Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 17:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
puppy rescue os
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 7 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Author Message
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 187
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Tue 25 Dec 2012, 16:03    Post_subject: Hey I haven't forgotten about U
Sub_title: Don't give up...
 

No doubt there Others Out there in iT service space that aRe interested in this Handy Tool!

Merry CHRISTmas & Happy 2013

SmileK
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 801

PostPosted: Wed 26 Dec 2012, 03:39    Post_subject:  

Just noticed your post, thanks and Merry Christmas to you too. I mainly came out with it because I was quite disappointed in Ubuntu Rescue Remix and some of the other rescue CDs that are out there. It is in use by quite a few IT guys that I've worked with in various places.
_________________
PupRescue 2.5
Puppy Crypt 528
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1521

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2013, 17:41    Post_subject:  

DPUP5520 wrote:
Just noticed your post, thanks and Merry Christmas to you too. I mainly came out with it because I was quite disappointed in Ubuntu Rescue Remix and some of the other rescue CDs that are out there. It is in use by quite a few IT guys that I've worked with in various places.


Hi DPup,

I'm using Rescue Pup 2.3 again and it's going great. Only thing is that Firefox is only at version 5.0.1, so I've had to download nearly 40 MB to get it up to date (it didn't give me any choice but just did it automatically, in two goes; once up to Firefox 12 and then up to the latest version, 19.0.2).

Best wishes,

CP .

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running PuppEX 14.1, New Year's Pup 02, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Puppy X-Precise 2.4, Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy Legacy OS2 LTS, Puppy Diamond 528_512 (full) and Puppy Upup Raring 3.9.9.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 205
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2013, 05:19    Post_subject:  

Hi:
Can Anybody tell me how to open/access antivirus program in rescue puppy?? Didnt find any menu entries.
Thnx in Advance.
Regards
UMAIR
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 801

PostPosted: Sat 23 Mar 2013, 16:51    Post_subject:  

@ Colonel Panic: Glad to see that you are getting some good use out of PupRescue. I unfortunately forgot to disable auto-updates for Firefox in the older versions of PupRescue which is not the case in 2.5 and PupRescue Precise.

@ Umair: Sorry I haven't responded till now as I've been busy on other projects of mine at the moment. Avast! is in the system menu, however I would recommend checking out PupRescue Precise located @ http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84162 which uses ClamAV instead of Avast! and doesn't require a license to use.

_________________
PupRescue 2.5
Puppy Crypt 528
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 205
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Mon 25 Mar 2013, 02:58    Post_subject:  

@ Umair: Sorry I haven't responded till now as I've been busy on other projects of mine at the moment. Avast! is in the system menu, however I would recommend checking out PupRescue Precise located @ http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84162 which uses ClamAV instead of Avast! and doesn't require a license to use.[/quote]

DPUP5520:
Thnx for the reply, I downloaded the updated rescue os as u mentioned in your post, but couldn't find the menu entry for CALMAV Sad. Can u tell me where the menu entry or how I execute it from terminal?
Thnx in advance.
UMAIR
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 801

PostPosted: Mon 25 Mar 2013, 19:33    Post_subject:  

There is no menu entry for ClamAV sorry I should have mentioned that. first thing to do is to update the AV database by running the command freshclam
Code:
freshclam


next is to run clamscan recursively in the directory of your choosing. If I wanted to run it to scan my whole windows drive for example i'd do this
Code:
clamscan -r /mnt/sda1


Hope this helps you out and you can always PM me or ask any other questions about any of the programs or tidbits in either of the PupRescues that you have questions about. And don't worry about it telling you ClamAV is out of date , it was just updated about two weeks ago and was just minor bug fixes which don't affect it's performance in PupRescue.

Edit: I should also mention that the above command will only scan for viruses and not actually remove them, you need you add --remove to actually remove viruses with ClamAV so it would would more like
Code:
clamscan -r --remove /mnt/sda1

_________________
PupRescue 2.5
Puppy Crypt 528
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 205
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Tue 26 Mar 2013, 12:06    Post_subject:  

DPUP5520 wrote:
There is no menu entry for ClamAV sorry I should have mentioned that. first thing to do is to update the AV database by running the command freshclam
Code:
freshclam


next is to run clamscan recursively in the directory of your choosing. If I wanted to run it to scan my whole windows drive for example i'd do this
Code:
clamscan -r /mnt/sda1


Hope this helps you out and you can always PM me or ask any other questions about any of the programs or tidbits in either of the PupRescues that you have questions about. And don't worry about it telling you ClamAV is out of date , it was just updated about two weeks ago and was just minor bug fixes which don't affect it's performance in PupRescue.

Edit: I should also mention that the above command will only scan for viruses and not actually remove them, you need you add --remove to actually remove viruses with ClamAV so it would would more like
Code:
clamscan -r --remove /mnt/sda1

Hi DPUP5520:
Thank you for detailed reply. This will helps a lot Also if I face any difficulty thn will PM you. Thnx again Smile
Regards
UMAIR
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
singlshot

Joined: 13 Aug 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon 08 Apr 2013, 18:21    Post_subject: puppy rescue os  

hi dpup5520
pup rescue 2.5 does quickpet and ppm work . md5 checked good but it doesn't on my computer live from cd.

thanks sinlgshot
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 801

PostPosted: Tue 16 Apr 2013, 01:35    Post_subject:  

Hey there singlshot, sorry but i've been gone a few weeks. No quickpet is not included in PupRescue 2.5 and the PPM has all the package files removed from .Packages so if you take a stock copy of Lucid 5.2.8 and transfer it over to PupRescue 2.5 the PPM will work again.

Edit: As noted in one of my last posts above I do recommend PupRescue Precise over 2.5 due to the changeover from Avast! to ClamAV and the upgrading/bug fixes in a lot of the main tools.

_________________
PupRescue 2.5
Puppy Crypt 528
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 3224
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Tue 04 Mar 2014, 07:07    Post_subject: Puppy Rescue PPM and Quickpet, tesdisk & photorec fine !
Sub_title: Remasterized with Super Lucid sulu
 

PPM and Quickpet, sfs 7MB goffice-lucid-528 ja and Chromium loaded on the fly. (ABIWORD to write remarks step by step) and to translate to frenchies and people speaking french. The Toutou rescue french ISO seems unavailable nowadays.
How tesdisk works ? see here.
These tools do perfectly there job. Cool
PS ; Load-on-the fly updated version installed
PupRescue.tar.gz
Description  PupRescue introduction in french for people who dont want to use english language !
gz

 Download 
Filename  PupRescue.tar.gz 
Filesize  2.39 KB 
Downloaded  122 Time(s) 

_________________
Puppy, il ne lui manque que la parole !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 3224
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Thu 06 Mar 2014, 01:15    Post_subject:  Puprescue Precise : failure
Sub_title: Sulu will be enough then.
 

PupRescue was not booting on usb with the Grub and mouse was not working.
Changing to syslinux make it to boot usb. But mouse still out of work. Hardinfo unavailable ?
So I will keep the old fashioned Puprescue Lucid, everything goes well with it !
Remasterized super Lupu :
Sulu_001.sfs: 192 M works very well.
LTD (long time Distro).

Sulu : wireless connection is very instable.
puprescue.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   65.36 KB
 Viewed   135 Time(s)

puprescue.jpg


_________________
Puppy, il ne lui manque que la parole !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Gooplusplus


Joined: 04 Sep 2013
Posts: 21
Location: Las Vegas

PostPosted: Thu 25 Sep 2014, 11:01    Post_subject: Added USB YUMI-compatible Pup Rescue 2.5 and Precise ISO  

Two new USB YUMI-compatible ISOs for Pup Rescue 2.5 and Precise Pup Rescue

http://www.gooplusplus.com/pup-rescue-2.5-yumi.iso --- ( lupu-PupRescue_2.5-YUMI.iso )
http://www.gooplusplus.com/precise-pup-rescue-yumi.iso --- ( Precise-PupRescue-YUMI.iso )

Download the ISO, start YUMI and select Lucid Puppy Linux or Precise Puppy Linux.



The original CDROM ISO for PupRescue 2.5 and Precise PupRescue lacked any isolinux files to help it work with YUMI USB Multiboot software.

Since we plan to add PupRescue to one of our new USB Multiboot KUDOS collections, we added a few files to enable YUMI use.

You can find Gooplusplus USB Multiboot collections at this link: http://www.gooplusplus.com/multiboot-collections/

We have not tested everything in these YUMI-compatible versions of PupRescue but the basics seem to work.

We noted that while networking works, there is no default web browser in PupRescue 2.5 so you will have to add one.
Fortunately, Precise Pup Rescue includes the SeaMonkey (Firefox) web browser.

Unfortunately, after YUMI installs the distro files to your USB flash drive, YUMI might not add the new entry to syslinux.cfg

You can manually edit /multiboot/syslinux.cfg to ADD THIS TEXT:

Quote:
#start lupu-pupRescue-2.5
LABEL Puppy Rescue 2.5
MENU LABEL Puppy Rescue 2.5
MENU INDENT 1
CONFIG /multiboot/lupu-PupRescue_2.5-YUMI/isolinux.cfg
APPEND /multiboot/lupu-PupRescue_2.5-YUMI/
#end lupu-pupRescue-2.5


Quote:
#start Precise-PupRescue-YUMI
LABEL Precise Puppy Rescue
MENU LABEL Precise Puppy Rescue
MENU INDENT 1
CONFIG /multiboot/Precise-PupRescue-YUMI/isolinux.cfg
APPEND /multiboot/Precise-PupRescue-YUMI/
#end Precise-PupRescue-YUMI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0936s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0101s) ][ GZIP on ]