Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 04:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
pMusic 4.4.6
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 109 of 125 [1865 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, ..., 123, 124, 125 Next
Author Message
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5813
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 16:47    Post subject:  

jamesbond
A wild guess...
The later pMusic gives a damn in gtkdialog2/3/4. It ONLY looks for gtkdialog! This can be reset in one of the first lines in /usr/local/pmusic/pmusic.
Code:
export GTKDIALOG=gtkdialog
For what I know, there could be reasons for keeping old versions of gtkdialog, but I find it logical that '/usr/bin/gtkdialog' points to the latest.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 23:37    Post subject:  

Thanks, that does it .

I haven't symlinked gtkdialog4 to "gtkdialog" for two reasons:
a) It is my impression that gtkdialog updates are not always backward compatible (meaning newer gtkdialog could "break" old applications, especially complex ones).
b) I have not validated all gtkdialog apps in Fatdog to work with gtkdialog4 Embarassed

Anyway, with that fix, pmusic 3.2.3 is now on its way to Fatdog Smile

Thank you again. Very Happy

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 23:57    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
I haven't symlinked gtkdialog4 to "gtkdialog" for two reasons:
a) It is my impression that gtkdialog updates are not always backward compatible (meaning newer gtkdialog could "break" old applications, especially complex ones).

Fallacy!

Slacko lead the way here with always having only 1 gtkdialog binary, symlinked to 3 and 4 for backward compatibility. ...and there was minimal breakage. Mostly it was bad code, things like substituting X for password chars and also some bad calls to images.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 03:26    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
jamesbond wrote:
I haven't symlinked gtkdialog4 to "gtkdialog" for two reasons:
a) It is my impression that gtkdialog updates are not always backward compatible (meaning newer gtkdialog could "break" old applications, especially complex ones).

Fallacy!

Slacko lead the way here with always having only 1 gtkdialog binary, symlinked to 3 and 4 for backward compatibility. ...and there was minimal breakage. Mostly it was bad code, things like substituting X for password chars and also some bad calls to images.

Sorry to plug my crap here, just to point out, Akita has included ONLY the very latest gtkdialog ever since thunor took the reigns and it's always worked fine, except one revision, which i reported and thunor fixed.. And 01micko is right, the only other breakages were due to bad code in the shell scripts - mainly cos the older gtkdialogs used to ignore certain syntax errors, so we used to get away with them...

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5813
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 13:51    Post subject:  

pMusic works too well for me... Rolling Eyes
... The pMusic grabber (RadioHits) has given me another 50000 tracks.

This has made the internal searching slower.
I will focus on a smoother workflow for 3.3.0.
pMusic should work seamless for 100 tracks as well as a million.

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
recobayu


Joined: 15 Sep 2010
Posts: 114
Location: indonesia

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 18:53    Post subject:  

Zigbert, I have a question. in lucid puppy, pmusic can open two or more file by selecting two or three file in rox, right click, open with, pmusic. but in new pmusic, it doesn't. How to fix it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5813
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2013, 18:48    Post subject:  

recobayu
Yes, this is a bug in Slacko. The pmusic-link in 'open with' menu leads to audio-CD player instead of the normal pMusic frontend.

To fix it you can execute these 2 commands in terminal:
Code:
rm /root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/SendTo/pmusic

ln -s /usr/share/applications/pmusic.desktop /root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/SendTo/pmusic



Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5813
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 03:58    Post subject:  

Version 3.3.0
See main post

Changelog
- Option (menuitem) to repair broken playlist.
- MyMusic database.
. . . .- If added file (to playlist) misses in db, run quick update.
. . . .- Add /initrd/mnt/dev_save to default MyMusic paths (MyMusic Setup).
. . . .- Check if MyMusic db exists on every startup. If no, quick update.
. . . .- Faster Read/write by avoiding utf-8 (LC_ALL=C)
- Search.
. . . .- Faster searching by Squeezing grep of tracks and collections. Do the separation after.
. . . .- Faster searching by not using UTF-8 in search command.
. . . .- Reintroduce 'Search while typing' (optional - set in preferences). Default is off.
. . . .- If only one line in hits: add to playlist by pressing enter. This will only happen when 'Search while typing'.
- Trackinfo.
. . . .- Faster and better albumart grabbing by using albumart.org as default grabber.
. . . .- Faster internet-connection-check by adding --max-redirect 0.
. . . .- Faster Trackinfo handling by avoiding utf-8 for backend (LC_ALL=C after gui(s) are loaded.)
. . . .- Bugfix: Saving 'Blues' as meta-genre if choosing from menu.
. . . .- Bugfix: Albumart.org grabber suggests artwork even if album-tag is empty (Torstein Flakne - Walkaway)
- Plugins now available directly from menu.
- Track menu is now 'Playback'.
. . . .- Mixer is moved here.
. . . .- Mixer has got menu icon.
- Splash screen.
. . . .- Allow wrapped text.
. . . .- Merged box_splash and box_splash_progress.
. . . .- Use splash-graphics in about-window.
- Save playlist: Error msg if not defined save-file.
- Change default playmode from loop to straight (no loop).
- Podcasts.
. . . .- Click on podcast in manager to show downloaded files in sourcelist.
. . . .- Bugfix: Show podcasts via Music-Sources menu.
- Bookmarks - simplified and improved.
. . . .- Add bookmark to playlist (or browse) by click on bookmark in external window.
. . . .- Quick bookmarking from playlist right-click menu.
. . . .- Removed 'Bookmark playing track' in Track menu. Bookmark manager does the same.
. . . .- Removed bookmarking of Music-source. Source history is better.
. . . .- (Re)moved menu Bookmarks to menuitem 'Bookmark Manager'.
. . . .- Place right-click menu on cursor-top-left instead of center.
. . . .- Bugfix: pMusic allows only one timestamp pr. file.
. . . .- Bugfix: Updating path in db should also update corresponding bookmarks
- Recent played: Show (www) and (CD) separate column.
- RadioHits
. . . .- Expand sorting of grabbed tracks to include time as well as date.
. . . .- Bugfix: Use mtime instead of ctime when sorting grabbed tracks.
- Overview: Most played bottom line is now ...more to show complete list.
- Clean up terminal outputs at first run.
- Add m3u/pmu now also give the option to fix db if file does not exist (only exist in db).
- Add *.pmu to Rox mime db.
- Remove pMusic-raster-icon from pet - jwm 2.2 supports svg.
- Midi support.
. . . .- Length detection when adding to playlist.
. . . .- Export midi like any other supported file.
. . . .- Trackinfo works if filename is Artist - Title.
. . . .- Trackinfo stream-tab works.
. . . .- Integrated with MyMusic db.
. . . .- Check for timidity in dependency checker (pmusic -D).
. . . .- timidity info when running pmusic -f/-h.
- Webmusic.
. . . .- Bugfix: Browsing the WebMusic index.
. . . .- Update jamendo-index.
- Bugfix: Give pMusic executable an icon in Rox.
- Bugfix: Do not autoselect text on yes/no boxes.
- Bugfix: Play-icon doesn't show in playlist if playing track contains $ in name.
- Bugfix: Go forward/back in playlist history didn't clear name of active playlist.
- Bugfix: Fallback to english FAQ if local FAQ does not exist.
- Bugfix: 'pmusic /path/' (cli) failed to play content of directory.
- Bugfix: pMusic is very slow at startup if sourcelist is huge.
- Bugfix: Move progress slider several times gives playback error.

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2612
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Tue 02 Apr 2013, 12:11    Post subject: Pmusic 3.3.0  

file:///usr/share/doc/help/en/pmusic_faq.html#convert wrote:
What if I want to convert a WAV file to a MP3 file?

Under 'Playlist' menu choose 'Export tracks' to convert all songs in playlist. Click 'Specify output stream'. For high quality stereo conversion choose at least 192000 bits/sec. For mono songs you choose half the stereo rate.

Really? Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5813
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 04 Apr 2013, 12:54    Post subject:  

Quote:
For mono songs you choose half the stereo rate
Laughing

Quote:
Under 'Playlist' menu choose 'Export tracks' to convert all songs in playlist. Activate 'Convert exported tracks' and optionally change stream quality
Better? Wink


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5813
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 15 Apr 2013, 12:30    Post subject:  


_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3437
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2013, 20:35    Post subject:  

I've been burning Audio CD's.
I miss a feature ----> a menu item to add the track play times
together to get a total. Pburn does this fortunately Laughing
but I would prefer pmusic to have this feature.

___________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5813
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 11:22    Post subject:  

don570
The total length of all tracks in playlists is shown in statusbar.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5813
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 14:03    Post subject:  

Working steady with pMusic 4, but the amount of undone work is still huge.

4.0.0 Major thoughts
- Simplified workflow/gui with enhanced features.
- Favorites replaces bookmarks, multiple playlists and overview.
- Managment in sourcelist by right-click menu
- The dynamic DB is now so good that searching should be preferred over browsing.
- Tighter intergration of RadioHits and TopHits plugin
- all graphics/themes are now svg




These icons are compressed around 3kb all together


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3437
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 14:42    Post subject:  

If it would help speed up the program, there is no need to list the
total play time of a list in the main window.

You could make it a menu item instead.

But if it doesn't affect the speed of program, then you should make
it more prominent in window. In Raring distro
top part of the text line is cut off.

____________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 109 of 125 [1865 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, ..., 123, 124, 125 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1327s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0351s) ][ GZIP on ]