Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 10:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy Arcade Won't Boot
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
MasterSuckAtLinux

Joined: 28 Apr 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 13:03    Post subject:  Puppy Arcade Won't Boot
Subject description: Puppy Won't Boot On My Old Compaq Evo n115
 

I Found this old S*** computer that was going to be garbage and I said what the heck i'll keep it. I decided I wanted to turn it into a a classic gaming computer. so i download puppy arcade, then I boot the old granny up with the freshly burned Cd. then I choose the start up puppy arcade in the grub selection menu. this is what happens...

Loading kernel drivers needed to access disk drives... done
Searching for Puppy files in computer disk drives... done
Loading the 'pup_420.sfs' main file... done
Setting up the layered filesystem... done
Performing a 'switch_root' to the layered filesystem...Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

tried other options in grub menu like RAM only and safemode but same thing happend...
and it works with my toshiba satellite so I think it's has somthing to do with my compaq being to old...
can anybody tell me how to fix this? if not can you give me alternative distros that does the same thing as puppy arcade? thanks.
Oh and by the way I'm a linux nub so explain it to me in english terms.

Here is specs of compaq evo n115
OS: Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 1 (build 2600)
CPU: 1.20 Ghz AMD Athlon XP
GPU: S3 Graphics Twister K Compaq 16MB
RAM: 240 MB
HDD:IC25N020ATCSO4-0 20.00GB
Model: Compaq EVO N115
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1768

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 13:57    Post subject:  

MasterSuckAtLinux wrote:
Quote:
then I boot the old granny up with the freshly burned Cd.

Quote:
and it works with my toshiba satellite

In both cases, are you referring to the same CD?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MasterSuckAtLinux

Joined: 28 Apr 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 14:07    Post subject:  

In both cases the same Cd is used. The Toshiba works fine with puppy arcade. The Toshiba is about 11 years newer than the Compaq though.
Edit: To Make it more clear its the same CD with the same puppy arcade on it. I don't think it's a issue with the CD being corrupt since it works on my
Toshiba Satellite just fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1768

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 14:45    Post subject:  

MasterSuckAtLinux wrote:
Quote:
I don't think it's a issue with the CD being corrupt since it works on my Toshiba Satellite just fine.

OK, then it probably has more to do with incompatibility than the age of your computer.

This Compaq (P2 / 350) is older than yours.
But it will run that kernel (2.6.25.16) just fine with BarryK's Puppy builds.

However, it does have problems with Akita and Puplite.
Like Puppy Arcade, Akita and Puplite are based on TurboPup.
(And again, they all have kernel 2.6.25.16.)

Some computers just don't run well (or at all) with certain Puppy builds and / or kernels.

Last edited by Dewbie on Sun 28 Apr 2013, 16:07; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MasterSuckAtLinux

Joined: 28 Apr 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 16:01    Post subject:  

So your saying there's nothing you can really do about it? If there isn't, is there any other disro's I can try that does what puppy arcade does? can I use a diffrent verson of the puppy arcade to make it work? please let me know thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1768

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 16:19    Post subject:  

These would probably be the best places to look:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/index.php?f=38
http://www.google.com/search?ie=ISO-8859-1&hl=en&source=hp&q=linux+gaming+emulator&btnG=Google+Search&gbv=1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0534s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0042s) ][ GZIP on ]