Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 16:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
PupsaveConfig-2.2.5
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 12 [168 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
memomelaque

Joined: 21 Mar 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 22 Mar 2013, 22:17    Post subject:  

Thank you Shin, it is a great little program, works exactly like it is described and it is what I was looking for. I am using 5.3.1.

Again, thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mhanifpriatama

Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Mon 25 Mar 2013, 00:01    Post subject:  

I installed to slacko5.5, Likely worked, I change to -0 (do not save). But,when I install apps (in another day), why it save at pupsave file without run savepupsave ?
Sorry for my English.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 25 Mar 2013, 03:28    Post subject: installed apps saved at pupsave  

mhanifpriatama wrote:
I installed to slacko5.5, Likely worked, I change to -0 (do not save). But,when I install apps (in another day), why it save at pupsave file without run savepupsave ?
Sorry for my English.

It is the fault of the petget (Puppy Package Manager).
One of the solution is to use the petget-20120418.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64708

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2648
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun 19 May 2013, 06:31    Post subject:  

Hello shinobar,

I'm ok to translate pupsaveconfig into French.

Question: Can I use the file http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/pupsaveconfig.pot, it is updated for version 2.2.5?

Sincerely,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 19 May 2013, 07:20    Post subject: pupsaveconfig.pot  

ASRI éducation wrote:
Can I use the file http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/pupsaveconfig.pot, it is updated for version 2.2.5?

No problem, but i have made it updated.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2648
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun 19 May 2013, 07:42    Post subject: Re: pupsaveconfig.pot  

shinobar wrote:
ASRI éducation wrote:
Can I use the file http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/pupsaveconfig.pot, it is updated for version 2.2.5?

No problem, but i have made it updated.

Ok ! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2648
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon 20 May 2013, 12:51    Post subject:  

I tested FR translation with PupsaveConfig v2.2.5 and Precise Puppy v5.4.92.
This seems ok.
Cordialement,
pupsaveconfig-2.2.5_localeFR_20130520.pet
Description  fr.po, pupsaveconfig.mo, pupsaveconfig.txt, pupsaveconfig.desktop
md5 5b8166b6a3baade0e29ab047b1cd6045
pet

 Download 
Filename  pupsaveconfig-2.2.5_localeFR_20130520.pet 
Filesize  15.45 KB 
Downloaded  191 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 538

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jun 2013, 08:31    Post subject: bug in PupSaveConfig v2.2.5?
Subject description: bzzzzzzzz???
 

Working in Carolina lite I just noticed that the option to create a 2fs/3fs/4fs only works when I create the personal save file immediately after the first boot from an iso (or pfix=ram).

But when I first make localization / keyboard adjustments, perhaps add some software etc, and then attempt to create a personal save file it fails. First I can not make it larger than 0kb, plus the options for 3fs and 4fs disappear. In this stage a 2fs and 3fs but not 4fs can only be created after ctrl-alt-backspace and the reboot command.

This is both in Carolina and in carolina lite (frugally installed).

I think this is a but in PupSaveConfig 2.2.5 but I am not sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jun 2013, 02:31    Post subject: Re: bug in PupSaveConfig v2.2.5?
Subject description: bzzzzzzzz???
 

Dromeno wrote:
But when I first make localization / keyboard adjustments

What is your locale?

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 3452
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Tue 08 Apr 2014, 09:48    Post subject: Tutorial pupsaveconfig
Subject description: Watch it on Youtube.
 

Explanations given in the first topic. congratulations. pupsaveconfig is described step by step.
If my little video can help too here it is
This video was a memo for myself, so it's a french spoken one, i Make it better right now
click there
Improved, but i join some music, no explanations needed, because everything is said upper. Razz
I have some problems shutting down Puppy Night LXDE. Nothing prooved that pupsaveconfig is the reason.
lionel.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   60.19 KB
 Viewed   161 Time(s)

lionel.jpg


_________________
Puppy, buitin power in Paris Eiffel tower

Last edited by Pelo on Wed 09 Jul 2014, 13:38; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2748
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 15 May 2014, 17:57    Post subject:  

Hi Shinobar,

I am using Slacko 5.6 as a "live" distro without any savefile and have a question about the pupsaveconfig shutdown process:

When I shut down I see the pupsave dialog and the countdown timer showing 239, 238, 237 seconds etc. If I do not take any action then pupsaveconfig will shut down the computer after 240 seconds WITHOUT SAVING A SESSION - which is good for me. However, what happens if I have several partitions mounted and programmes running - will pupsaveconfig do a "tidy and safe' shutdown at the end of the 240 second countdown?

Or will it just do a busybox poweroff without any tidy up?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 3452
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jul 2014, 13:47    Post subject: Pupsaveconfig : you are supposed needing a pupsave  

Pupsaveconfig : you are supposed needing a pupsave. Pupsaveconfig send a message after suhtdown "do you want to save session Y/N ",and Puppy user can answer 'no' each time. But if you don't have pupsave, you must change code to never (0) in yr PUPMODE settings.
_________________
Puppy, buitin power in Paris Eiffel tower
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2748
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jul 2014, 15:48    Post subject: Re: Pupsaveconfig : you are supposed needing a pupsave  

Pelo wrote:
"do you want to save session Y/N ",and Puppy user can answer 'no' each time.
But what happens if the user leaves the computer and the "Y/N" dialog sits on screen for the whole 240 second countdown? Does it do a normal shutdown (unmounting filesystems and partitions in a tidy fashion) or does it just shutdown in a hurry? (I think the timeout shutdown should call a tidy shutdown script, not just drop the system instantly or else data and partitions may be at risk - depending on what work the user was doing).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jul 2014, 18:15    Post subject: shutdown with timeout  

greengeek wrote:
will pupsaveconfig do a "tidy and safe' shutdown at the end of the 240 second countdown?

Both mine and Barry's(shutdownconfig) does normal shutdown without saving session at timeout.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2748
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jul 2014, 23:47    Post subject:  

Thanks Shinobar, much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 12 [168 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0800s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0072s) ][ GZIP on ]