Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 05:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-620 Final (17 April 2013) and 621 (9 May 2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 29 [431 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1876
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 12:25    Post subject:  

JustGreg wrote:
I have a 512 Megabyte Lexar drive that EFI-Stub boot works without any problems. However, a Kingston 1 Gigabyte drive will not boot using the EFI-Stub process
It could also be a combination between the USB and the UEFI firmware. rEFInd uses UEFI routines to load the huge initrd. Grub2 uses its own. Anyway, moral of the story is the same Smile

Quote:
Thank you, Kirk, for the information. This explains the difference between the two. Will the Fatdog versions of FireFox and Thunderbird update to the latest versions or are they frozen at the release of the source code?
They are frozen at the release of the source code. I believe I speak correctly for kirk when I say that both of us never try to upgrade when we're using Fatdog versions of these.

On the bright side, if you do need the updates, you can download and use the official 64-bit versions of firefox and thunderbird.
http://releases.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/firefox/releases/latest/linux-x86_64/
http://releases.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/thunderbird/releases/latest/linux-x86_64/
Get the tarball from your language, and extract the contents under /usr/lib64 (For firefox, delete the symlink /usr/lib64/firefox first)
and then symlink /usr/lib64/firefox/firefox and /usr/lib64/thunderbird/thunderbird to /usr/bin.
They work and they *should* upgrade cleanly (the keyword here is *should* Smile)

Sage wrote:
Update on Eudora OSE 1.
Good News:
Allegedly it is compatible with 64bit code, whatever that implies.
So, just needs a kind soul who does that sort of thing to do it for FD....
...maybe.
Might need some extra libs? ia32?

Get the eudora tarball, extract it to /usr/lib64, symlink /usr/lib64/eudora/eudora to /usr/bin.
Then load 32-bit sfs, and start eudora like this: "start32 eudora". At least I got the menus and everything, I haven't tested beyond that. I agree a pet would be nicer Smile

spandey wrote:
ppp0 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
inet addr:117.197.237.72 P-t-P:117.197.232.1 Mask:255.255.255.255
UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1460 Metric:1
RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
RX bytes:176 (176.0 B) TX bytes:61 (61.0 B)

From the looks of it, you do get the connection correctly as ppp0 shows the correct IP address.
So it's not a kernel problem etc. The fact that you still can't connect after using Google's DNS means that somehow your IP routing may be troublesome.
Can you actually ping 8.8.8.8 when connected with pppoe? If you can't - can you paste the output of "route -n" when you're connected to pppoe?

gcmartin wrote:
And, it seems my video is on-fire (see below) with nouveau.)

Unfortunately, the open source drivers (radeon included) aren't well known for their "cool" performance. I'm forced to run with Catalyst driver here because if I use open source radeon driver, my temp will be 20 centigrade higher.

Quote:
Server Manager (SAMBA, et.al)
Further review of the Server manager shows that the server I "disabled" remained disabled while the servers I enable and started did not show enabled/restarted after save-session during reboot. Specifically crond, ntp, samba.
"ntp" service runs shortly at boot to set the clock, then exits. I need to check crond and samba, will get back to you later.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 282
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 12:39    Post subject:  

@Kirk...

I did what you said:

Quote:
The Nvidia pets I uploaded at first were broken, I think they're fixed now. It looks like you need the nvidia-310.44-3.8.7.pet. If you try it make sure to use a new savefile.


The new thing was that Nvidia driver was not picked at start, that according to Nvidia setting in control panel.. This AFTER a the reboot requested by the installation.

It came up in 480x 600 or so.

I quit X and did the xorgwizard, set it to auto resolution. And the driver did not want to work with that or any combi of color dept and my 1366x 768.

So after reading about my ASUS on the web, I think this is a Quirkey GeForce GT 520m. Its up in latest Linux Mint, but most other OS fails.

So i can live with the right resolution in FD...

Anyhow... I think the driver might not be the right one, but can not tell for sure. This the the one Nvidia says is correct
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 12:57    Post subject:  

Thanks, jb. Symlink-ing is above my pay grade, so it'll await a kind gentleman passing this way (or, better, lady!).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3632
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 13:57    Post subject:  

Kirk wrote:
The Nvidia pets ... If you try it make sure to use a new savefile.
Thanks @Kirk, for your addressing on this video issue.

To understand correctly, should the nVidia PET be installed BEFORE any other save-sessions are done (ie. 1st save-session); or do you mean to save session after installation of the PET even though you may have other save-sessions on the LIve media?

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 14:09    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:


Also uploaded a ati-catalyst-13.3b3-3.8.7.pet to the repo.


Thank's again kirk Exclamation

Now , in the morning , just in case , I installed both pets : 13.1 and 13.3b3 , each one at a time , on a brand new iso FD620 but I did it on a friend's machine , the one whom I gave the 5770 . They work on his desktop and on mine too , the only difference is that the watermark from AMD says 'Testing use only' for the beta module .
Since I couldn't install on my desktop the ati 13.1 pet I tried home the one you just added to the repo and It works now . Both disks made with 5770 work and recognize my card as AMD Radeon 7800 Series in Catalyst and in Hardinfo . The same with the one I made with 13.3b3 . I hope the watermark will be no more when the module will become final .

Now there are 2 issues :
Analog audio is fine .
When I play videos over hdmi there is a nasty noise like a radio on SW mixed with the sound , I also tried a DVD and it is still there. I installed Xine too and the noise persisted . Playing the videos and the DVD with the same hardware using my custom FD610 gives a crystal sound in all cases , so I'm lucky because the GPU is recognized by Catalyst .

Then the optical drive in FD620 opens and shuts after 2 seconds when I give the first command and only the second time behaves normally . Always , not only when I use Pburn . I scratched a CD-RW and after that I just wait for the second time to open .

Usually I do a remaster with the new pet installed without using a savefile . The new module is loaded at the next boot using the remaster version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2052
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 14:44    Post subject:  

Atle wrote:
I will be bleeding waiting to try that.

Being a person that does not want to ask to much from the volunteers in the community, I did not post a request about me not getting Nvidia drivers working for my GeForce GT 520m in my ASUS U36SD.

But I did try em all, and the GetNvidia is far to complex for GUI guys like me.

So do I look forward to see this bleeding edge stuff? YES I DO Very Happy

Atle


I've got the same GeForce GT 520 (not seeing an M ) and a copy of the pet two 'fixes' back worked flawlessly for me Smile Im not new to puppylinux but feel like a noob with fatdog64.


Im using VGA are you trying HDMI or DVI ports?

Also did not know there was a gui for that, I just found it with my snooping skills from the website used to download the iso, just go up one level to the parent directory and a whole bunch of other sister directories appears chocked full of goodies... Twisted Evil

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/pets/600/nvidia-310.44-3.8.7.pet

Also its nice to finally see the card up to its potential, I do not use anything but Linux on that machine, so I could not tell if I had a dud (You know the cheaper side of Bleeding Edge like this card is) But now with a 64bit environment and a working chipmakers secrete bits used, its nice man, did not waste the el-cheapo bottom dollar spent on this card. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8557
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 15:34    Post subject:  

Gobbi wrote:
Then the optical drive in FD620 opens and shuts after 2 seconds when I give the first command and only the second time behaves normally . Always , not only when I use Pburn . I scratched a CD-RW and after that I just wait for the second time to open .

I can confirm the same behaviour with the "eject" command. If the tray is initially empty, it will stay open. Thereafter, it immediately closes again.

If I push the eject button on the drive, it may or may not stay open.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2052
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 15:43    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Gobbi wrote:
Then the optical drive in FD620 opens and shuts after 2 seconds when I give the first command and only the second time behaves normally . Always , not only when I use Pburn . I scratched a CD-RW and after that I just wait for the second time to open .

I can confirm the same behaviour with the "eject" command. If the tray is initially empty, it will stay open. Thereafter, it immediately closes again.

If I push the eject button on the drive, it may or may not stay open.


Ditto, I thought it as just me.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 282
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 16:50    Post subject:  

@Ted Dog...

Quote:
Im using VGA are you trying HDMI or DVI ports?


The M stands for Mobile. Its inside a laptop. But I know there are issues about Linux and ASUS U36 in general as for the graphic card. Might be a early version or so from the vendor.

But in latest Mint I got it working. Yet as for FD, it might be me doing it wrong, as I did not make a new savefile for this purpose, believing that that tips was so i did not mess up my FD savefile and being unable to boot into it.

Even as a Puppy newbee, i have found out how to boot into it and to disable a driver, before X. That is some progress Very Happy

So I think I just wait to see what more comes up here...


atle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1046

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 17:35    Post subject:  

Atle wrote:
Anyhow... I think the driver might not be the right one, but can not tell for sure. This the the one Nvidia says is correct


Atle, check the link you posted... ia32 in the name is for the 32bit drivers. You'll need the 64bit one. Wink

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1046

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 17:41    Post subject:  

Q5sys wrote:
I'll try to play around with 620Final this weekend if I get time. If I do... I'll build the latest short Branch Nvidia driver for those who want to be on the bleeding edge.


kirk wrote:
The Nvidia pets I uploaded at first were broken, I think they're fixed now. It looks like you need the nvidia-310.44-3.8.7.pet. If you try it make sure to use a new savefile.


Just for clairity, the driver Kirk has posted is the Long Branch driver, and is probably the best option for most people. The Long Branch driver from Nvidia is usually a bit more stable and less prone to craziness. Razz The Short Branch usually is the first to get the newest updates after they have cleared Beta, but it can still have issues to be worked out before getting merged with the Long Branch.

So everyone, try the Long Branch FIRST, If that doesnt work... then you can try the short branch I'll be posting soon.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spandey

Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Thu 25 Apr 2013, 00:09    Post subject:  

Quote:
If you can't - can you paste the output of "route -n" when you're connected to pppoe?


You are right, the routing table is not correct.
Code:

Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
0.0.0.0          192.168.1.1      0.0.0.0            UG    0      0         0  eth0
127.0.0.0        0.0.0.0           255.0.0.0         U      0      0         0  lo
192.168.1.0     0.0.0.0          255.255.255.0   U      0      0         0  eth0

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 653
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Thu 25 Apr 2013, 08:02    Post subject:  

Jamesbond, thank you for taking the time to answer my question. I now known about both FireFox and Thunderbird. From your description of the upgrade process, one should be able to use dir2pet tool to create a pet. I will put that on the "to do" list. I will probably look at the Mozilla upgrade process and pets in next week or two.

I will do some more USB devices testing with actual USB hard drives to see if there is a difference between them and flash drives.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2052
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 25 Apr 2013, 12:06    Post subject:  

Laughing Laughing Laughing Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

THIS WAS POSTED USING A MULTISESSION BLU-RAY FATDOG64 WITH FILES AND DIRECTORIES LARGER THAN A SINGLE DVD COULD SUPPORT

..... Wink Not ready for prime time but the -J support for MiserySoft longnames had to be dropped inorder for this to work. We will not miss it. Rolling Eyes

Laughing Laughing Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 653
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Thu 25 Apr 2013, 20:36    Post subject:
Subject description: USB 2.0 Device Booting
 

3 out of 4 USB 2.0 devices require the use of Grub2 to boot Fatdog with UEFI. The devices tested were:
Lexar 512 Megabyte Flash Drive
Kingston 1 Gigabyte Flash Drive
Kanguru Zipper HD 1 Gigabyte Hard Drive
Western Digital 36 Gigabyte Hard Drive.

Only the Lexar 512 Megabyte flash drive would boot using rEFInd and the EFI stub method.

There are no problems with internal hard drives Very Happy

Things may be better with USB 3.0 and a USB 3.0 device. However, I do not have access to them.

I hope this helps.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 29 [431 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1017s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0088s) ][ GZIP on ]