Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 03:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
alphaOS [closed]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 47 [697 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 45, 46, 47 Next
Author Message
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2444
Location: near here

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 14:23    Post subject:  

Thanks, I missed a lot of the discussion. So Alpha OS and use pacman and frugal install? I will still consider it a Apup flavor. Same as I consider Pussy in a similar category as Dpups.

Good move to rename as it avoids confusion.

Incidentally, did you consider modifying woof to allow it create what you wanted your OS to feature?

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 303

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 14:31    Post subject:  

Been away for a while!

So Archpup is discontinued, Sorry to hear it, best puppy I've ever used

At least you started a fire under BarryK's ass and drove him to
make a woof version but it sounds kinda useless to me with out arch repo's

I think I will stay with Archpup 12.12.2 till something major breaks.
Works perfect for me now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4765
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 19:45    Post subject: new forum  

simargl wrote:
darkcity, here is Barry K. comment about Archpup
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=691879#691879

BarryK wrote:
Good luck to simargl though. His distro has it's own site and is really a fork, that is based on some of the Puppy initrd and skeleton infrastructure. So, it stands alone as it's own distro.


I felt it not fair from me continue with using Pup name in distro that is really very different, and because of problems with
udev, iconv and because I like to experiment here is alphaOS where everything is compiled from scratch. Things that
defined Archpup like openbox, dynamic menu update, conky, tint2, spaceFM are still here, and off course option for easy
switching deskops with sfs modules.

New forum: http://alphaos.freeforums.org/index.php


OK, noted, new forum for AlphaOS...

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9061
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 20:17    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
New forum: http://alphaos.freeforums.org/index.php

Does that mean that we've finally seen the end of cheap shots like this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 10:08    Post subject:  

First stable version! Check first post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
john3voltas

Joined: 23 May 2011
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 18:57    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
First stable version! Check first post.

YAY!! Can't wait to test it.
I just wished there was a way to remove Firefox ESR that comes with AlphaOS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rameshiyer

Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 232
Location: Calicut, Kerala, India

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2013, 01:28    Post subject: AlphaOS
Subject description: Not working input devices
 

I have frugal install. However, it is not taking Mouse and Keyboad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 839
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2013, 01:47    Post subject:  

frugal install to ibm t21, booted to desktop but in low res

unable to use terminal (opens but frame only with background visible)

other programs same window problem

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2013, 03:47    Post subject:  

ally wrote:
frugal install to ibm t21, booted to desktop but in low res

unable to use terminal (opens but frame only with background visible)

other programs same window problem

Smile


Same happened for me on older computer with nvidia card, terminal with only frame shown

except resolution was 1280x1024. But on intel it works flawlessly, so I think perhaps included

kernel/Xorg/Mesa are just too new for some devices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2013, 03:55    Post subject:  

john3voltas wrote:
I just wished there was a way to remove Firefox ESR that comes with AlphaOS.


I've added Firefox extended support release to avoid frequent firefox updates, and this version (17.0.4) is really new - released 07-Mar-2013.

See here http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/firefox/releases/latest-esr/

/usr/lib/firefox contains firefox files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2013, 04:01    Post subject: Re: AlphaOS
Subject description: Not working input devices
 

rameshiyer wrote:
I have frugal install. However, it is not taking Mouse and Keyboad.

Damn! Surprised
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2013, 07:26    Post subject:  

Scooby wrote:
Been away for a while!

So Archpup is discontinued, Sorry to hear it, best puppy I've ever used

At least you started a fire under BarryK's ass and drove him to
make a woof version but it sounds kinda useless to me with out arch repo's

I think I will stay with Archpup 12.12.2 till something major breaks.
Works perfect for me now.


It would be nice if you apologise for that post, since it is completely wrong. As has been posted elsewhere, I developed Arch Puppy in Woof back in 2009. Recently, I was merely updating it, as time marches on and it had become broken.

The Woof-build of Arch Puppy was worked on awhile back by noryb009, but there were still some things to fix. Noryb009 contributed some more to Woof a few months ago. Recently I decided to do a test build in Woof, and discovered things that needed fixing, which I reported in my blog.

Huh, Arch repos? Like all Woof-built pups, a Puppy built from Arch packages has access to the Arch repos via the Puppy Package manager.

I have posted a comment and some links:
http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00184

But then, I have become accustomed to nasty personal attacks over the years, so shouldn't even have bothered to post this reply to yours.
So, don't bother to apologise, I don't care.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
john3voltas

Joined: 23 May 2011
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2013, 11:39    Post subject:  

No reason for us to get all uptight about this.
I'm sure scooby didn't mean to be disrespectful and I think you BarryK took it a bit on the personal side.
Besides, simargl's ArchPup is gone. Now AlphaOS lives Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9061
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2013, 11:52    Post subject:  

john3voltas wrote:
No reason for us to get all uptight about this.

Yes there is. Incorrect statements need to be corrected.
Quote:
I'm sure scooby didn't mean to be disrespectful

That's not for you to say. Anyone reading his post would view it as disrespectful, especially considering the facts of the situation.
Quote:
and I think you BarryK took it a bit on the personal side.

How else should he take it? Consider simargl's record for taking things personally.
Quote:
Besides, simargl's ArchPup is gone. Now AlphaOS lives Smile

Then maybe you would all be happier working from its new forum.

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Wed 20 Mar 2013, 16:00; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 303

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2013, 13:54    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
...


I read your reply and that of your pack as well
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 47 [697 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 45, 46, 47 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0907s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0103s) ][ GZIP on ]