Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 00:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Menus are messed up
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
JamesTheAwesomeDude


Joined: 29 Jan 2013
Posts: 99
Location: Classified

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 19:39    Post subject:  Menus are messed up  

Okay, I don't know what I did, but for some reason, the menus no longer have a 2-level hierarchy.

For example, GParted used to be located at Menu>System>SomethingOrOther>Gparted, but now it's just Menu>System>GParted. This makes the menus very cluttered, and I can't find out how to reverse this behavior.

I've tried deleting ~/.jwm, but that didn't fix it.

_________________
Version 27. Dotpet. Click here.
(SFS available too!)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 20:31    Post subject:
Subject description: occasionally it happens
 

hi James
a) pup and version, please.. (wm too)
b) (see /etc/xdg/menus/*.menu files) sometimes the inline limit gets fouled - usually (if true) it works to set a limit on number of entries in a subcat, if limit is exceeded then the subcat is branched (otherwise it's inline or should be)
c) another place to check is /usr/share/desktop-directories for cats and subcats
d) individual dotdesktops in /usr/share/applications (usually), check the Categories=* line
e) cluttered menus Laughing something for everyone, including ways to tidy
f) yah, deleting ~/.jwm ain't gonna do much as far as the rootmenu go

hth a trifle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JamesTheAwesomeDude


Joined: 29 Jan 2013
Posts: 99
Location: Classified

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 23:12    Post subject:
Subject description: occasionally it happens
 

`f00 wrote:
hi James
a) pup and version, please.. (wm too)
b) (see /etc/xdg/menus/*.menu files) sometimes the inline limit gets fouled - usually (if true) it works to set a limit on number of entries in a subcat, if limit is exceeded then the subcat is branched (otherwise it's inline or should be)
c) another place to check is /usr/share/desktop-directories for cats and subcats
d) individual dotdesktops in /usr/share/applications (usually), check the Categories=* line
e) cluttered menus Laughing something for everyone, including ways to tidy
f) yah, deleting ~/.jwm ain't gonna do much as far as the rootmenu go

hth a trifle


Sorry I forgot - Slacko Puppy 5.4, with JWM (the default.)

I opened up a few of the .menus in /etc/xdg/menus, and the inline limit on everything is set to 99. I've set it all to 1, but that didn't change anything (nor did trying 2, or any other number.)

I couldn't find anything useful in /usr/share/desktop-directories, and the categories in the .desktops are fine.

_________________
Version 27. Dotpet. Click here.
(SFS available too!)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1484
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 15:40    Post subject:  

Hi

@ James
It sounds like you have somehow changed line 1
in this file: /root/.jwm/JWMRC

It should look like this:
Code:
SUBMENU="0" #SUBMENUS=""


But i suspect it currently looks like this:
Code:
SUBMENU="" #SUBMENUS=""


if it does, then change it and run fixmenus.


CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
duke93535


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 194
Location: California , High Desert

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 09:36    Post subject:  

The menus in Slacko 5.4 are indeed messed up.

It is an all or nothing on the sub-menus and the switch is as CatDude has written. The menus in Slacko 5.5 are fixed to a degree. One file is still incorrect for the menus to work properly. I have repaired this, by changing it for the same one out of Precise Puppy 5.5.

The file to change is libgnome-menu.so.2.0.2 in /usr/lib. Now the menus are controlled by /etc/xdg/menus/puppy-xxxx.menu files. You now can have some sub-menus and some not. Of course, you could just switch to using Precise 5.5.

Between the two Precise 5.5 and Slacko 5.5, Precise is a little faster booting and has all the font types too, which are missing in Slacko without modifying it again with Precise.

duke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0530s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]