Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 14:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lxpup 14 final 7-20-2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 39 of 48 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, ..., 46, 47, 48 Next
Author Message
Jejy69


Joined: 20 Jan 2011
Posts: 707
Location: Perpignan

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2013, 15:11    Post_subject:  

Hi mates !

@mavrothal, thanks for this report, I didn't know that 1gb was not enough.
Indeed, we can save space. I'm working on it as soon as possible. Smile

@natgab, Thanks you, I was a little afraid that my absence is a source of discontent. Smile If you want, I released today KDE 4.10 sfs, but I don't know if it works correctly on Lxpup 13.
[url]
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84579[/url]

Cheers !

_________________
I'm Commander Shepard and this is my favorite Linux distrbution on the Citadel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 85
Location: Pickering, ON Canada

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2013, 22:49    Post_subject:  

Jejy69 wrote:

I released today KDE 4.10 sfs, but I don't know if it works correctly on Lxpup 13.


I installed the kde4.10 sfs in lxpup13.01. Everything I tried worked. The WM Switcher application, also worked when selecting KDE..

It did however appear to have an issue. A notification was displayed:

" Nepomuk Semantic Desktop needs Virtuoso RDF Server to store its data. Installing the Virtuoso Soprano plugin ismandatory for using Nepomuk."

Whatever is missing, it didn't appear to interfere with the operation of the system. I did some searching in Puppy Package Manager and found a package for Soprano 2.7.6.

I don't know if this package is relevant to the notification message. I didn't install it as there were 10 dependencies which were huge.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jejy69


Joined: 20 Jan 2011
Posts: 707
Location: Perpignan

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2013, 09:37    Post_subject:  

Hello Terry H,

Yep, Nepomuk doesn't work with Root account. So i removed some applications linked to this software, like this, KDE sfs is more light, but the pup-up is always here...
But Nepomuk is not important. Smile

_________________
I'm Commander Shepard and this is my favorite Linux distrbution on the Citadel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
billyboy47

Joined: 01 Mar 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2013, 12:30    Post_subject:  

I am trying to run it also on my Vye S18 mini with 1mb of ram but it is too slow for some reason. It has an AMD GeodeLX processor.
I can get the screen resoltion sorted via vesa from xorg but still remains slow.

I have downloaded Lxpup Slacko 13.01 to my old asus with 526mb ram, all is well. Responsive etc etc, even with youtube video!

Any ideas regarding the geodeLX or is it simply rubbish at handling anything? I have windows xp on it currently and it still cannot handle youtube videos correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
natgab


Joined: 12 Feb 2012
Posts: 76
Location: Southern California, US

PostPosted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 04:40    Post_subject:  

Jejy69 wrote:
Hi mates !

@mavrothal, thanks for this report, I didn't know that 1gb was not enough.
Indeed, we can save space. I'm working on it as soon as possible. Smile

@natgab, Thanks you, I was a little afraid that my absence is a source of discontent. Smile If you want, I released today KDE 4.10 sfs, but I don't know if it works correctly on Lxpup 13.
[url]
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84579[/url]

Cheers !


---I'm currently using the older version of MATE, the one included with LXpup13. Do I have to change back to LXDE, delete the MATE.sfs and then add the new one version and then switch DE again? I would rather ask before I do it and not mess things up.

The new KDE I am going to add to an extra USB with a new install of Lxpup 13. I haven't used KDE since Kubuntu 7.10 I think. Very Happy This USB is on my keychain for emergencies.

_________________
R61 Thinkpad Laptop CPU 2.0 GHz C2D / RAM 4.0 GB
LCD 1280 x 800 WXGA / 80GB HD
GPU 256MB Intel GMA 965 / WIFI Intel 3945ABG / OS Vista + Xubuntu 14.04
X40 Thinkpad Laptop OS Lxpup 14 LXDE (nieces toy now)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
natgab


Joined: 12 Feb 2012
Posts: 76
Location: Southern California, US

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 03:30    Post_subject: KDE desktop question  

The USB called SANDISK (sdb1) is my USB with KDE installed. It works great, but I can't make Dolphin (the file manager) to show me the full USB. I have the folder Storage HD, and I cannot see that information.

How can I see it in KDE like I am able to see it in MATE? I tried going to /root and looking in /mnt, but the folder does not show up. I carry this back and forth from work and would like to be able to access my information if I have to use the USB to boot a broken PC.



SOLVED: Fixed the KDE problem. Now I can see what is on my USB and I was able to place the short cut in the Home folder widget (white arrow). Red arrow shows path of where it is located, for anybody who had the same problem.


_________________
R61 Thinkpad Laptop CPU 2.0 GHz C2D / RAM 4.0 GB
LCD 1280 x 800 WXGA / 80GB HD
GPU 256MB Intel GMA 965 / WIFI Intel 3945ABG / OS Vista + Xubuntu 14.04
X40 Thinkpad Laptop OS Lxpup 14 LXDE (nieces toy now)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WillM

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 144
Location: Oakland, California

PostPosted: Tue 05 Mar 2013, 14:22    Post_subject:  

LXpup – More Than Just Puppy Linux With LXDE

http://www.muktware.com/5307/lxpup-%E2%80%93-more-just-puppy-linux-lxde
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
natgab


Joined: 12 Feb 2012
Posts: 76
Location: Southern California, US

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 14:25    Post_subject:  

I'm not getting Flash video since yesterday. YouTube and Yahoo says Adobe plugin has crashed. Anybody else?

flash version: 11,2,202,273

EDIT - PROBLEM SOLVED:

I re-installed an older backup of my save file with KDE. This loaded and when I turned on Firefox it updated automatically to 18.01. Youtube loaded and worked. My other save file that was giving me problems had FF 17.01 and would not let me update through Puppy Package Manager.

I guess something was messed up in Puppy Pkg. Manager from some extra applications I updated.

--PeeBee, what does your update to LXpanel do? Does it make the computer shutdown automatically? Every time I turn off KDE, I get the prompt and need to type "shutoff / reboot".

_________________
R61 Thinkpad Laptop CPU 2.0 GHz C2D / RAM 4.0 GB
LCD 1280 x 800 WXGA / 80GB HD
GPU 256MB Intel GMA 965 / WIFI Intel 3945ABG / OS Vista + Xubuntu 14.04
X40 Thinkpad Laptop OS Lxpup 14 LXDE (nieces toy now)

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1464
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2013, 18:19    Post_subject: LXPanelX for LxPup 13.01  

I was a fan of LXPanelX that Jejy used for LxPup 12.12

so when LxPup 13.01 was released with LXPanel I decided to see if I could install LXPanelX.

The result is this pet:
lxpanelx4lxpup-1.pet

This is definitely offered with no warranty whatsoever - but I have been using it for a bit and it seems to work OK.

After installing it, do a Restart WM from the shutdown menu to get it going.

The pet includes as well as LxPanelX a top and bottom panel configured how I like them plus a button in the top panel to suspend my laptop.

[edit] Oh yes - it also contains a fix to rox so that Puppy progs that rely on rox actually use pcmanfm.

Hope somebody enjoys trying it out.
Cheers
peebee
capture18370.png
 Description   The included desktop
 Filesize   195.53 KB
 Viewed   1184 Time(s)

capture18370.png


_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1464
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2013, 08:18    Post_subject: Missing icons  

Some files when displayed by pcmanfm have missing icons in LxPup 13.01 - see vmlinuz in the screenie - anybody know how to make a default icon display?
capture18280.png
 Description   
 Filesize   32.47 KB
 Viewed   1124 Time(s)

capture18280.png


_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2013, 13:49    Post_subject: Re: Missing icons  

.
Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
natgab


Joined: 12 Feb 2012
Posts: 76
Location: Southern California, US

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2013, 13:54    Post_subject: Re: Missing icons  

peebee wrote:
Some files when displayed by pcmanfm have missing icons in LxPup 13.01 - see vmlinuz in the screenie - anybody know how to make a default icon display?


---Running LXDE right now with Oxygen icon color set. I get all of them.

Do either of you have trouble with Flash? I guess I'm going to have to re-install, still getting flash error. Sad

_________________
R61 Thinkpad Laptop CPU 2.0 GHz C2D / RAM 4.0 GB
LCD 1280 x 800 WXGA / 80GB HD
GPU 256MB Intel GMA 965 / WIFI Intel 3945ABG / OS Vista + Xubuntu 14.04
X40 Thinkpad Laptop OS Lxpup 14 LXDE (nieces toy now)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BobSongs


Joined: 06 Feb 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 22:35    Post_subject: Files I added to the USB thumbdrive  

I installed Lxpup Precise 12.12 to my thumbdrive. However, the USB boot from the thumbdrive didn't give me the CD's start up options.

To restore those options to your USB thumbdrive (RAM drive), copy these files from the Lxpup CD to your USB stick:
    boot.msg
    help.msg
    help2.msg
    logo.16

Then, using leafpad, edit syslinux.cfg on your thumbdrive. You'll see it only has this line:
Code:
default vmlinuz initrd=initrd.gz pmedia=usbflash

I changed mine to look like this:
Code:
default puppy
display boot.msg
prompt 1
timeout 50

F1 boot.msg
F2 help.msg
F3 help2.msg

label puppy
kernel vmlinuz
append initrd=initrd.gz pmedia=usbflash

I grabbed that extra bit of code from the CD's syslinux.cfg file.

Why make the USB boot resemble the CD boot?
My personal file, lxpupsave-Dell.4fs could break or get corrupted. Should booting to my normal personal setup fail, I can reboot from the same thumbdrive, press F1 and type
Code:
puppy pfix=ram

and let it boot without my broken file. Or, I can create a second profile on the same 16 Gb thumbdrive to try different options.

I restored ''default'' to be puppy because none of the boot up options worked on the USB drive until then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
natgab


Joined: 12 Feb 2012
Posts: 76
Location: Southern California, US

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 15:31    Post_subject: Re: Files I added to the USB thumbdrive  

BobSongs wrote:
I installed Lxpup Precise 12.12 to my thumbdrive. However, the USB boot from the thumbdrive didn't give me the CD's start up options.

To restore those options to your USB thumbdrive (RAM drive), copy these files from the Lxpup CD to your USB stick:
    boot.msg
    help.msg
    help2.msg
    logo.16

Then, using leafpad, edit syslinux.cfg on your thumbdrive. You'll see it only has this line:
Code:
default vmlinuz initrd=initrd.gz pmedia=usbflash

I changed mine to look like this:
Code:
default puppy
display boot.msg
prompt 1
timeout 50

F1 boot.msg
F2 help.msg
F3 help2.msg

label puppy
kernel vmlinuz
append initrd=initrd.gz pmedia=usbflash

I grabbed that extra bit of code from the CD's syslinux.cfg file.

Why make the USB boot resemble the CD boot?
My personal file, lxpupsave-Dell.4fs could break or get corrupted. Should booting to my normal personal setup fail, I can reboot from the same thumbdrive, press F1 and type
Code:
puppy pfix=ram

and let it boot without my broken file. Or, I can create a second profile on the same 16 Gb thumbdrive to try different options.

I restored ''default'' to be puppy because none of the boot up options worked on the USB drive until then.


--Can I do this to the one I am using? Or does this have to be done to a clean install? I think I'd like to try this and have separate saves too.

_________________
R61 Thinkpad Laptop CPU 2.0 GHz C2D / RAM 4.0 GB
LCD 1280 x 800 WXGA / 80GB HD
GPU 256MB Intel GMA 965 / WIFI Intel 3945ABG / OS Vista + Xubuntu 14.04
X40 Thinkpad Laptop OS Lxpup 14 LXDE (nieces toy now)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
danneauxs

Joined: 14 Oct 2008
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 16:31    Post_subject: edit menus  

Just installed and playing with this. Very fast and I like it but some issues.

The issue of this post is menus.
Can I edit menus? If so how?
I'd like to delete an icon for a program that didn't install properly, even better I'd like to rearrange the whole menu layout. One of the things I've chafed at since I first used puppy a few years ago was I want my menu system to reflect how "I" think not how someone else wants it to be. I usually end up cluttering up my puppy desktop to avoid using the menus.

Thanks
Danneauxs
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 39 of 48 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, ..., 46, 47, 48 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1088s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0160s) ][ GZIP on ]