Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 12:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
alphaOS [closed]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 47 [697 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 45, 46, 47 Next
Author Message
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2013, 06:51    Post subject:  

stifiling, as you mentioned somewhere pacman still works in alphaOS and reason for that is I kept part of spkg that makes entries in /var/lib/pacman/local, so pacman still recognizes packages from there as installed... spkg even handle things like "provides, conflict, replaces"

Still, I would rather to just compile programs in alphaOS to get the best compatibility.

Compiling full xfce from source for example is not that hard (require about 10-15 packages)

Some more things about spkg:
1. if you type spkg -gi evince it will get and install evince plus dependency poppler
2. with spkg -g evince it will just get evince to cache directory and Not poppler. Is this enough or I should modify script to get dependencies even if you don't want to install package?
3. spkg -i is command for installing local packages and supports infinite number of arguments. Example: you have folder with 100 spkg packages and you type spkg -i * they are all installed
4. If you go to /initrd/pup_rw/var/lib/spkg/installed you will see packages installed by you (not part of the main iso)
5. automatically upgrading packages does not work and I have no idea how to implement that
6. spkg repack PKGNAME, will remake package from installed files
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ojowinter

Joined: 10 Mar 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2013, 09:48    Post subject:  

Hello, my first post Surprised

Several quetion is ok?
1. How to save alphaos state to keep permanently in strage memory?

remaine my disk capacity is 100M... Embarassed
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1053962/arpha-20130316143951.png

2. How to backup my def file created under /mnt/home/data/spkg/def-scripts/*/?

thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2013, 10:21    Post subject:  

ojowinter wrote:
Hello, my first post Surprised

Several quetion is ok?
1. How to save alphaos state to keep permanently in strage memory?

remaine my disk capacity is 100M... Embarassed
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1053962/arpha-20130316143951.png

2. How to backup my def file created under /mnt/home/data/spkg/def-scripts/*/?

thanks.


Hi ojowinter, thanks for using alphaOS! Very Happy

1.Check under System- make personal save file, select desired size and partition .
That created file will be loaded on every start up with all your settings, You can also copy that file somewhere as alphasave.2fs.bak
in case of some problems appear, I do that all the time.

2. In next version pciutils will be in main iso, I forgot about that package before.
From that screenshot I'd you are quite advanced user so maybe you could help maintaining alpha os repository Wink
http://code.google.com/p/alphaos/downloads/list

In case of smaller disk capacity you might be interested in function spkg makesfs that converts all packages in a folder to single sfs module. 20 sfs modules can be loaded I think that's more than enough for everyone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2013, 11:07    Post subject:  

Interesting or not, with this command you cand find appropriate CFLAGS for your CPU
Code:
echo "" | gcc -march=native -v -E - 2>&1 | grep cc1

For me it's -march=nocona -mtune=nocona Surprised

Source: http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Hardware_CFLAGS#Determining_available_processor_features
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ojowinter

Joined: 10 Mar 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2013, 23:05    Post subject:  

umm...Honestly, I didn't know well gcc option and how way to confirm it.
I study your advising to me Surprised

Btw, Now remind me gtk-doc build trouble.

Dependencies
gtk-doc - docbook-xsl - docbook-xml

Some gtk application need gtk-doc, and so need to package docbook-xml, docbook-xlt,
but two is required by manually handling setup... Sad
http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/blfs/view/svn/pst/DocBook.html
http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/blfs/view/svn/pst/docbook-xsl.html

I think that it's good to have two in default alpha iso.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 07:29    Post subject:  

ojowinter wrote:
Btw, Now remind me gtk-doc build trouble.

Dependencies
gtk-doc - docbook-xsl - docbook-xml

Some gtk application need gtk-doc, and so need to package docbook-xml, docbook-xlt,
but two is required by manually handling setup... Sad
http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/blfs/view/svn/pst/DocBook.html
http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/blfs/view/svn/pst/docbook-xsl.html

I think that it's good to have two in default alpha iso.


I try to avoid documentation files where ever possible to save some space, and /usr/share/doc for every package is removed before compressing.

Where did you have problems with missing gtk-doc? For me that problem appeared only with dconf, so I made patch to just in Makefile.in and Makefile.am remove doc from subdirs. If gtk-doc is hard dependency I guess we can add it, but not in main iso.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ojowinter

Joined: 10 Mar 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 17:23    Post subject:  

Quote:
I try to avoid documentation files where ever possible to save some space


ok. I missed this point in mind.

Quote:
Where did you have problems with missing gtk-doc?


https://github.com/gandalfn/Cairo-Composite-Manager

My trouble is occurred ./autogen.sh phase, I try to do several times,
however my autools skill is poor, so I'll not be correspond with it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 17:51    Post subject:  

I don't have git installed to test but in this file
https://github.com/gandalfn/Cairo-Composite-Manager/blob/master/Makefile.am

you could try to remove --enable-gtk-doc

and also doc from subdirs
SUBDIRS = lib src tools plugins test doc gir vapi data po
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ojowinter

Joined: 10 Mar 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 02:40    Post subject:  

Github seem to address archive/master.zip to export zip format.
I'm retry to build, It seem to be success.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1053962/cairo-compmgr.def
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1053962/cairo-compmgr.patch

umm, I have one point problem. Alpha don't have unzip command Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 03:45    Post subject:  

Smile You are right about unzip, I'm adding it right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
john3voltas

Joined: 23 May 2011
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 06:17    Post subject:  

Sorry to go a bit offtopic but, do you know what happened to ArchPup's forum? Freeforum.com says they closed it and since ArchPup's topic here at murga is locked up...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 06:19    Post subject:  

Description in first post here and on source forge is now updated to be a lil less scary...

john3voltas wrote:
Sorry to go a bit offtopic but, do you know what happened to ArchPup's forum? Freeforum.com says they closed it and since ArchPup's topic here at murga is locked up...

I've removed it, it's now part of the history Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 12:26    Post subject:  

Next version will have graphical front end for package manager written in Gtkdialog,
and will be easy even for beginners.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2462
Location: near here

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 13:23    Post subject:  

john3voltas wrote:
Sorry to go a bit offtopic but, do you know what happened to ArchPup's forum? Freeforum.com says they closed it and since ArchPup's topic here at murga is locked up...


I was wondering the same, maybe ArchPup by simargl is no longer going forward? Perhaps influenced by Woof's ability to make an 'Apup' being fixed after been broken for a while. http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00179

It may also be felt that it is inappropriate to discuss in this sub-forum.

Interestingly, Arch Linux forum has a policy of not supporting any derivative of Arch.

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 13:55    Post subject:  

darkcity, here is Barry K. comment about Archpup
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=691879#691879

BarryK wrote:
Good luck to simargl though. His distro has it's own site and is really a fork, that is based on some of the Puppy initrd and skeleton infrastructure. So, it stands alone as it's own distro.


I felt it not fair from me continue with using Pup name in distro that is really very different, and because of problems with
udev, iconv and because I like to experiment here is alphaOS where everything is compiled from scratch. Things that
defined Archpup like openbox, dynamic menu update, conky, tint2, spaceFM are still here, and off course option for easy
switching deskops with sfs modules.

New forum: http://alphaos.freeforums.org/index.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 47 [697 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 45, 46, 47 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0901s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0113s) ][ GZIP on ]