Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 01:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Upup Precise 3.8.3.1 created by using up-to-date Woof
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 12 [180 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5932
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 24 Mar 2013, 14:51    Post subject:  

Back posting from Windows 7...... Laughing

Exited to prompt, chose "probe",chose "1366x768" and froze up with a blinking cursor and no keyboard input leading to the dreaded hard poweroff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 24 Mar 2013, 15:26    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
01micko. Did you have external monitor connected. I have had similar experiences with some graphics drivers when I have used HDMI connection to my LCD TV.


No, only stock laptop monitor, 1366x768, intel.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Dean


Joined: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 47
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 25 Mar 2013, 08:58    Post subject:  

Why does Acpid only suspend my laptop once after boot? Confused
_________________
------------
HP 510 Notebook CPU 1.4 GHz Pentium M / RAM 2GB / 15.4" WXGA BrightView 1280 x 800 / 40GB HD / OS Manjaro 0.8.8

Last edited by Dean on Mon 25 Mar 2013, 09:11; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 25 Mar 2013, 09:02    Post subject:  

Dean. Tell me how do you suspend. There are several ways to suspend Upup Precise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dean


Joined: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 47
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 25 Mar 2013, 09:07    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Dean. Tell me how do you suspend. There are several ways to suspend Upup Precise.

Closing laptop lid.

[Edit]
Acpi events only get triggered once.

_________________
------------
HP 510 Notebook CPU 1.4 GHz Pentium M / RAM 2GB / 15.4" WXGA BrightView 1280 x 800 / 40GB HD / OS Manjaro 0.8.8

Last edited by Dean on Mon 25 Mar 2013, 09:16; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 25 Mar 2013, 09:14    Post subject:  

Dean. I tried 3 times. Suspend x 3 and wake up x 3.
What does acpid invoke. First it calls /etc/acpi/events/lid when you close the lid.
That script calls /etc/acpi/lid.sh which calls /etc/acpi/sleep.sh script.

Something during this process does not seem to be repeatable for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dean


Joined: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 47
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 25 Mar 2013, 09:24    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Dean. I tried 3 times. Suspend x 3 and wake up x 3.
What does acpid invoke. First it calls /etc/acpi/events/lid when you close the lid.
That script calls /etc/acpi/lid.sh which calls /etc/acpi/sleep.sh script.

Something during this process does not seem to be repeatable for you.


Typing 'acpid' in terminal 'can't open /proc/acpi/event: Device or Resource busy'

_________________
------------
HP 510 Notebook CPU 1.4 GHz Pentium M / RAM 2GB / 15.4" WXGA BrightView 1280 x 800 / 40GB HD / OS Manjaro 0.8.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 25 Mar 2013, 10:42    Post subject:  

I suppose it is busy, because acpi_listen keeps it busy...or then something else. I have to admit that acpi related stuff is a little complicated.
/usr/bin/acpi_listen and /usr/sbin/acpid are needed for power button shutdown. They are coupled with /etc/acpi/events/acpid.conf and with /etc/acpi/actions/acpi_poweroff.sh. This stuff has been created by Patriot and later modified by Shinobar and possibly by Soliver. I havent checked what I have now included. Should check what I have, I know.

Then there is busybox /sbin/acpid. I dont know what it does. And I have a lot stuff originally created by Jemimah in /etc/acpi. I have somewhat modified those scripts. Probably crippled them also.

If someone wants to give a shot to all those acpi scripts....by all means...give them shot.

I seem to be busy now with Ringtail Puppy. I am atm compiling kernel for it and creating basic normally bootable version using Barrys latest fixes.

It looks like I love to test new woofable versions with latest kernel in them.

Anyway...I am sure that those acpi related scripts would need improvements.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 25 Mar 2013, 14:12    Post subject:  

Okay. I got there. New 3.8.4 kernel and...gtk+3 support inbuild. Abiword and Gnumeric looks just....ancient.

Well...Charlie6 asked if there would be gtk+3 support. Now it is in Upup Ringtail. I think I have first alpha ready for masses.

I have gotten fonts to be about there. And the previous font bug has been fixed. I probably will upload this one this evening and open new thread for it.

It will have non-PAE 3.8.4 kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 25 Mar 2013, 14:34    Post subject:  

This is great. It has been exceptionally cold in Finland at this time of the year. It looks like UK has gotten it`s part now.

This is letter content which was sent to the Finnish Embassy in London. It was published in Embassy Facebook:
Quote:
Dear Sir/Madam/Ms,

According to reports in today's newspapers, the foul weather that we are experiencing in the UK is coming directly from Finland.

I respectfully request that you stop this unfriendly behaviour immediately. It is playing havoc with my plans for the garden, not to mention the heating bills.

I shall expect an improvement very soon, and will not accept any excuses! Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Mon 25 Mar 2013, 17:45    Post subject:  

A ringtail for pemasu Smile
http://home.epix.net/~artnpeg/ringtail.jpg

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Sat 30 Mar 2013, 11:16    Post subject:  

For the Precise believers among us, here's something cool - a 64-bit Precise with the latest 3.2 LTS kernel, JWM and ROX-Filer.

Still in very early, pre-alpha quality ... but I think it's promising - memory usage is amazingly low - 66 MB with a plain JWM/ROX-Filer/Parcellite/Obmixer/urxvtd desktop.

I've got many build scripts for this thing - if I have something useful (e.g Abiword) I'll post a 32-bit package here.
screeny.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  screeny.png 
Filesize  235.11 KB 
Downloaded  272 Time(s) 

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1516
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2013, 08:55    Post subject: LxPup by SFS for Upup Precise  

Convert Upup Precise into LxPup by installing the SFS & PET to be found at:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=694833#694833

Cheers
PeeBee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5932
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 07 Apr 2013, 00:39    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
Report for whatever it's worth. On both a dual-core and quad-core with Nvidia Gforce 7025/nforce 630a graphics Precise 3.8.3.1 successfully boots to a desktop but within about 30 seconds totally freezes with a totally distorted display with no keyboard input possible leading to a hard poweroff. Repeated several times on both machines.

No problem on older Nvidia or Intel boxes.


Adding "nouveau.noaccel=1" to the kernel line also solves the freezing problem in Precise 3.8.3.1 with the troublesome Nvidia chip.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Upup Precise, version 3.8.3.1

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a] (rev a2)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768x16
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): nouveau
Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 exa extmod fb glx kbd mouse record shadowfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1366x768 pixels (361x203 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
# glxgears
2646 frames in 5.0 seconds = 529.137 FPS
2971 frames in 5.0 seconds = 594.065 FPS
2975 frames in 5.0 seconds = 594.815 FPS
2994 frames in 5.0 seconds = 598.624 FPS
2993 frames in 5.0 seconds = 598.600 FPS

-Computer-
Processor : 4x AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 620 Processor
Memory : 2853MB (206MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Sat 06 Apr 2013 11:43:26 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1366x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 0x300)
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2348
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 05 May 2013, 18:30    Post subject: dvb-t tv tuner stick  

Hello pemasu

I installed puppy_precise_3.8.3.1
on Mobile Intel Celeron machine having CPU 1.80GHz with 1 Gbyte RAM.
It is working great so far! I really like how polished this distribution is.

I'm also trying to get my usb DVB-T stick recognised and making good progress (I think). However, I have still not managed to get it working with installed your 5.1 Mbyte vlc 2.0.5 and qt-4.8.2-stripped.sfs from http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/pet_packages-upup/. To be honest, I'm not sure how to get dvb working and wondered if you or anyone could help.

I ran "dmesg|grep dvd" and that suggested I needed firmware dvb-usb-it9135-02.fw. I found that on the web and put both dvb-usb-it9135-01 and dvb-usb-it9135-02.fw into /lib/firmware and rebooted the machine, which appears to now be recogising the usb dvb stick. Not sure how to proceed after that. I started up vlc and tried "Media -> Open Capture Device" and in the sub menu Capture Mode selected PVR, but I don't see any Device name listed in Device Selection there, so don't know how to precede. Not sure is I'm using the correct vlc menu anyway since never tried dvb before.

Here is my dmesg listing extract:

Code:

# dmesg | grep dvb
[   22.208771] usbcore: registered new interface driver dvb_usb_it913x
[   22.208929] it913x: Chip Version=02 Chip Type=9135
[   22.209681] it913x: Firmware Version 52887808it913x: Dual mode=0 Tuner Type=38
[   22.210177] it913x: Unknown tuner ID applying default 0x60<6>[   22.210190] usb 1-1: dvb_usb_v2: found a 'ITE 9135 Generic' in warm state
[   22.210276] usb 1-1: dvb_usb_v2: will pass the complete MPEG2 transport stream to the software demuxer
[   22.211207] DVB: registering new adapter (ITE 9135 Generic)
[   22.222804] [drm] Initialized i915 1.6.0 20080730 for 0000:00:02.0 on minor 0
[   22.530302] it913x-fe: ADF table value       :00
[   22.535214] it913x-fe: Crystal Frequency :12000000 Adc Frequency :20250000 ADC X2: 01
[   22.594935] it913x-fe: Tuner LNA type :60
...
[   22.788873] usb 1-1: DVB: registering adapter 0 frontend 0 (ITE 9135 Generic_1)...
...
[   23.333638] usb 1-1: dvb_usb_v2: schedule remote query interval to 250 msecs
[   23.333648] usb 1-1: dvb_usb_v2: 'ITE 9135 Generic' successfully initialized and connected


EDIT: I noted mentioned somewhere (on another website) of a program called dvbscan and also some config file called channels.conf. I don't have either of these. I also don't get any DVB option under VLC's menu Media -> Capture Device -> Capture Mode (only get VideoForLinux 2, PVR, and Desktop).

My lsmod output extract suggests to me that something driver relevant is loaded successfully:

Code:

# lsmod | grep dvb
dvb_usb_it913x          6604  0
dvb_usb_v2              9572  1 dvb_usb_it913x
dvb_core               59865  1 dvb_usb_v2
rc_core                 9030  4 rc_it913x_v1,dvb_usb_it913x,dvb_usb_v2
i2c_core               12700  8 it913x_fe,dvb_usb_v2,i915,i2c_i801,of_i2c,drm_kms_helper,drm,i2c_algo_bit


Any help to get this going much appreciated.

rgds mcewanw

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 12 [180 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1040s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0074s) ][ GZIP on ]