Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 01:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Blue screenshot from UM Player (solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
icosahedron


Joined: 28 Nov 2011
Posts: 45
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 13 Mar 2013, 13:39    Post_subject:  Blue screenshot from UM Player (solved)  

Hi,

I'm using Lucid 5.2.5.

When I try to take a screenshot from UM Player version 0.95, using the default MT Paint screen capture tool, the captured image shows for a fraction of a second, then it's replaced by a plain blue field. The image data does not seem to be captured. All I get is a png depicting a blue screen.

I can capture a video image from the default Gnome player without difficulty, so I assume it's a problem with UM Player.

Any idea what is wrong and how to fix it? I need UM Player for its Frame-step function. (I've tried a capture on live, pause and step, and I get the blue screen of death in all captures from UM Player).

It could be something simple. I'm a Linux beginner, and I probably can't fix anything from Command Line - I've never used it.

Thanks.

_________________
Computers: - I just ride 'em, I dunno what makes 'em work.
For me, the Console is labelled "Here be Dragons."

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4050
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 13 Mar 2013, 16:26    Post_subject:  

Which output driver's being used for video? Does the condition reach across different video formats?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
icosahedron


Joined: 28 Nov 2011
Posts: 45
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 02:42    Post_subject:  

Sorry, what does output driver mean? Where would I find the answer? (my sig says it all. Sad )

It sort of bridges formats.
Following your question, I tried different formats. It does what I described on MP4 and Mpeg, but on wmv, instead of seeing a blue screen, I see the continuing video in the MT Paint screenshot window rather than a still shot if I snapshot without pausing the vid. If I pause, it seems to work normally, but when I save, it goes through the motions, but the image file shows the blue screen when I retrieve it.

Those are the only formats I have to hand just now, but it seems likely that any screenshot image will be blue regardless of interim appearances.

Thanks.

_________________
Computers: - I just ride 'em, I dunno what makes 'em work.
For me, the Console is labelled "Here be Dragons."
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1497
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 05:31    Post_subject:  

Hello icosahedron

icosahedron wrote:
Sorry, what does output driver mean? Where would I find the answer? (my sig says it all. Sad )


I think these (see image) are what Semme is talking about.

CatDude
.
umplayer-prefs.png
 Description   
 Filesize   48.36 KB
 Viewed   249 Time(s)

umplayer-prefs.png


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
icosahedron


Joined: 28 Nov 2011
Posts: 45
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 06:14    Post_subject:  

Thanks Cat Dude. Well, in that case, it's set to the default xv.

As a matter of curiosity I fired up my 'other' machine, and Windows Media Player won't capture screenshots into MS Paint either.

I'm wondering if it's some sort of anti-piracy security thingy (note the techno-jargon there) that Gnome player (1.0.2) successfully ignores. I wonder if there's a later version of Gnome Player with a frame-step function?

Thanks.

_________________
Computers: - I just ride 'em, I dunno what makes 'em work.
For me, the Console is labelled "Here be Dragons."
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4050
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 07:04    Post_subject:  

Thank you CatDude.

==

This has something to do with the frame buffer. Since I don't fully understand it, I don't have a reasonable explanation.
Quote:
When I try to take a screenshot from UM Player version 0.95, using the default MT Paint screen capture tool, the captured image shows for a fraction of a second, then it's replaced by a plain blue field. The image data does not seem to be captured. All I get is a png depicting a blue screen.

What you can do is take that screenshot with UMPlayer itself- under video.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
icosahedron


Joined: 28 Nov 2011
Posts: 45
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 07:34    Post_subject:  

Thanks Semme.

I tried taking a screen shot with UM Player's own screenshot command, but I couldn't figure out how to import that into MT Paint. Either the screen capture isn't working or I need to sit down for a few weeks and learn how to use MT Paint properly, too. I'll fit it in sometime...

However, I've just found on the net some keyboard controls for Gnome M Player that aren't listed in its non-existent help file.

Apparently Gnome does have a frame step function - it's the full stop (period) key. So my immediate problem can be solved by using Gnome rather than UM, but I'd still like an effective way to capture from UM.

Thanks.

_________________
Computers: - I just ride 'em, I dunno what makes 'em work.
For me, the Console is labelled "Here be Dragons."
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4050
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 08:55    Post_subject:  

Import would have to happen directly from mtPaint as I doubt UMPlayer can handle the transfer the same way the psnapshot script can. At least, not without some Very Happy *divine* intervention.

UMPlayer by default saves screen shots to /root/.config/umplayer/screenshots..

This is where you'd open them from mtPaint.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
icosahedron


Joined: 28 Nov 2011
Posts: 45
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 03:27    Post_subject:  

Thank you Semme. That location works and it stores images that are not a blue screen. I would never have found it buried away in hidden files.

Problem solved. Smile

It’s a pleasure to to find helpers who can explain things to a Bear of Very Little Brain. Smile

Thanks again for your time.

_________________
Computers: - I just ride 'em, I dunno what makes 'em work.
For me, the Console is labelled "Here be Dragons."
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4050
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 05:10    Post_subject:  

Oh good. Just look under the *general* tab in options >> prefs and you'll see YOU control the destination directory.

*Update: As I originally thought, changing the output driver to say, x11 or gl will allow capture with an outside utility.
swapped-output-driver-ss.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  swapped-output-driver-ss.jpg 
Filesize  161.57 KB 
Downloaded  57 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
icosahedron


Joined: 28 Nov 2011
Posts: 45
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2013, 02:38    Post_subject:  

Even better.

Thanks for that update. Now I just have to remember all this next time I want to capture from video. Smile

(I run Puppy live from CD, so I tend to add things like this to a list and remaster when the list gets long enough.)

_________________
Computers: - I just ride 'em, I dunno what makes 'em work.
For me, the Console is labelled "Here be Dragons."
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1497
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2013, 04:27    Post_subject:  

Hi

icosahedron wrote:
...Now I just have to remember all this next time I want to capture from video. Smile

(I run Puppy live from CD, so I tend to add things like this to a list and remaster when the list gets long enough.)


Have you considered using NoteCase to keep your hints/tips etc Question
Most Puppies have it installed under Personal in the menu.

You can add images and links, i use it all the time.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4050
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2013, 09:46    Post_subject:    


Now THAT is gonna come in handy!
<Once I figure out howda woik it>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
icosahedron


Joined: 28 Nov 2011
Posts: 45
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 07:39    Post_subject:  

Hi Cat Dude, thanks for that tip.

I see the thing, but as Semme says, I've no idea what it does or how to work it, and, along with much other potentially useful stuff, I doubt if I'll find the time to learn in the next decade... I just write a WP document and file it on a stick under Puppy Updates.

_________________
Computers: - I just ride 'em, I dunno what makes 'em work.
For me, the Console is labelled "Here be Dragons."
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4050
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 09:53    Post_subject:  

Hey Sherlock- just incase, create the /usr/share/doc/notecase folder and drop this in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0771s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]