Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Sep 2014, 17:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Figaro PSW Manager fail on live.com [I misundertood FPM]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [48 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 29 Apr 2013, 16:34    Post subject:  

/usr/bin/firefox

is the answer to that cli in Terminal.

and if one execute it then a new instance start.
So what am I supposed to do in FPM to launce the
/usr/bin/firefox

I go to bed now so will not read for 10 to 12 hours sorry

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3883
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 29 Apr 2013, 20:05    Post subject:  

Do me a flavour.. Execute this from a shell, *WAIT* >> then confirm whether or not FF launches:
Yes Nooby- ignore the fpm dialog..
Code:
fpm2 | firefox

*IF* it does, check that these lines in ~/.fpm/fpm.ini match:
Code:
copy_target=1
clear_target=true

Make sure it's closed before proceeding..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 03:06    Post subject:  

You mean I make you a favor? Smile

But I fail to get what you write here
" Execute this from a shell, *WAIT* >> then confirm whether or not FF launches: "

The word WAIT is that the | sign? I thought them named Pipe or something?

I fail to remember all the terms they tried to teach us at Ms DOS.

Sure I try the fpm2 | firefox

That started up a new instance of FF
but typically of me when I gave up on
using Figaro for Hotmail then I deleted the
.fpm file so nothing there. I would have to
set it all up again for to check if that is in the ini

So what you try to find out now is the reason it failed
and how to repair it?

That is very friendly of you but I have giving up on it.
AFAIK FPM are only needed for Hotmail and I don't need
hotmail I can use Gmail instead.

so not sure how to proceed. Are you sure it is worth all the effort
to set it up again just to see if the ini file get the right terms there?

Would it help somebody in future that encounter same problem?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3883
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 06:02    Post subject:  

Nah, we're done. Most noobs should be covered by the second and seventh posts..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 07:23    Post subject:  

I got curious and started all over.
What I found out was this one

copy_target=0 so I changed that one to copy_target=1
as you recommended but it reverts to copy_target=0
when one save it.


I changed persmission for that file so I could edit it
and that kept the copy_target=1 but still failed
both to go to the url live.com and if I moved manually
to that url it still failed to copy over to the box field.

So something with the clipboard seems to fail.

That did not help though. It does launch a new FF
but that one show my homepage and not live.com
I made live.com to be my home page but that did not help
it has a blinking cursor in the field for to copy from clipboard
to the field in the sign in box but it never write in the username
when I do Tab or anything else.

So it has to do with how my version of Lupu 528-005 handle the clipboard?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
proebler

Joined: 24 Jan 2012
Posts: 70
Location: TAS

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 08:15    Post subject:  

set your Copy target in thr fpm2 Preferences as shown, then save before you close fpm2.
fpm2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   25.45 KB
 Viewed   175 Time(s)

fpm2.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 08:29    Post subject:  

That is how it is already but just for the test
I saved it again but it did not help sorry.

Something is preventing it from happening?
I most likely use the clip board each day without know it
Can it be already in use and that way not available
Do I have to reboot and start up figaro and then it own the clipboard?

Why else would it not work thanks for suggesting possible solutions.
what an odd failure. How do we know that Lupu can use the clipboard this way?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
proebler

Joined: 24 Jan 2012
Posts: 70
Location: TAS

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 09:12    Post subject:  

to see the clip board working, open a text editor and do your copy/paste there
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 09:35    Post subject:  

proebler wrote:
to see the clip board working, open a text editor and do your copy/paste there

So if I get you

1. I start up Figaro Psw Manager
2. and then start Geany with new
3. and click on tab? or click on Username?

Should I do ctrl+v or what? I am dense sorry

Only if I do Edit and paste does it produce something.
Not as practical as doing manually from start
doing copy and past from the text file with all my
To do today on.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
proebler

Joined: 24 Jan 2012
Posts: 70
Location: TAS

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 18:26    Post subject:  

- start Geany
- open fpm2, there make your selection [e.g. Hotmail, Murga or whatever ] > use Jump
- go back to the open Geany, there do right-click & "paste" twice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 18:28    Post subject:  

I did it only once and that did give the username
But it does not place it in the field on the live com site.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3883
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 18:30    Post subject:  

So Noobs- are you IN or OUT? I'll just about bet I know where you fell short..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 18:34    Post subject:  

I have tested Antix now and are not motivated to take it further
So I now turn to Figaro and hope for your friendly help Smile
I fail to sort out what you try to say with in or out?
but feel encourage by this text

"I'll just about bet I know where you fell short.."

That would be good to know and test so Shoot man shoot! Smile

So if you could describe what I am supposed to do now
that I have not tested before.

What we know is that it launches the FF but not at the url
and it can do paste to the clip board but not from clip
to the field in the webmail site.

Use more words for this in or out your text too cryptic for me to get.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3883
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 01 May 2013, 16:23    Post subject:  

Cryptic cause peeps should read'n think before constructing their reply!

==

Open fpm >> enter passwd >> highlight Hotmail >> hit edit.

Now- what's the 'launcher' say?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 01 May 2013, 18:24    Post subject:  

You are a teacher at heart. Teach them to think for themselves Smile

Well I did as you wrote and it say nothing it shows the GUI
and I filled in the GUI as per your instructions and did double check
that I got everything right and started all over after deleting it
when it had filed 5 time in a row and started all over and it still fails.

Now it is 00.29 May 2 here so I am one hour past me should be in bed
so I read your way too cryptic suggestion tomorrow.

Keep at it you will become a good teacher with me as your eager student
or pupil Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [48 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0739s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0056s) ][ GZIP on ]