Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 13:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-620 Final (17 April 2013) and 621 (9 May 2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 29 [431 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
live

Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Sat 27 Apr 2013, 18:05    Post subject:  

How do I Wifi connect
Quote:
right click on the wifi icon on bottom right of taskbar > setup networking

also internet wizard in control panel > network


I scanned the network, but how do I connect to the chosen one???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1400
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 27 Apr 2013, 20:49    Post subject:  

Quote:
How do I Wifi connect
Quote:
right click on the wifi icon on bottom right of taskbar > setup networking

also internet wizard in control panel > network


I scanned the network, but how do I connect to the chosen one???


No, just left click on it and follow the instructions in the FAQs: http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/Networking.html

Again, the web page above is included with Fatdog64, it's on the home page under FAQs.


Quote:
kirk , could you make another pet of it , when you find some time , please


Yep, it's now in the repo. This is one I can't test, let me know if it's broke.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gnuxo

Joined: 09 Feb 2012
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Sat 27 Apr 2013, 21:52    Post subject:  

Hi, I was trying to change my keyboard layout to Russian for some quick work but when I tried to change the xkbmap, it would cause me to be unable to type at all, and I'd have to reset X.

I looked through the locales and realized that russian isn't even included...

Is there someway to add more languages?\\


Edit: Ok nevermind. Russian is included in the keyboard layouts but whenever I try to change it, I'm unable to type at all. It's not detected.
Something is wrong with the russian language in Fatdog64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DrDeaf

Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sat 27 Apr 2013, 22:57    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:



Quote:
As UEFI was discussed during the beta period, I looked at it a bit and I have a question. If my machine only boots from "clean" "read only" ISO images, does UEFI have any benefit for that environment?


UEFI is a replacement firmware for BIOS that's found on newer computers. You ether have it or you don't, though some UEFI implementations do have a legacy (BIOS) mode. Fatdog64-620 will boot on BIOS computers or UEFI computers.


Thanks for the response, Kirk.
I should have given more information. I do have a machine that will boot either way and I have it set to accept either. Without any change in settings, FD610 and 620 each boot no problem. My question came from my recollection of the reading I did during the early beta time and my recollection of the purpose of UEFI as I understood it.

As I recall UEFI boots only with signed code and is intended to prevent maliciously corrupted access to the machine. Yes? Is there more that relates to FatDog64 that perhaps I did not understand? Further, since I boot only from a "clean" "read only" ISO and do not use a "savefile" does UEFI benefit my environment?
Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2134
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 08:20    Post subject:  

DrDeaf wrote:
As I recall UEFI boots only with signed code and is intended to prevent maliciously corrupted access to the machine. Yes?

Incorrect. Don't confuse UEFI with SecureBoot.

Quote:
Is there more that relates to FatDog64 that perhaps I did not understand?

Fatdog64 can boot on SecureBoot environment but it doesn't bring any supposed "benefits" of SecureBoot (whatever the "benefits" are).

Quote:
Further, since I boot only from a "clean" "read only" ISO and do not use a "savefile" does UEFI benefit my environment?

In this *very particular scenario*, no, there is no benefit choosing to boot Fatdog with UEFI over booting Fatdog with BIOS mode.

Gnuxo wrote:
Edit: Ok nevermind. Russian is included in the keyboard layouts but whenever I try to change it, I'm unable to type at all. It's not detected.
Something is wrong with the russian language in Fatdog64
As far as locales are concerned, I'm sorry to say that Fatdog64 is English only.
Additional locales are available from the package manager and also on the devx - load the devx, set the appropriate locales and then you can unload devx, of you wish, but there is no localisation/internationalisation in Fatdog64.
Keyboard layouts are supposed to work, but both myself and kirk only understand one layout so we rely on people like you to confirm whether it work (or not) and hopefully over a fix if not.

EDIT: seems that you need to enable an UTF-8 locale before you can use the Russian keyboard layout. I tested using en_AU.UTF-8 locale, restart X as suggested, and after that I changed the keyboard layout to Standard Russia. Opening terminal, I can then type some characters.

liboicl wrote:
First of all, as of 6.0.0, I believe, the initrd has contained the base and mosule sfs files. This makes the initrd file huge. I have a 10MB boot partition and I have to edit the initrd, move the files, and modify the init script with every release. This is very tedious. I preferred the previous releases with the files already separate.
You don't have to edit the initrd manually. There is a CLI tool called "fatdog-split-initrd.sh" to do that for you. Okay, I concede we'll probably need a FAQ entry on this Smile

Quote:
Secondly, I upgraded from 6.0.1 to this one and it takes about 40 seconds after boot for my mouse and keyboard to start working. On 6.0.1 they both worked instantaneously. They are both USB devices.
? Can you elaborate?

Gobbi wrote:
I unchecked 'Sofware mixing (shared access)' from the second window after I chose the sound card from
Control Panel/Sound/Fatdog64 Set Default Sound Card and the annoying nasty noise from my HDMI output doesn't bother me anymore . Now my Sapphire HD 7870 XT works great in Fatdog64 620 .
Thank you. I am under the impression that everybody knows that when using HDMI, the software mixing should be turned off ... Embarassed

JustGreg wrote:
USB 2.0 Device Booting
Thank you for the testing the USB booting in USB boot. This is very useful information, we should get this information documented in a more permanent place, let me think ...

spandey wrote:
You are right, the routing table is not correct.
I need to look at pppoe stuff, but I won't have the time for that now Sad
Can you try this: type "route add default gw x.x.x.x" where x.x.x.x is the the second IP address on ppp0 interface (the one you get from ifconfig ppp0), and see if you can ping 8.8.8.8 after this?

gcmartin wrote:
Server Manager (SAMBA, et.al)
Further review of the Server manager shows that the server I "disabled" remained disabled while the servers I enable and started did not show enabled/restarted after save-session during reboot. Specifically crond, ntp, samba.
I've just tested on a fresh ISO, booted up with "multisession" option, enable all the 3 services (crond, ntp, samba), reboot (and saving the session), and everything came back running after that Confused

EDIT: update info for gnuxo.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4782
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 11:40    Post subject:  

620: GParted = Treacle?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 12:46    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
620: GParted = Treacle?!

I don't see a problem.

Is it slow to start or slow to perform tasks?

Is this the old problem with detecting phantom floppy drives?

How much memory do you have?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4782
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 13:11    Post subject:  

Very slow to detect drives, just slow to operate, normal to sign off.
Got 1Gb, but it isn't doing much (subjectively). This is still a compact distro with .iso of 224Mb. Can run live CDs three times that size at normal speed. This is the first time on any machine, any distro, any mem complement that I've seen this super-slow behaviour.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4238
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 13:30    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
gcmartin wrote:
Server Manager (SAMBA, et.al)
Further review of the Server manager shows that the server I "disabled" remained disabled while the servers I enable and started did not show enabled/restarted after save-session during reboot. Specifically crond, ntp, samba.
I've just tested on a fresh ISO, booted up with "multisession" option, enable all the 3 services (crond, ntp, samba), reboot (and saving the session), and everything came back running after that Confused
Thanks JamesBond.

Maybe you and I have somehow used different boot options or save-session path back to Live media. I have this problem on 2 completely different PCs with identical results. That is, the subsystems are not restarting; and they are shown so in the tool provided in the Control panel. The PCs are non-UEHI PCs with old BIOSs.

Has anyone else seen a similar issue with Live media boot and save sessions where these or other servers that are enabled and started via the control panel are not enabled and/or started upon reboot?

I will revisit my "boot-run-reboot" path again and report back, here, in this post soon. I will document the steps in such a way as it will lead to discovery of where this may be breaking down.

Edit: If there are any system files which anyone feels would also help shed light on the issue, please advise and I will provide.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1048

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 14:58    Post subject:  

Someone with Nvidia please test this and report back before it gets added to the repos.
Nvidia Short Branch x86_64 Driver Version 313.30

Click for full resolution: (3840x2160)

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4238
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 18:52    Post subject:  

Using Live Media to boot FATDOG620. This time an installation departure was taken. I DID NOT INSTALL ALL PETs as had been done on prior FATDOG620 Live Media setup. I ONLY installed the 2 requirements I felt necessary: see below:

  1. Created a fresh FATDOG620 multi-session base DVD on an RW
  2. Booted FATDOG with parms
    • ... withlvm withmdadm nouveau.noaccel=1 savefile=no
  3. At desktop
  4. turn on swap to use the swap partition
  5. install Kirk's "eject" PET
  6. setup SAMBA configuration for LAN sharing
  7. Use Control Panel for following
    • Localization
      • timezone
      • hostname

    • set wallpaper
    • System
      • Fatdog PPM
        • install required SAMBA Extensions

      • Fatdog Server Management
        • Enable and Start all necessary servers
  8. exited the desktop
    1. set system password
    2. set SAMBA password

  9. Enter the desktop
  10. Reboot
  11. designate the savefile drive (sr0)
  12. system rebooted with parms
    • ... withlvm withmdadm nouveau.noaccel=1 savefile=direct:multi

  13. Opened desktop to find the Server subsystems are started. (This is the expected behavior that I had NOT gotten before.)
Thanks James for testing.
Again, the primary change, this time, was to NOT install all of the PETs required for this version to replace my older FATDOG520

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WillM

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 139
Location: Oakland, California

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 23:15    Post subject:  

Hi Q5sys.

The nvidia-310.44-3.8.7 driver was already installed on here. I uninstalled it, rebooted, then installed the Nvidia-313.30-FD620-K3.7.8.pet. Rebooted, and it could not detect the correct resolution of my monitor, which is 1900x1080. Here is xerrs log;
Code:

X.Org X Server 1.12.4
Release Date: 2012-08-27
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 3.8.5 x86_64
Current Operating System: Linux fatdog64-c65 3.8.7 #1 SMP Fri Apr 12 20:11:22 EDT 2013 x86_64
Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/fatdog620/vmlinuz root=UUID=6fbee58b-cd48-4819-8d2b-ed06d7f00eea savefile=direct:device:sda2:/fatdog620/fd64save
Build Date: 02 April 2013  01:24:52PM
 
Current version of pixman: 0.24.2
   Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
   to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
   (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
   (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Sun Apr 28 18:45:02 2013
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(==) Using system config directory "/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d"
FATAL: Could not read '/lib/modules/3.8.7/kernel/nvidia.ko': No such file or directory
resize called 1280 1024
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Mon 29 Apr 2013, 07:36    Post subject:  

After many tries I had no success with ati_13.4 pet on my computer Sad . Tomorrow I shall install the pet on a different AMD hardware . The 13.3b3 pet gave me much hope because it works .
With 13.4 it happens exactly as with 13.1 that is X does not start . After loading the kernel a message tells that the file /var/log/Xorg.0.log is missing .Neither xorgwizard xwin or xorgwizard-old solves anything .
Using 13.3b3 I found that file , so posting it maybe helps ...
Xorg.0.txt.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  Xorg.0.txt.gz 
Filesize  7.44 KB 
Downloaded  73 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2087
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 29 Apr 2013, 09:16    Post subject: Fatdog64-620 Final (17 April 2013)
Subject description: ati pet
 

I installed the ati 13.4 pet and it's working okay on my laptop.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Mon 29 Apr 2013 on Fatdog64 620 Linux 3.8.7 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller:
Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]neeATI Manhattan [Mobility Radeon HD 5400 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: PARK 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: fglrx
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 1600x900 pixels (423x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5400 Series
OpenGL version string: 4.2.12217 Compatibility Profile Context 12.104

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 430 @ 2.27GHz
Core 0: @1199 1: @1199 2: @1199 3: @1199 MHz

# glxgears
12541 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2508.160 FPS
12065 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2412.859 FPS
11965 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2392.939 FPS
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 283
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 29 Apr 2013, 10:22    Post subject:  

@Q5sys

I can not install the Nvidia driver, as it tells me to be root...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 29 [431 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1262s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0117s) ][ GZIP on ]