Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 01:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
HOWTO create easy multi-boot USB Puppy from Linux
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 6 [81 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 14:01    Post subject:  

Quote:
slitaz requests events from the kernel and lock.

Antix 13 Can not mount SDA1 but that could



Steve who created Easy2Boot has posted some menu items of Slitaz and Antix --- I havent tried them!

You can use them directly with Easy2Boot .mnu feature or hack the straight into
isobooter menu.lst and try.

I dunnow if they'll work bur steve is very good at what he does - you could try

Good luck with isobooter!
Slitaz-4.0.iso.zip
Description  Slitaz-4.0
zip

 Download 
Filename  Slitaz-4.0.iso.zip 
Filesize  743 Bytes 
Downloaded  171 Time(s) 
antiX-M11-core-squeeze-486.iso.zip
Description  AntiX M11 core 486 iso
zip

 Download 
Filename  antiX-M11-core-squeeze-486.iso.zip 
Filesize  788 Bytes 
Downloaded  154 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 03:31    Post subject:  

Edit. It could have been me downloading the wrong iso.
I still don't know I am too lazy to find out. sorry
old text
I downloaded and looked into Slitaz-4.0.iso.zip and there is
nothing there that is different from what Easy2boot already have
in the boot code so I doubt it would work differently.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Wed 10 Apr 2013, 05:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2013, 07:20    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
I downloaded and looked into Slitaz-4.0.iso.zip and there is
nothing there that is different from what Easy2boot already have
in the boot code so I doubt it would work differently.


As I said I didnt try it(or look at it) but it was reported as working
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 08:01    Post subject:  

looks like rmprep(steve) is working on a new version of Easy2Boot

It seems like he is working on windows install iso's and more

check out

https://sites.google.com/a/rmprepusb.com/www/tutorials/72---easyboot---a-grubdos-multiboot-drive-that-is-easy-to-maintain

also check out his blog for more info


http://rmprepusb.blogspot.co.uk/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DrDeaf

Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Tue 09 Apr 2013, 20:45    Post subject:  

My present choices of boot media and file system made "Alternative 1" look best to me. I didn't stick with it because it writes out the ISO files to a separate partition.
It worked well but there was one fly in the ointment.
I don't use savefiles so my practice is to boot from "read only".
I did wonder if it is possible to set it up to copy the ISO files to RAM and then proceed? Perhaps delete the files after boot?
I use Fatdog64 and I installed RAM to take advantage of that. RAM space is not a problem.
Thanks for your work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4118
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 10 Apr 2013, 02:51    Post subject:  

Hi DrDeaf
DrDeaf wrote:
...
I did wonder if it is possible to set it up to copy the ISO files to RAM and then proceed? Perhaps delete the files after boot? ...
This may help.

When you boot from the USB, after the system is up and running, you will see something like, "sdb1" and "sdb4" icons, on the bottom-left in your desktop. These 2 icon represent your USB drive with one catch: that sdb4 icon is a phantom drive with is a RAM depiction of the real ISO you booted.

Hope this helps.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DrDeaf

Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Wed 10 Apr 2013, 13:29    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
When you boot from the USB, after the system is up and running, you will see something like, "sdb1" and "sdb4" icons, on the bottom-left in your desktop. These 2 icon represent your USB drive with one catch: that sdb4 icon is a phantom drive with is a RAM depiction of the real ISO you booted.

Hi there! Thanks for the reply. It has been a while since I played with it so I was unsure of my memory.... Lucky! I still had the card I used. The "sdb4" was not phantom for me. They are still on the card. Also, as I recall if I forced the card to "read only" it failed. I could not boot if I prevented whatever ISO I chose from writing to sdb4.
I would be happy if the sdb4 was phantom but that was not my experience. Maybe something I don't understand?
Best regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8924
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 10 Apr 2013, 17:02    Post subject:  

DrDeaf wrote:
. The "sdb4" was not phantom for me. They are still on the card.

What you see on sdb4 is just a window into the ISO on sdb1. The files on sdb4 have never been physically copied anywhere.

To make sdb4 on a flash drive go away, run Gparted > Device > Create Partition Table

Of course, that will delete everything else on the flash drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DrDeaf

Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Wed 10 Apr 2013, 18:49    Post subject:  

Thanks for your reply!
Whether it's a "phantom" or a "window" I am interested in understanding how the mechanics of this works. However, the focus for me is that the card is required to be writable. From my post yesterday
DrDeaf wrote:
I don't use savefiles so my practice is to boot from "read only".
I did wonder if it is possible to set it up to copy the ISO files to RAM and then proceed? Perhaps delete the files after boot?
I use Fatdog64 and I installed RAM to take advantage of that. RAM space is not a problem

I did try booting with the card as read only and as I mentioned it failed.
rcrsn51 wrote:

What you see on sdb4 is just a window into the ISO on sdb1. The files on sdb4 have never been physically copied anywhere.

To make sdb4 on a flash drive go away, run Gparted > Device > Create Partition Table

Yes, I understood that before. I made it go away and then created the process again... and got the "window" again! Now I also understand why the sdb4 was "read only" on a writable card. Laughing
As mentioned, the main consideration for me is that I can not make the card "read only" at boot.

Not to distract from my first interest here, but if you could point me to some reference(s) which explain the mechanics of what I'd call the "virtual partition" sdb4, I would appreciate it!
Best regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8924
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 10 Apr 2013, 19:38    Post subject:  

DrDeaf wrote:
I don't use savefiles so my practice is to boot from "read only".

Are you referring to the little "Lock" switch on an SD card?
Quote:
Not to distract from my first interest here, but if you could point me to some reference(s) which explain the mechanics of what I'd call the "virtual partition" sdb4, I would appreciate it!

This may be easier to see using ISObooter. In the menu.lst file, you will see the "partnew" command that associates partition #4 with a particular ISO file.
Quote:
I did try booting with the card as read only and as I mentioned it failed
.
The first time you run ISObooter, it needs to write an entry into the fourth slot of the partition table. If the card is locked, I expect that would fail. However, once you have set up a particular ISO, you may be able to comment out the "partnew" line in the menu.lst and it would still work when the card is locked.

However, you would need to unlock the card in order to switch ISOs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DrDeaf

Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Wed 10 Apr 2013, 20:30    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
DrDeaf wrote:
I don't use savefiles so my practice is to boot from "read only".

Are you referring to the little "Lock" switch on an SD card?


Yes. As I recall it was Bruce Schneier who said "The only real security is physical security". It's been written elsewhere that this is not failsafe for all equipment but it tests OK here.

rcrsn51 wrote:
DrDeaf wrote:
Not to distract from my first interest here, but if you could point me to some reference(s) which explain the mechanics of what I'd call the "virtual partition" sdb4, I would appreciate it!

This may be easier to see using ISObooter. In the menu.lst file, you will see the "partnew" command that associates partition #4 with a particular ISO file.


ISObooter was one of the methods I considered. However, the stated requirement to use Ext2 caused me to rule that out. The menu "alias" and as I recall some mentions of allowing persistent storage were concerns. Anyway, if ISObooter will better illustrate the general principle here I will play with it.

rcrsn51 wrote:
DrDeaf wrote:
I did try booting with the card as read only and as I mentioned it failed
.
The first time you run ISObooter, it needs to write an entry into the fourth slot of the partition table. If the card is locked, I expect that would fail. However, once you have set up a particular ISO, you may be able to comment out the "partnew" line in the menu.lst and it would still work when the card is locked.

However, you would need to unlock the card in order to switch ISOs.


Laughing Laughing Laughing Yes, that was exactly my experience!

As an aside here, do you know where I can find an existing topic on mounting an external HD as "read only" with FD64?
Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8924
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 10 Apr 2013, 21:37    Post subject:  

DrDeaf wrote:
ISObooter was one of the methods I considered. However, the stated requirement to use Ext2 caused me to rule that out.

The requirement is for FAT32, not ext2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DrDeaf

Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Wed 10 Apr 2013, 22:15    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
DrDeaf wrote:
ISObooter was one of the methods I considered. However, the stated requirement to use Ext2 caused me to rule that out.

The requirement is for FAT32, not ext2.


From your ISObooter. link:

"3. Create a new ext2 partition and flag it as bootable."

In good will and good spirits, I suppose I must have misunderstood!
I tend to pursue a project at full speed until I encounter something that is not quickly overcome. Then, I don't quit... I just put it back in the queue and pursue the next until something appears at hand that may be helpful with that one I had set aside. In my impatience I can miss something!

Anyway, I have some larger NTFS drives that I want to mount as external "read only" with FD64. Know how I can do that? I have searched diligently but I am impatient Laughing
Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
amigo

Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 2226

PostPosted: Thu 11 Apr 2013, 04:58    Post subject:  

mount -o ro /dev/somedev /some/mountpoint
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6673
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Thu 11 Apr 2013, 05:17    Post subject:  

DrDeaf wrote:

Quote:
"3. Create a new ext2 partition and flag it as bootable."


That's from the grub2 part of the thread...in isobooter section, further below, it has:

Quote:
1. Format the flash drive partition as FAT32. Flag it bootable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 6 [81 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1025s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0065s) ][ GZIP on ]