Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 08:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-620 Final (17 April 2013) and 621 (9 May 2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 9 of 29 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2129
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 29 Apr 2013, 10:28    Post_subject: Fatdog64-620 Final (17 April 2013)
Sub_title: ati
 

kirk wrote:
It looks like that card is supported by this pet:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/pets/600/ati-catalyst-13.1-3.8.7.pet

So you can try that one with a new savefile. But, that's one I don't the hardware to test. You might need the 13.3 beta driver AMD has out right now. If anyone has tested the ati-catalyst-13.1-3.8.7.pet let us know.


I installed the ati-catalyst-legacy-13.1-3.8.7.pet and it's working
okay on my imac.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Mon 29 Apr 2013 on Fatdog64 620 Linux 3.8.7 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller:
Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Radeon HD 2400 XT
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: M74 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: fglrx
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 1680x1050 pixels (444x277 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 2400 XT
OpenGL version string: 3.3.11672 Compatibility Profile Context

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8135 @ 2.40GHz
Core 0: @800 1: @800 MHz

# glxgears
24514 frames in 5.0 seconds = 4902.756 FPS
24915 frames in 5.0 seconds = 4982.821 FPS
24975 frames in 5.0 seconds = 4994.888 FPS
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1073

PostPosted: Mon 29 Apr 2013, 12:18    Post_subject:  

WillM wrote:
Hi Q5sys.

The nvidia-310.44-3.8.7 driver was already installed on here. I uninstalled it, rebooted, then installed the Nvidia-313.30-FD620-K3.7.8.pet. Rebooted, and it could not detect the correct resolution of my monitor, which is 1900x1080. Here is xerrs log;
Code:

X.Org X Server 1.12.4
Release Date: 2012-08-27
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 3.8.5 x86_64
Current Operating System: Linux fatdog64-c65 3.8.7 #1 SMP Fri Apr 12 20:11:22 EDT 2013 x86_64
Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/fatdog620/vmlinuz root=UUID=6fbee58b-cd48-4819-8d2b-ed06d7f00eea savefile=direct:device:sda2:/fatdog620/fd64save
Build Date: 02 April 2013  01:24:52PM
 
Current version of pixman: 0.24.2
   Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
   to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
   (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
   (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Sun Apr 28 18:45:02 2013
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(==) Using system config directory "/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d"
FATAL: Could not read '/lib/modules/3.8.7/kernel/nvidia.ko': No such file or directory
resize called 1280 1024


WillM,
Thanks for testing that... I normally make drivers into SFS packages out of my save file... doing it via a Pet was a different method for me, and I missed that main file. lol
I've remade it.
http://puppy-linux.org/fatdog64/fd620/pets/Nvidia-313.30-FD620-K3.7.8.pet

btw... could you post how you loaded that PET for Atle. Again since i normally make my drivers as SFS packages for easy replacement, I'm not familiar with the install method on FD for non repo pets.

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Liboicl

Joined: 15 Feb 2010
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Mon 29 Apr 2013, 19:35    Post_subject:  

To elaborate on my mouse issues, which for some reason have now transferred to 6.0.1. I am unsure if this is even related to fatdog anymore. Anyway, when the OS boots my mouse and keyboard lights go off. It seems to connect faster now though, in about 10 seconds on 6.0.1. I can't move my mouse or use my keyboard until the lights come back on. I added
Code:
options usbhid quirks=0x0458:0x0138:0x20000000
options usbhid quirks=0x1532:0x0118:0x20000000

to /etc/modprobe.d and now the lights won't go off, but I still have to wait ~10 seconds to use them. If I do a cold boot, I have issues with these devices before the OS loads as well. In that case, I have to unplug and replug them in. The odd thing is, this behavior doesn't happen if I use my old mouse, but it still happens if I use no mouse, of course only to the keyboard in that last case. All of the devices are USB.

I get an error in dmesg
Code:
timeout initializing reports

_________________
Additional .pet packages
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WillM

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 144
Location: Oakland, California

PostPosted: Mon 29 Apr 2013, 23:32    Post_subject:  

HI Q5sys.

The new Nvidia-313.30-FD620-K3.7.8.pet didn't boot to the desktop. Maybe that's just a typo, but Fatdog64-620 uses 3.8.7 kernel.


Atle, Log in as root to install pets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
live

Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 161

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 04:21    Post_subject:  

Quote:

Quote:
How do I Wifi connect
Quote:
right click on the wifi icon on bottom right of taskbar > setup networking

also internet wizard in control panel > network


I scanned the network, but how do I connect to the chosen one???


No, just left click on it and follow the instructions in the FAQs: http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/Networking.html

Again, the web page above is included with Fatdog64, it's on the home page under FAQs.

So far under FatDog, I fail to get Wifi either on open or crypted WiFi.

If I correctly understood I would clarify http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/Networking.html in such a way:


To connect to a new WiFI network using wpa_gui, you first need to scan & add the WiFi network, then configure & select it. Here is how.
First, click on the wpa_gui icon to open it


To add a new one:
0) Verify that the pane "Current Status" is displayed
1) Click disconnect.
2) Click scan to scan all available WiFis.
3) Result will appear in a window, double click on the network you want to connect to, so as to add it to the list of configured network you want to connect.
4) IF any password is needed, type it in the PSK field and click add.
Warning: you do need to select the right authentification protocol.

The WiFi network is now added in a list of configured network with a preceding ordering number.

5) Now, select the network in the list you created of configured networks, by selecting it into the the Network pull-down list.

Note: You may manage your list of network, by changing to the pane "Manage Network"

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 286
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 04:26    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Atle, Log in as root to install pets.


I have set the login graphical and as root with a new password,

I still get the same message. Can only install as root...

That, even if I do log in as root.

Atle
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 765
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 06:42    Post_subject:  

Fatdog64-620 - manual frugal to SDcard (ext2) and booting via grub4dos.
Running on E732 laptop with i3 proc. and 2gig ram. Laptop screen broken, so using an old ProView LCD to display. Seems ok.

# uname -a
Linux fatdog64-284 3.8.7 #1 SMP Fri Apr 12 20:11:22 EDT 2013 x86_64 GNU/Linux
# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 1784816 734608 1050208 0 63016
-/+ buffers: 671592 1113224
Swap: 0 0 0
# top
Mem: 732468K used, 1052348K free, 0K shrd, 63964K buff, 475152K cached
CPU: 1.5% usr 0.2% sys 0.0% nic 98.1% idle 0.0% io 0.0% irq 0.0% sirq
Load average: 0.03 0.08 0.11 2/137 29874

Been using FD64-620 on and off for the last few days and all seems very good. Wifi, suspend / resume, browser and all the basics seem to work as expected. Boots fast and really easy to setup. Fantastic Puppy - many thanks.
hardinfo_report.html.bz2
Description 
bz2

 Download 
Filename  hardinfo_report.html.bz2 
Filesize  6.79 KB 
Downloaded  66 Time(s) 

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2371
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 08:48    Post_subject:  

missing cdrtools source used in FD64v620 in http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/source/c/

Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 11:06    Post_subject:  

Today I installed ati 13.4 pet FD620 on another desktop that has an HD 5770 .
I did a remaster , booted from it and Catalyst was installed and working on that desktop and later it worked too on my dektop with HD 7870 XT , though the watermark 'AMD Unsupported hardware' is always present on mine . Catalyst recognize my GPU as HD 7800 Series .
I could install ati 13.3b3 pet directly on my desktop , so it had something that made it work... Confused

On my friend's desktop I changed the USB port for the bluetooth adapter of his mouse and keybord and the mouse stopped working . I hit CTRL+Alt+Backspace and X crashed . Even after rebooting several times the mouse still did not work. However as soon as I put back the adapter into the same port everything was working again.

Biltoo : glxgears on my HD 7870 XT shows only the monitor's FPS that is 60 . Is there any setting Idea to be done from the terminal to tune the card ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 11:30    Post_subject: savefile location  

Just upgraded a friend's Fatdog installation to Fatdog 620. To avoid problems, I created a new savefile by booting w/o a savefile then saving at shutdown.

Now we come to the problem. I had no difficulty creating a savefile in a subdirectory named FD, but this was not found after rebooting, even though vmlinuz and initrd were there. Fatdog even put a Downloads directory in /FD as desired. Moving the savefile to the partition root directory worked, but this limits you to one such version.

There are two separate questions here: 1) desired behavior, in terms of searching subdirectories; 2) consistency between separate user interactions. Having a GUI for creating a save file doesn't help much if you need to write obscure bootloader code to use it. Shouldn't the default action be to look in the directory where the kernel or initrd resides? If the user explicitly chooses to place the savefile elsewhere couldn't a flag be passed to indicate this? If a flag file already exists next to the kernel and initrd, the new location could be added to a list for the user to choose from at boot time. There would be no searching for locations not used by some savefile. This would be particularly useful for testing multiple versions, as with the experimentation going on now with proprietary drivers.

I get around the problem as follows, (using GRUB,) but I don't want to explain the technique to this user. (We had enough trouble with distinguishing Precise Puppy 5.4.3 from Fatdog 6.10.)
Code:
  kernel /FD/vmlinuz savefile=direct:device:sda1:/FD/fd64save.ext4
  initrd /FD/initrd
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9204
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 12:12    Post_subject:  

Personally, I like Fatdog's savefile detection logic - either check for a kernel argument or look in the root of each partition. This is much cleaner than Puppy's logic with its many permutations.

Check out Control Panel > Utilities > Savefile Argument Builder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2129
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 13:49    Post_subject:  

Gobbi wrote:

Biltoo : glxgears on my HD 7870 XT shows only the monitor's FPS that is 60 . Is there any setting Idea to be done from the terminal to tune the card ?


I get that on my Ubuntu install with the intel graphics, also get it
on some computers with nvidia cards.
But hardware acceleration is working so it doesn't matter.
bill@bill-Aspire-X3950:~$ glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
309 frames in 5.0 seconds = 61.699 FPS
304 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.731 FPS
304 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.727 FPS
bill@bill-Aspire-X3950:~$
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 15:36    Post_subject:  

Billtoo wrote:


I get that on my Ubuntu install with the intel graphics, also get it
on some computers with nvidia cards.
But hardware acceleration is working so it doesn't matter.
bill@bill-Aspire-X3950:~$ glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
309 frames in 5.0 seconds = 61.699 FPS
304 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.731 FPS
304 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.727 FPS
bill@bill-Aspire-X3950:~$


I get it . Thank's a lot Exclamation I'll try once with Ubuntu ...



I made a frugal install on on a partition of my old laptop wich doesn't have the screen anymore ( using an external VGA monitor ). It works fast - as much as the processor allows - and well :

Processor : AMD Turion(tm) 64 Mobile Technology ML-34
Memory : 889MB (252MB used)
Machine Type : Physical machine
Operating System : Fatdog64 [449f28eafe]
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Tue Apr 30 21:33:55 2013
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on ATI RS480
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB


Usually my wife use it for browsing and now she prefers Fatdog to old XP . Now the XP is history in this house...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2129
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 01 May 2013, 09:49    Post_subject: Fatdog64-620 Final (17 April 2013)  

I installed fd 620 final to a fast 60MB/s 16gb SDHC card,computer is an
Acer Aspire One netbook (11.6" screen).
I installed the ati-catalyst-legacy-13.1-3.8.7.pet.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Wed 1 May 2013 on Fatdog64 620 Linux 3.8.7 x86_64
5.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RS880M
[Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RS880M 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: fglrx
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 1024x600 pixels (270x158 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series
OpenGL version string: 3.3.11672 Compatibility Profile Context

AMD Athlon(tm) II Neo K125 Processor
Core 0: @1700 MHz

# glxgears
9009 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1801.755 FPS
9162 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1832.292 FPS
9177 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1835.353 FPS
#
It's working well.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   62.71 KB
 Viewed   377 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Wed 01 May 2013, 12:13    Post_subject:  

On my desktop I added last month a Pci-e OCZ Revodrive 3 120G without making too much searching about Linux drivers... Embarassed . W7 works fast on it , but that's it , I can't look inside the drive from Fatdog .
It has a Marvell controller on top of 2 Sandforce controllers.
Now , there is a kernel module loaded : mvsas , on the details seen in Menu/Control Panel/System/PupScan interface information I see the device - 1b85 1021 - on the list , as seen in the attachments.
I'm not surprised Gparted doesn't see it , but maybe some parameter is not set well in my case ( I can't say ... Embarassed ) .

I've seen someone did a patch to be added to the linux module two years ago , not for booting from the device , but at least to get into it... [http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/showthread.php?95151-Linux-patch-support-for-RevoDrive3-RevoDrive3-X2-zDrive-R4]
However I'm not able to add the patch Crying or Very sad
Anyone has a clue Question

Later I looked into /usr/src/linux-3.8.7/drivers/scsi/mvsas/mv_init.c and it seems the patch is already included into the module ... Exclamation But , still no clue why it's not working...
mvsas_details.txt.gz
Description  Module details
gz

 Download 
Filename  mvsas_details.txt.gz 
Filesize  573 Bytes 
Downloaded  77 Time(s) 
mvsas_module.png
Description  Module information
png

 Download 
Filename  mvsas_module.png 
Filesize  175.13 KB 
Downloaded  83 Time(s) 
Pci device.png
Description  Device information
png

 Download 
Filename  Pci device.png 
Filesize  192.66 KB 
Downloaded  87 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 29 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1206s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0085s) ][ GZIP on ]