Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 18:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
SFS P.L.U.S. 2.0.5
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 09:08    Post subject:  

Poll added!
_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 10:00    Post subject:  

oops I am a minority voice there. Wanting it to unload?
Why would one want to keep it?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Master_wrong

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 456

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 10:50    Post subject:  

i vote for a radio button !
_________________
Cluster-Pup v.2-Puppy Beowulf Cluster
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=499199#499199
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 26 Dec 2012, 10:26    Post subject:  

Version 2.0.4 uploaded. PET and Info at first post.
_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 29 Dec 2012, 02:49    Post subject:  

Version 2.0.5 uploaded. PET and Info at first post.

Information at first post new restructured and updated!

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 19:28    Post subject:  

Hi.

I have successfully installed and tested the SFS P.L.U.S. into MacPup 5.2.5 (which seems to be a Lucid) and also in MacPup 5.2.9 (which is based on precise 5.2.60).

But in MacPup 5.2.9 I've had to solve a small issue because of the new Options-GUI in filemnt which gives option to choose either to look at the content of the SFS or to load the SFS with sfs_load before mounting the left-clicked SFS file.

This new Options-GUI of filemnt makes the RunScript-Creator functioning irregular.

To use the SFS P.L.U.S. in MacPup 5.2.9 do edit file /usr/sbin/filemnt. Make the following code as comments:
Code:
   #120525 take into account shinobar's load-on-the-fly pet...
   if [ "`which sfs_load`" != "" ];then
    SFSMSG1a="$(eval_gettext "You can choose to mount the \${imgFileBASE} file to view it's contents (read-only), or you can install it.")" #'geany
    SFSMSG1b="${SFSMSG1a}\n\n$(gettext 'Regarding the latter, traditionally SFS files are selected by the \ZbBootManager\ZB for loading at bootup (see System menu), which you can do, or you can choose to install (load) it now (which will not require a reboot).\n\nNote1: If you want to edit the contents of an SFS file, you have to use the commandline utilities \Zbunsquashfs\ZB and \Zbmksquashfs\ZB.\nNote2: In the case of a full HD installation, without a layered filesystem, installation is irreversible. For all other installation modes, the BootManager can be used to unload an installed (loaded) SFS file.')"
    pupdialog --colors --background '#FFFF80' --backtitle "${imgFileBASE}" --extra-button --yes-label "$(gettext 'View contents')" --no-label "$(gettext 'Install SFS')" --extra-label "$(gettext 'Cancel')"  --yesno "${SFSMSG1b}" 0 0
    RETVAL=$?
    [ $RETVAL -eq 1 ] && exec sfs_load "$1"
    [ $RETVAL -ne 0 ] && exit #120527
   fi

just like this here is shown:
Code:
   ##120525 take into account shinobar's load-on-the-fly pet...
   #if [ "`which sfs_load`" != "" ];then
   # SFSMSG1a="$(eval_gettext "You can choose to mount the \${imgFileBASE} file to view it's contents (read-only), or you can install it.")" #'geany
   # SFSMSG1b="${SFSMSG1a}\n\n$(gettext 'Regarding the latter, traditionally SFS files are selected by the \ZbBootManager\ZB for loading at bootup (see System menu), which you can do, or you can choose to install (load) it now (which will not require a reboot).\n\nNote1: If you want to edit the contents of an SFS file, you have to use the commandline utilities \Zbunsquashfs\ZB and \Zbmksquashfs\ZB.\nNote2: In the case of a full HD installation, without a layered filesystem, installation is irreversible. For all other installation modes, the BootManager can be used to unload an installed (loaded) SFS file.')"
   # pupdialog --colors --background '#FFFF80' --backtitle "${imgFileBASE}" --extra-button --yes-label "$(gettext 'View contents')" --no-label "$(gettext 'Install SFS')" --extra-label "$(gettext 'Cancel')"  --yesno "${SFSMSG1b}" 0 0
   # RETVAL=$?
   # [ $RETVAL -eq 1 ] && exec sfs_load "$1"
   # [ $RETVAL -ne 0 ] && exit #120527
   #fi

It starts in line 134!

Or, do install the attached script ---> which means: download, remove the fake .gz, make executable and copy to /usr/sbin. That's all.

The SFS P.L.U.S. RunScript-Creator should now create the RunScripts as usual.

RSH

Note: this could be necessary to do in some other newer Puppies as well!

Edit: for the use of SFS PLUS in MacPup 5.2.9 please do also have a look here - download and install at last! - (should be in /usr/sbin/ceelab/tools when using SFS P.L.U.S.)
filemnt.gz
Description  Modified filemnt for the use of SFS P.L.U.S. in MacPup 5.2.9
gz

 Download 
Filename  filemnt.gz 
Filesize  9.28 KB 
Downloaded  136 Time(s) 

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2013, 05:45    Post subject:  

Hi.

Again me.

Again discovered a small issue when using SFS P.L.U.S. in newer Puppies.

Currently using LazY Precise Puppy based on Precise 5.6 and LazY Puppy 3. Sometimes it's not possible to create a RunScript from SFS. For some reasons script 'filemnt' seems to need more time to mount the SFS (which is needed to create the RunScript).

Solution comes here. Search for the code below in /root/my-roxapps/SFS-ASCRIPT/AppRun

Code:
# get new mounted path
. /tmp/$SFSFILE.mnt_tmp
# just wait to be sure, sfs is full mounted
sleep 1
# close rox window
rox -D "/mnt/$MNTORIGFILE"

Change sleep 1 to sleep 2 (now works well here, but might needed to be increased on slower machines).

The ROX window has to stay open for a while. If it is closed to quickly, the SFS will not be mounted and the RunScript will not be created - error message says, the SFS is not yet converted to LazY Puppy, even though it is! It's just because of not finding the Convert-Control-File!

RSH

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 392

PostPosted: Sat 29 Nov 2014, 21:07    Post subject: Re: SFS P.L.U.S. 2.0.5
Subject description: The (P)owerful (L)ive (U)ser (S)ystem from LazY Puppy
 

RSH wrote:
I like to run my Puppy without the use of a save file

+1

A sustained usage of a save file is just a slow version of performing a full install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Uten

Joined: 29 Jan 2008
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 21:20    Post subject: SFS P.L.U.S 2.0.5 and tahr?  

Does anyone have SFS P.L.U.S working with/on tahr-6.0-ce.
I have just tried ad it seems to have some problems. But this is my first attempt at SFS P.L.U.S so it could be I do something wrong.

My problems so fare:
1: After converting an sfs file (why am I asked to rename the sfs before conversion?) it is not recognized as an converted file by the "LP2 SFS AutoScript create Run-Scripts tool".

2: The "mount sfs" dialog is displayed twice. I did increase the sleep mentioned above to 5.

Yesterday I gave LazYP a go. But it does not like my machine ( acer travelmate 4000 ), or maybee it is picky and doesn't like me Crying or Very sad

I have not checked the listed dependencies, so maybe there are something there.

Also R.S.H the link to the xdotool is dead, is it needed?

Best regards
Uten
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LazY Puppy


Joined: 21 Nov 2014
Posts: 143
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 23:47    Post subject:  

Hi.

In newer Puppies like Precise, Slacko, Tahr etc. you'll need to comment out a code section in file /usr/sbin/filemnt. This section was added for shinobar's sfs_load and it causes problems for the use of SFS P.L.U.S. since it uses /usr/sbin/filemnt to mount a SFS to create a RunScript from its .desktop File.

Here is the Code:
Code:
   #120525 take into account shinobar's load-on-the-fly pet...
   if [ "`which sfs_load`" != "" ];then
    SFSMSG1a="$(eval_gettext "You can choose to mount the \${imgFileBASE} file to view it's contents (read-only), or you can install it.")" #'geany
    SFSMSG1b="${SFSMSG1a}\n\n$(gettext 'Regarding the latter, traditionally SFS files are selected by the \ZbBootManager\ZB for loading at bootup (see System menu), which you can do, or you can choose to install (load) it now (which will not require a reboot).\n\nNote1: If you want to edit the contents of an SFS file, you have to use the commandline utilities \Zbunsquashfs\ZB and \Zbmksquashfs\ZB.\nNote2: In the case of a full HD installation, without a layered filesystem, installation is irreversible. For all other installation modes, the BootManager can be used to unload an installed (loaded) SFS file.')"
    pupdialog --colors --background '#FFFF80' --backtitle "${imgFileBASE}" --extra-button --yes-label "$(gettext 'View contents')" --no-label "$(gettext 'Install SFS')" --extra-label "$(gettext 'Cancel')"  --yesno "${SFSMSG1b}" 0 0
    RETVAL=$?
    [ $RETVAL -eq 1 ] && exec sfs_load "$1"
    [ $RETVAL -ne 0 ] && exit #120527
   fi

You can either remove it or just commenting it out.

The renaming of any SFS for the use with SFS P.L.U.S. is absolutely necessary! Just add the Prefix LP2_ in front of any SFS's Name, that you want to use with the SFS P.L.U.S. After renaming it, just convert it first to the SFS P.L.U.S. Format, copy or save it and create a RunScript after its conversion.

Here is a .pet File for xdotool that still seems to work. It is only needed, if you want to create Desktop Icons automatically when creating a RunScript and want to have it placed centered at the Desktop.

Probably interesting?

_________________
RSH

LazY Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0900s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]