redandwhitestripes

Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 01:46    Post subject:  

I love Dillo but I'm having a couple of issues with my 3.0 version in Precise.

1) Non-stop "certificate" warnings each time I follow a link.. Possibly caused by my clock being out of sync since I use no battery in my laptop.

2) I can't figure which URL to insert in the Dillo cookiesrc file to allow me to log in and view gmail in html mode. I have to resort to using "DEFAULT ACCEPT" which I don't like.

Any advice on fixing either of the above is most welcome.
Thanks
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 02:07    Post subject:  

redandwhitestripes wrote:
Quote:
Non-stop "certificate" warnings each time I follow a link

This is a pretty common occurrence with Dillo, especially with certain websites.

Quote:
I can't figure which URL to insert in the Dillo cookiesrc file to allow me to log in and view gmail in html mode.

A full-featured browser is usually required to access e-mail accounts.
Remember, Dillo doesn't support cache, cookies, history, etc...which is why it's so much faster.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
session


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 89
Location: Valley of the Sun

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 05:04    Post subject: dillo 3.0.3 soon  

...since this thread's up...

It looks like dillo 3.0.3 will be released real soon.

_________________
Primary - Intel Celeron 1.80GHz, 579MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TF. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro full install.
Secondary - Pentium 3 533MHz, 385MB RAM, Matrox MGA-G200 AGP. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro frugal install. (IDE HD is 428 MB!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
redandwhitestripes

Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 20:53    Post subject:  

Dewbie wrote:
redandwhitestripes wrote:


Quote:
I can't figure which URL to insert in the Dillo cookiesrc file to allow me to log in and view gmail in html mode.

A full-featured browser is usually required to access e-mail accounts.
Remember, Dillo doesn't support cache, cookies, history, etc...which is why it's so much faster.


I know, but my point is that I can access gmail, but I can't figure out the exact url required to "accept" cookies for in dillorc, I've tried several, such as mail.google.com that don't work, so I've had to configure dillorc as 'default accept'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4348

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 21:28    Post subject:  

Tcpdump is useful to find out what sites are getting called.
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 754

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 22:10    Post subject:  

If you type dillo from shell, it will display which websites are called.
For example:
Code:
Nav_open_url: new url='http://mail.google.com/mail/'
Dns_server [0]: mail.google.com is 173.194.45.54 173.194.45.53
Connecting to 173.194.45.54
Nav_open_url: new url='https://accounts.google.com/ServiceLogin?service=mail&passive=true&rm=false&continue=http://mail.google.com/mail/&scc=1&ltmpl=default&ltmplcache=2'
Capi_filters_test: deny from 'accounts.google.com' to 'ssl.gstatic.com'

Last edited by linuxcbon on Sat 16 Mar 2013, 10:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0858s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0118s) ][ GZIP on ]