Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 23:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
RTL in gtkdialog..
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
hannysabbagh

Joined: 14 Apr 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 06:47    Post subject:  RTL in gtkdialog..  

Hello.

i have gtkdialog 0.8.3 installed, i want to know if gtkdialog can display the text from right to left?? because this is very important in some languages like Arabic..?

thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 07:19    Post subject: RTL in gtkdialog..  

The surest and probably the quickest way to find out is to try. Let us know what you find out. Idea

BDX wrote:
Puppy linux fact:Life is experiments......Download and try,Don't search and cry.
quoted from The beginning of Arabic translation Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hannysabbagh

Joined: 14 Apr 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 07:46    Post subject:  

Well , i already did and i discoverd that it can't Laughing
So here i want to ask if anybody can display the text in Gtkdialog boxes using RTL? Smile
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 07:58    Post subject:  

my console wrote:
# gtkdialog --version
gtkdialog version 0.8.3 release (C) 2003-2007 Laszlo Pere, 2011-2012 Thunor
Built with additional support for: Glade.
#

Let us hope forum member thunor will jump in.

Or you jump to Gtkdialog Development
Quote:
Post here any bugs you know of or feature requests.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hannysabbagh

Joined: 14 Apr 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 08:01    Post subject:  

i think i am going to jump there Very Happy
thanks Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
thunor


Joined: 14 Oct 2010
Posts: 350
Location: Minas Tirith, in the Pelennor Fields fighting the Easterlings

PostPosted: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 08:44    Post subject:  

Surely right-to-left is managed by GTK and the user's locale!?

I'm guessing that if your locale is right-to-left then the GTK libraries will render the text according to the locale in just the same way that "3.14" in Britain becomes "3,14" in Europe.

I have noticed that there are RTL versions of some stock icons so I'm pretty sure GTK manages it -- I can't find any properties to set.

Check your locale.

Regards,
Thunor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7796
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 09:01    Post subject:  

That was pretty much why we created gtkdialog-splash.. for RTL support (and some other special UTF.8 chars that yaf-splash couldn't handle, sorry a bit of a history lesson).

See here

Iguleder may have more info, he's very knowledgeable.

HTH

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
hannysabbagh

Joined: 14 Apr 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 11:49    Post subject:  

Ok , you are right in saying that it is GTK is the responsible about RTL or LTR, the problem that i discovered is that if i changed my locale to English then it will display RTL, and if i changed it to Arabic it will display it LTR !! it is reversed here!

i tried to install Elementary OS to check from the problem, this bug is only in my system not in the other ones.

so do you know how to change GTK displaying settings even if i use an LTR or RTL text?
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3964
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 14:36    Post subject:  

Changing the locale can screw things a bit .
The old chooselocale script uses localedef binary . That is a funny thing, that does
Code:
localedef --force -v --no-archive -f ISO-8859-16 -i zu_ZA zu_ZA.ISO-8859-16 2>/root/zu_ZA.ISO-8859-16.force.errs

create a /usr/lib/locale/zu_ZU.iso885916 folder
but if there is an '@' then it becomes
/usr/lib/locale/wa_BE@euro.ISO-8859-15
for example .

Also make sure that
Code:
locale
locale -a
grep 'LANG' /etc/profile

output is correct ,
Since /etc/profile is sourced by .bashrc , locale changes might mismatch in console and X apps, as long as X is not restarted .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0574s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]